16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added 1c. of shredded old cheddar cheese on top. I poked the cheese down with my finger so half was below the surface. This made them moist. Next time I might add some mustard powder, and use onion salt instead of salt. They were really bland, which I thought my little kids might appreciate, but not the adults.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mum@home May 31, 2010

My daughter loved these! I cheated and used corn muffin mix. I added cheese to mine and it was delicious! Thanks for the fun idea! Great for kids and quick and easy! Yummy too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 January 23, 2009

My kids liked these alot. I agree that maybe a few more hot dogs would be good. I might try with a little cheese next time as well. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JillAZ July 19, 2007

We loved these! I used the lil' smokies instead of hot dogs, and they were most excellent! I did them with one and some with 2 little sausages in them, and while I like the ones with 2 best, my husband preferred the ones with just one. They were great to have for breakfast too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpardel November 18, 2013

The way the recipe is written, I would give it only 3 stars, but with my changes, I think it is 4 stars! I listened to the other reviewers and added shredded cheese to the batter and to the top of each muffin. I added 5 sliced hotdogs. I also added 3 sliced green onions, both the top and bottom parts and some black pepper. I also added about 4-5 shakes of Tobasco sauce. And I REDUCED the sugar to 1/8 cup. I can't stand sweet corn bread. This was so easy to make. Next time I will also add onion powder and maybe tiny ham cubes in lieu of hotdogs. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail the Chef September 10, 2013

My two grade school-age daughters and husband really liked these. Good quick weeknight dinner. Its like a corn dog muffin. I used bologna instead of hot dogs as that was what I had on hand. I fried up 6 slices of bologna and cut in in little bits. I think frying made for a better flavor. The bologna bits mixed in quite well with the batter. It did make 12 cupcake-sized muffins. This recipe will make it into my dinner repertoire. Next time if I use hot dogs, I'll chop them up and quickly fry them first for flavor. Other than that, no changes needed. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarbean September 10, 2013

These were really easy to make and came out great. I made 12 and used only 1 egg. I added in more hot dogs as a few other reviewers had suggested and also added in pepperoni. I think next time I will try add in some onions, maybe some hot sauce and a few other ingredients to help give it some more flavor. These taste even better the next day. These are great quicky after school snacks and are also very portable. Thanks for sharing a different take on corn muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 May 20, 2008

We loved these. I left out the salt, and added pepperoni instead of the weinies. Will definitely make these again! I baked 12 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marzy March 08, 2008

I loved these...just like eating corndogs AND I can control how much fat is involved! Win-win situation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 September 03, 2007

I made these for lunch for my kids and my 4 dayhome kids. While they are good I agree with the previous review that it needs something else. I think next time I will add some onion, I think they would be great with some peperoni, some jalepenos, and a couple of shots of hot sauce. I did up the hot dogs to 4 and I would up it again. Previous posted mentioned corn, a can of cream corn would be a nice touch too. I will make these again for the kids but with a little tweaking. Thanks for a new idea for these fussy kids. I got 12 muffins + 12 mini muffins from one batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn February 16, 2007
Muffin Weenies