10 Reviews

This cake was a lot of work, let me tell you! My daughter and I made this for the kids cooking challenge for ZWT4 and it was something else. There was an awful lot of crust, maybe too much. Even after 20 extra minutes in the oven, our apples were not done and there was a lot of liquid instead of something more syrupy from the apples and sugar as it should have been. I think that this may be something that I am just not talented enough to pull off. I don't know. Bottom line, my daughter that it was superb. There's where all the stars come in. I will agree that it is very good. We certainly had a great time making it together. Thanks for the posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 04, 2008

Sorry my family didn't care for this. The shortbread crust had a good taste to it (ALOT of butter!)but the rest was dissappointing because it was nothing special. I used granny smith apples only and the crust made a huge portion - probably didn't need that much dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in California September 25, 2006

BF gave this cake immediately 5 stars, although he is ususally not that generous with his 5 star ratings. I also think it is a lovely cake. BF finds the crust rather special. When I saw the recipe I thought that there is a glaze based on eggs and milk missing. After tasting a tiny piece of the cake I must say that it is good as it is and in no need of a glaze. I wouldn't describe it as an elegant cake as Kate does in her intro. I would rather say it as a simple, lovely, tasty cake. However, BF disagrees, he thinks although he wouldn't describe it as elegegant, neither would he call it simple, as the crust stans out from other crusts. I halved the recipe and baked the cake in a special tin consisting of several parts that can be pinned together to make rectangular cakes up to 12 inches. I used 2 Granny Smith and another apple type which was labelled as sweet. I've started making this cake on Kate's birthday, finished it the morning afterwards and took it to BF yesterday at his birthday. This way, the cake both served as Kate's (virtual) and BF's (real) birthday present! I'm glad that BF likes it a lot and we are looking forward to trying some more of the lovely cake today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck June 17, 2006

Perfect! Just perfect! I made last night. It was so easy to make. The crust was so tasty and easy to place it in the pyrex. I halfed the recipe. It was the first time that I used unbaked apples for an apple cake. I also did have rather a lot of juice in my pan once this had baked, but after 4 hours it had been absorbed. Just Perfect. Thanks for this lovely cake Kate. I made it for the ZWT 2006. Its a great recipe by Kate, our team leader. She has her birthday today!!! Happy birthday Kate!!!May all your life will be as sweet as your cake!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia June 14, 2006

This was absolutely delicious. I found I had quite a bit of dough and my base could have been a bit thinner, but it was a delightful dessert - one that I will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefwally June 12, 2006

This was awesome! I too used a slightly larger baking dish. The recipe was easy to follow and even easier to enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker's Ma'am December 05, 2005

A great dessert! I did use a larger baking dish and did not add the almonds and used granny smith apples. Added a bit of nutmeg to the apples too. The apricot jam with the apples, oh so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 15, 2005

This was very good. However, there is no way this cake could fit in a 12" baking dish. I made all of the cake mixture and halved the rest of the ingredients. I only used about 2/3 of the cake mixture in my 12" pan. The flavor was there. Thanks Kate but you might want to recheck the baking dish size in your posted recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 07, 2005

Beautiful, Kate!!! I made to the directions and also left off the almonds- plus checked the juices half-way through cooking, tipped them off, which I repeated at the end of cooking. The pastry is very much like shortbread and goes perfectly with the apples. Thanks Kate for a great dessert!! Oh, also I used all Granny Smith's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff July 05, 2005

This delicious cake/pie is a showstopper and the only word I got out of the 11 people who tried it was 'very good'. The 'cake' part is kind of like a rich, buttery shortcrust, and the part of the crust that the apples settle on becomes almost custardy (my favourite part). The apricot glaze is a great idea - adding a golden 'polish' to the whole appearance. I did have rather a lot of juice in my 13 x 9 inch pan once this had baked, but I just tilted and spooned out - this juice would be great reduced slightly and used as a topping for ice cream! I can see using this crust for a lot of other pastries too - it's just too good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens January 31, 2005
Mrs. Vollmer's German Apple Cake