Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2010

      My kids went to town on these muffins! All 12 were consumed at breakfast. I loved how easy they were to make. I did bake these the night before and in the morning dipped them in the melted butter and cinnamon/sugar topping. We will be having these again since they were so easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      this recipe is fantastic and sooo tasty, best muffin recipe i have tried on here. was unsure as to what flour to use self raising or plain and only had self raising, , worked really well though they rose and were sooo soft too, i mucked up the topping as did not read it properly and melted everything together but still tasted brilliant....will deffo make again as was very easy, might even do the topping properly next time......only managed to get 8 muffins out which were a good size so if you do want more than 8 i would suggest multiplying the recipe to suit your needs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      These are pretty tasty and WAY easier than making homemade doughnuts. The amount of butter and cinnamon and sugar for the topping is WAY too much. I think half and you would still have some left over. My kids loved them and I am sure they will get made often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I want to start by saying that we loved this recipe and will use it again. These were made for a church coffee hour and they are delicious and you can't beat how easy they are to make. As suggested by other reviewers I did add about 1/2 t. of vanilla to the basic recipe. I was surprised to see to see the few negative reviews on this recipe. If you like cake-type doughnuts you will really like this rccipe - if you're looking for a glazed krispy-creme type doughnut this isn't it. Simple, tasty and easy to bake ahead of time gives the recipe five stars in my book!. Thanks for the recipe Ladyshay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Yesterday, I was in the mood for homemade doughnuts and, after reading some of the reviews, I thought I'd give these a try. I followed the advice of several reviewers and made them in mini-muffin tins and added some vanilla. Like some others, I found 2 TBS melted butter was perfect when brushed on. For the topping, I didn't follow the recipe. Instead, I made a mixture of splenda and Penzey's baking spice and sprinkled it on top. What surprised me was how the taste actually improved the next day. Thanks Ladyshay, I'll be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      These were very good. Definitely a taste somewhere between doughnuts and snickerdoodles. i used 2 T. of margarine for dipping and that was enough. Super easy recipe. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I am so glad I made these muffins..My DH loved these..After reading others reviews I decided to add 1 tsp vanilla to the batter and made only half the topping..I was gald I did as I still had lots of topping leftover and the vanilla helped to bring out the flavor of these muffins...He says this recipe is a keeper,I must also add for him to say this about any muffin really is a compliment..He doesnt generally care for muffins,but he does like his cake donuts..Thank U for this great and really easy recipe..Im sure I will be baking more of these...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I thought these muffins had a real nice texture and loved the flavor. While still warm from the oven they didn't taste as similar to cake donuts as they did after a few hours and even more so the next day (the two I managed to hide so they weren't devoured) This recipe doesn't claim to be a cake donut clone. I think the reviewers that are upset that it doesn't taste like a donut are taking the recipe a little to literally! In my opinion it comes close enough, is easier to make and is hands down delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2004

      These were just to die for!, and yes they certainly do taste similar to doughnuts, they just melted in your mouth, heaven with every bite! Wonderful light texture. I took MizEmeril's advise and added 1 tsp vanilla. I will be making these again, they were just delicious! Thanks so much for posting...Kittencal :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      My husband loved these! <br/>I recommend making these either in small muffin tins or filling a normal size muffin tin less than halfway full so that you can really taste all the yummy topping in each bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Just made this recipe and it's great, but.......<br/>I did convert it to WG Free and it worked extremely well. It's so nice to have something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I am very new to cooking and baking. These muffins are easy to make..... and taste fantastic!!<br/>Im so proud to serve them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      These are the best muffins! They taste like old-fashioned doughnuts similar to what you get at Tim Horton's. Always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Easy to make & very good tasting for a faux doughnut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      First made this recipe from an old muffin book given to me by my husbands grandmother. Everytime I make them I get rave reviews, and they are so quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Very easy to make and very delicious, though not as much like doughnuts as I had hoped. still a very good muffin and DH loved it even though he not really a muffin person :) Made for Let's Party 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Name says it all! I made these twice in one week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      This was my second receipy from this website and after this I HAD to join! These were AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      They were great and easy to make. Decreased nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      These came out wonderful! I did only melt about 2Tb of butter and still had some left over. Amazing recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.5
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    44%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 37.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 223.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites