55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make Mexican all the time and this comes in so handy. It costs pennies to make and much more to buy... Now that I am out of work it is important that I pinch pennies when I can!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babbsy September 22, 2011

Great seasoning mix. I did add 1 t. Mexican oregano but otherwise made as written. Great flavor and used 2 T. for 8 oz. beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 25, 2011

This is such a great, easy recipe! Tonight I made enchiladas, and I used this seasoning mix in the ground beef. The only change I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of oregano. The meat was good all by itself (I had to have a nibble), and the enchiladas were some of the best I had ever had! I also made your Mexican rice, Mexican Rice, to go with the meal. Thank you for sharing your recipes with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys March 12, 2010

I've been making my own taco mix for years but your recipe trumps the one I usually use so this is my new "go to" recipe. Excellent flavour, couldn't be easier. Thx so much Potsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 15, 2014

This was very good taco seasoning mix. I very seldom have the package stuff on hand, so this works really good. Tastes just as good if not better than the package mix. I only added a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, as we don't like really spicy stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea December 05, 2013

Needed taco seasoning to make Delicious Enchilada Layered Dish and didn't want to go to the store so decided to try this and it worked great. The spices were right on - though I did cut down on the chili powder as the one I have is HOT. It was just what I was looking for with good Mexican flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 07, 2013

Gary, I thought this was "the best" taco seasoning mix I've ever came across on the internet! It was a bit spicy, but we enjoyed it. For those who'd prefer there's less spicy, (plus less heat), I would reduce the amount of cayenne pepper and possibly the paprika. But that's up to ones preference! I found this yielded about 2/3's cup (2 ounces) of seasoning mix. I usually purchase a large container of taco seasoning from Sam's Club, but once I use it up, I'm going to use this recipe instead. Glad you posted this recipe, Gary. My search for the perfect taco seasoning mix is over, as this one's definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess July 31, 2013

In case the stars don't show, I gave 5. Food.com's site has been so bad. I don't know if this will post.
One of the best taco seasoning recipes I've ever come across. Excellent flavor.
My third batch, I added 1/2 a tomato bullion cube and another 1/4 cup of water. Then we still slightly wet, I pulsed it in a processor for a few seconds then let it finish reducing. Amazing what all you can use this taco meat base for.
Great job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jetjouster December 12, 2012

Used in taco meat. So easy that I used my spare time to squeeze every ounce of praise out of my family. Made for Best of 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 03, 2010

A new favorite in our house! I made as directed, except left out the flour and added a squirt of ketchup since I was out of tomato paste as another reviewer suggested using. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe August 17, 2009
Mucho Gusto Taco Seasoning Mix