Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Muffuletta Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Muffuletta Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2013

      I wasn't sure what to expect, since I've never eaten a muffuletta before, but this was really good! I made the olive salad (plus the anchovy, of course -- love 'em!), and I used big sandwich rolls instead of a whole loaf. Loved all the flavors in this! Thanks for posting! Made for The Hot Pink Panthers for ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      I enjoyed this sandwich, before it went out of business, at a place called Dominic's in Shreveport, La. It was my favorite sandwich ever!! I would eat there every time I visited the area and was heartbroken when I learned it went out of business. This recipe is so close to the taste that I loved about the restaraunt muffuletta. I didn't add anchovies, only because I forgot to buy them. Next time I will add them. I made extra olive salad to have on hand. Thank you PanNan for posting this delicious recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      We used ham and hard salami for the meats and made the olive salad following the recipe except we left out that darn fishy thing (personal preference). What an awesome sandwich we had! I used whole wheat sub rolls of course!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      My husband & I just returned from New Orleans & Of course I had to have a muffuletta!! I bought some olive salad from a market and used that.I had also bought some lg Kaiser rolls (unless you are serving more that 1 person the Kaiser rolls work well cuz the Italian loaf makes "alot")and the sandwich was the perfect size for just one. I layered mine with mortadella, capicola, Genoa salami & the provolone. I did use your suggestion of brushing with the oil and toasting lightly.I felt like I was back in the Big Easy...YUMMY!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Wonderful! I used french bread turkey ham/salami. I'm actually going to make a batch of the olive salad to have around the kitchen. Definately going to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* - I had to change this quite a bit to suit my dietary requirements and what I had at home. I used turkey breast because I don't eat salami or ham and I used a cheese bun instead of Italian bread. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly oh except I didn't have giardiniera so I used pickled zucchini. This was delicious and I will be making this again. Thank you PanNan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Oh I loved this!!!! I used Ciabatta bread, cuz I couldn't find round Italian. I also added some roasted red bell peppers and used olive oil to drizzle on the bread. MMMMMMM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      The Muffuletta is my favourite beach sandwich and that's what I made PanNan's version for...going to the beach. Her version is delectable. I did UP the anchovies to - oh, 6 fillets - we love them.LOL Everything is right about this sandwich. The coldcuts and cheese blend and contrast beautifully with the olive salad mixture. Just be sure to use a very sturdy, crusty bread because it can get soggy otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      i love these things i found a recipe for the bread but not the olives thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Muffuletta Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 834.1
     
    Calories from Fat 495
    59%
    Total Fat 55.1 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 104.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 2620.0 mg
    109%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento-stuffed green olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites