9 Reviews

Easy and satisfying dish, humble and delish. I enjoyed the addition of a minced clove of garlic to the onions halfway before they finished. And to spice it up a bit a few pinches of homemade habanero flakes mixed in at the end. Will certainly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josh P. December 06, 2014

Very simple! I used brown lentils also, so had to cook a bit longer. This is a nice change from plain lentils or plain rice, and was a nice side for grilled chicken. I will up the amount of cumin next time though, since we really love the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey August 13, 2011

Yummy and pretty easy!! I used brown lentils and cooked them longer than 7 minutes. I used mainly canola oil and some unrefined extra virgin olive oil on top. Served with Fried Chicken Emirati Style, yogurt and a fresh salad. I would most definitely make this dish again. Made for Ramadan Tag 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 07, 2010

Wonderfully flavored rice dish - loved the addition of lentils to beef it up a bit. The water measurement worked great for me. I am interested in trying it out with chicken broth too, as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 30, 2010

This really deserves more than five 5stars.One of the best rice dishes I ever had! Even if the recipe is a little off. I think the lentils should be soaked previously,otherwise it need more water. I set off by making half recipe,but I ended up adding just3/4 cup rice instead of one cup. I also added a chicken cube.I fried the onion first,removed it and added the lentils to boil so I think that added extra flavor.Of course,it's a keeper.Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia August 14, 2010

I made half of the recipe & it still made a lot. Like Annacia, I had to add additional water while cooking the lentils. I followed her suggestion & used water with a chicken bouillon cube. I also added a little ginger to the mix. Made for Ramadan Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh September 22, 2008

What a great tasting, simple dish. I'm so glad I tagged it in Ramadan Tag. I made a single serving for lunch and even with cutting the rice to a 1/4 cup it made 2 servings! What you see on the plate in the pic wasn't all that was in the pot!!. I did use chicken broth for the water and I needed 2 water additions before the lentils were well cooked. The onions weren't dark for a couple of reasons..they appealed more to me at a lighter stage of browning and I was hungry, lol. This is a healthy dish that is very satisfying and has a marvelous flavor and character. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 20, 2008

I kicked up the spices a notch to suit me and my hubbys palate otherwise the recipe was dead on and the measurments were exact I didn't have any problems with to little or to much water like I normally do with lentils and rice. Thanks Pali Fav :) Made for Ramadan Tag 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen September 11, 2008
Mujadarah ("lentils With Rice") Middle East, Palestine