32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The ease of making these in muffin tins is alone worth the 5 stars!! The cakes all came out the same size, never had that happen before, and it took a quarter of the time to make them! I didn't actually use the recipe itself this time just the muffin tin trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie October 09, 2008

These are delicious! I was looking for a recipe just like this and I'm so glad that I found it. I served it with Lemon Dill Sauce #83350 and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaflutist April 10, 2008

Buying the better crabmeat is definitely a must, it tastes so fresh in this recipe. Also, because these are not fried in oil, the taste is extra fresh and not loaded down with that oily flavor. I took from the other reviewers not to use all the bread, so I eliminated the extra egg white to counteract. My mixture only filled up 9 of the muffin tins, and I cooked them for 25 minutes, but I wish I'd only done them for 20. That's probably just my oven thought. I served them with spicy tartar sauce, which was nice. The only change I will make when I make these again is to add a little more flavor - maybe some chopped hot chili or some fresh herbs, like cilantro or some fresh ginger. Thank you Barb for a healthy alternative to fried crab cakes - these are definitely fun and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte February 13, 2008

I've never made crab cakes before and these were great! I used imitation crab meat because it was cheaper, but next time I think I'll splurge so I can get a better crab flavor. I used mini muffin tins and came out with 24 cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni January 30, 2008

Great recipe -- I just love this. It's wonderful to have crab cakes and not have 'em fried in all that oil ... I felt like I could taste the crab much better. I followed the recipe as directed, except that I used a whole wheat, high-protein and high-fiber bread for the breadcrumbs, and seasoned it with Old Bay instead of celery salt. I cooked 'em for the full 25 minutes, and they came out with a nice crust, but not too overdone. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts January 13, 2008

This recipe was terrific. The flavors were quite good ... but best of all it was low fat, required no frying, quick to make, and came out crispy enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathykelly December 28, 2007

Really tasty. The bell pepper adds just the right note - I also add a little minced jalapeno pepper or dried chili flakes. I tried using a muffin pan the first time - what a cleanup mess! Now I just pat them into cakes by hand and punt them on a greased cookie sheet - much easier. Thanks Barb, for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower December 14, 2007

Barb - these rock! I made these for my wine tasting & everyone loved them. I added some chopped pickled jalapenos, but other than that, followed it exactly. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob November 15, 2007

I made these pretty much the same way Derf did since I like bite sized stuff that cooks quickly (but also added old bay seasoning and parsley). I had no red pepper on hand although I KNOW that red pepper makes crab stuffings taste out of this world. I've been on a quest for a good crab cake recipe for years only to be severly disappointed with every one I tried. I really wanted one because my parents are coming for Christmas and they love "crabby patties". When they came out of the oven I tasted one immediately and just about died. I said, HOLY COW (no offense to cow worshippers). I couldn't believe how moist and delicious they were! I ate four of them in like five minutes and then ran in here to rate this! I don't even know if there will be any left when my husband gets home! SO SO SO EASY AND NO FRYING!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I LOVE THEM! I would give you 20 stars if I could! LATER THAT SAME DAY: I served the very few remaining to my husband for dinner. He asked for seconds. That's only happened three times in the six years we've been married. Make this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia October 19, 2007

Thanks for the great recipe! The only change I made was to decrease the breadcrumbs to 1 1/4 cups. This made them so moist. I made these for our crowd of 20 at the beach, and it was so easy, and everyone raved about it. thanks so much, Barb

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaily August 16, 2007
Muffin-Tin Crab Cakes