14 Reviews

I'm not a huge fan of granola and oats usually because there are too much raisins and not enough nuts, but when I've had it in other countries, it is simply fantastic. I've tried making or finding recipes similar to what I've had but without much success. Well, this recipe definitely fits the bill for me. I don't know that it's exactly the same, but the flavor is just fantastic. And I love that you can vary the ingredients to your taste and I can see how I'll be able to eat it in a variety of ways. Right now I'm eating it mixed with labneh, kefir and jarred peaches. It's more like dessert for breakfast! I made the recipe last night and followed the recipe steps, but made these few minor changes to the ingredients to suit my tastes: instead of raw sugar, I used brown sugar. I didn't use any of the suggested nuts/seeds. Instead I used slivered almonds, chopped pecans and chopped macadamia nuts, and more than what the recipe calls for because I love nuts. For the dried fruit, I used only currants and cherries, chopped. I also added some flax seeds. I think any combination of seeds, nuts and dried fruit that suits you will work. That's what I love about the recipe - it's highly customizable. The next time I make it I might add some dried papaya instead of cherries. Besides mixing this muesli in with yogurt, I think I will try it as a topping to cooked apples, as well as using it as just a cereal with milk. This is a fantastic recipe, and it's got just the right amount of sweetness to make it enjoyable. And needless to say, it's a healthy recipe. This is definitely going into my keeper box. Thanks for sharing an awesome and tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha January 03, 2016

This is terrific muesli/granola! I used regular brown sugar and stirred every 20 minutes and it worked out fine. I didn't add the bran, and for nuts I used almonds. I love this mixed into yogurt so I didn't add any dried fruit; I'll add it at serving time when I use this as a cereal. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added some cinnamon about halfway through the cooking time. Love this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 21, 2012

Let's see, where to begin? First of all I would recommend reading through all of the reviews first. That helped me tremendously. I used a 3-quart slow cooker which was greased first then heated up with the cover on. The recipe was cut in half and I threw in a variety of grains all in flake form: barley, rye, triticale and of course oats. A variety of dried fruit was added: cranberries, raisins, pomegranates, red raspberries, cherries, black currants. Nuts/seeds: almonds, sesame seeds, pepitas, sunflower (forgot to add the Oregon-grown hazelnuts!) Spices: cinnamon, ground ginger, pinch freshly grated nutmeg. (Demerara sugar, too. ) Added all this along with the other ingredients in the list to the crock pot and cooked on HIGH 1 hour. Stirred. Added one more tablespoon of oil. Cooked another hour on HIGH. Stirred. Reduced to LOW and cooked another 45 minutes-1 hour. Perfect. Somewhat crunchy-almost more like granola. Absolutely delicious with a splash of fresh cream from the local dairy farm. Will make again! Reviewed for Australian/NZ Swap #50.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 18, 2011

Though this isn't officially out of the crock pot yet, I have done enough sampling to be able to rate it. I must first tell you that I left out the wheat germ so that my husband could enjoy this too, and subbed whole golden flax seed in it's place. Oh, and this is VERY IMPORTANT: I did not preheat my crock pot ahead of time, because many of the newer units have an automatic kill switch that will terminate your crock pot forever as a safety device should you forget and leave it on with little to nothing left in the unit (I know this from experience). When I added the oil to the oats, I also stirred in 2 Tbs. real maple syrup and a pinch more vanilla then the recipe called for. I also added the coconut, and sunflower seeds. Then once the first hour was up, I stirred in some chopped dried apricot, chopped dried apple, dried tart cherries, dried cranberries, cashew pieces, and some roasted cinnamon. Now my house smells heavenly! I will definitely make this often. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Kathy. Now comes the hard part....I have to share the muesli. Made and reviewed for the 50th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 11, 2011

I absolutely love this recipe especially since my 2 college kids ask me to make it by the gallons for them. I modified it to make it gluten free for my daughter. I use the oats, 1 cup each oat bran, coconut, sliced almonds, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup raw sugar, 1/3 cup olive oil and 2 tsp vanilla. Based on other reviews I add 2 full tsp cinnamon after 1 hour and I oil the crockpot before adding the mix. Stirring every 20 minutes or so keeps it from getting too brown in spots. This is fabulous on yogurt. I have found it really easy to order the grains from a farm in Maine, they show up at my door fresh and ready to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckoni February 08, 2013

I will be making this often!! Very easy and very delicious! I used an assortment of nuts and chopped dried fruits - pretty much followed the recipe as stated (did not preheat) except that I added the dried fruit partway through the cooking because I wanted it crunchier and not as chewy. SO good over yogurt! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee November 03, 2012

Perfect!! I may never go back to making muesli/granola in the oven. This is much easier and turns out better. I didn't preheat my slow cooker, nor did I pregrease it. I cooked on high setting for 2 hours, stirring once, then left it another 1/2 hour on the keep warm feature. I also added 2 or 3 tbsp of maple syrup. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues June 23, 2011

What an excellent way to make muesli, I love it! And it toasts up beautifully. I did find though that I needed to watch the last hour as if you didn't stir, it would have burnt. So glad I found this as my favourite muesli is extremely expensive. At the moment I am enjoying my muesli each morning with a Byron Bay Ginger juice poured over it instead of yoghurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies June 11, 2010

My granola recipe has 8 tbsp of oil for roughly these proportions so I was keen to try a low fat version. I found after two hours the oats had not really changed color in my slow cooker. Not sure if my slow cooker is a problem but I don't think so because it works well for all other recipes and it was quite hot. I ended up adding an extra 4 tbsp of oil and putting it in the oven for around 20 min at 300 stirring frequently. I like the proportions and combination's but my family found it not to be sweet enough. The slow cooker method definitely did not work for me anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen December 30, 2009

This was very good muesli--it reminded me of a gourmet version of the muesli we used to buy in Australia. I couldn't find bran here, so I added extra oats. I added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and chopped almonds. I also sprinkled in some cinnamon half way through (after reading other reviews). Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesy April 01, 2009
Muesli in a Slow Cooker / Crock Pot