9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a DELICIOUS and easy to make jelly. I don't consider it a jam. I made this last year. My family, especially my children, loved it. They didn't want to eat grape jelly any more afterward. So of course I had to make it again this year, but I tried something new. After rinsing the berries, I ran them through my juicer (without cooking them). I then followed the recipe using the three cups of juice. I was told by a county extension agent that I would still have to strain the juice through a jelly bag. I did for part of the batches, but got lazy for the rest and used the juice straight from the juicer. They both set up perfectly and I couldn't tell the difference in taste. I put some in pint jars. Those jars took about two weeks to completely set up. The smaller jars set up more quickly. The bottle of liquid pectin is equal to two pouches if you buy it that way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hopegldn October 31, 2009

Made this with powdered pectin (added pectin first to juice, then boiled, then added sugar/lemon juice and boiled the 1 minute). Soooo good! Moved to a home with a mulberry tree last year, and now have a way to use them all. First batch I made is small, but if I make a big batch, will be canning the proper way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Onehornedone June 11, 2014

Without even trying the recipe, I see two problems with it. One, straining the berries and using the juice makes it a jelly not a jam. Two, open kettle method of making jam and jelly is outdated and dangerous. You should always process the jars after canning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MauraGirl May 12, 2014

Lovely Jelly! I did not get enough Mulberries from my very young and small tree this summer, so I used some Black Raspberries and Red Currents to make up the difference. It is a beautiful deep burgundy-purple and set up perfectly overnight. I used two packets of liquid pectin as another reviewer suggested. Ended up with 7 half pints and one quarter pint. Wonderful way to showcase all the local berries that grow around here! I will definitely make this every year, but hopefully just with Mulberries next time, to get a real taste of them on their own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature August 19, 2013

This is very tasty, but it is not a jam recipe, it is a jelly recipe. Jams are made with the crushed fruit and jellies are made with just the strained juice. If it had been posted as a jelly recipe, I would have given it five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jon from Milwaukee July 08, 2013

Wow! Delicious! I used Ball Low or No Sugar needed pectin which converts to 6 tbsp for this recipe. Also just used the whole berry (did not strain). My berries were on the small side and ranged from ripe to pink. All used together makes for a very pleasing jam. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brock's cook June 18, 2013

Easy & yummy recipe. I didn't have liquid pectin so I ended up using powdered with only 4 1/2 cups sugar (per the package), but super yummy anyway! With all the mulberry trees we have, I'm sure I'll be making lots of this in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwenillian June 23, 2011

Thanks for posting your recipe. Very tough finding a Mulberry recipe. The jam turned out very good. It takes a little time to set up, but does just fine. The lemon flavor was a little strong for me, so next time I will cut back on it a tad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Munday April 01, 2002

Considering I have nothing to compare it to. It took me over an hour and a half to find one recipe for Mulberry anything. It was great you have a great site here. Thank You If you could find a Mulberry wine recipe i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again Lisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa J May 02, 2001
Mulberry Jam