Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs. Pischke's Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs. Pischke's Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2008

      My mother has been making this cake since the 70's. I make it every Christmas. It gets better the next day! NOTE: If using yellow cake mix WITH pudding already in the mix, omit instant pudding, use 3 eggs instead of 4, and 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I have also been making this cake since the 70's, always adored. It is the original Bacardi Rum cake recipe with a change in the glaze instructions. The original recipe boiled the glaze with the rum in it, so the alcohol evaporates leaving just the flavor behind... I make it both ways, depending on the crowd to which it gets served. I also prefer to leave the cake in the bundt pan and pour the glaze slowly over a warm cake. That way it cools to an crisp and distinct glaze rather than soaking all the way through the cake. For the greatest rum flavor use a dark rum such as Meyer's, or Cruzan black strap molasses rum, but an amber rum works also. The Bacardi cake recipe uses chopped pecans in the bottom of the pan before the batter is poured in, but that is optional. It is a very rich cake. When the cake mix already has pudding in it, I only add half a package of instant pudding and leave the rest of the recipe as it is, but I do test for doneness, and it usually takes an hour in my oven. It is very moist and keeps at least a week. I try to freeze a few slices before it disappears!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      In a word - WOW! I made this to take to a potluck but I couldn't resist slicing it. ( To make sure it was fittin' to eat, you know ;-)). Now I seriously doubt that it will get out my door. I think I could drink the darned glaze and I'm not even a rum aficionado. I purloined some of DS's Malibu rum for this baking adventure and of course, that isn't dark rum. So, improvising, I used half brown sugar in the glaze to give it some color. I'm really hoping the cake doesn't soak up all the glaze - I want it! Thanks for postin', pal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I also made this cake in the 70's as "animalloverfrommd" said. I also used 3/4 cup chopped nuts on the bottom of the pan. I also boiled glaze 2 to 3 minutes then added rum and returned to boil. Then when cake came out of oven I poured half the glaze around the edge. Waited 10 minutes turned cake on to plate and poured on remaining glaze. Great cake, so glad to see it her for others to enjoy and make for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Made this cake today, and I must say, it was soooo good! I didn't have any dark rum on hand, instead I had Coconut Rum and it was divine. I love it and so does my family.... Will be making it again for Christmas-- I think I'll stick with the coconut rum. I like the flavor it adds to the cake. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This is absolutely the best rum cake I have ever made. I make them all the time because my worker's love them. This was so easy and they said it was the best one ever. Next time I think I will use the new Barcardi Peach Red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      This recipes the recipe presented by Bacardi Rum as I have a glossy index card from them with others door different recipes using their rum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Made for Photo Tag Fall 2007. In a word...Sublime. TheHusband was the first to taste a slice and I quote "I don't know whether to drink it or eat it". Simple to prepare, looks and tastes like a gourmet cake. Thanks GW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Great dessert for our Cuban meal. I followed carolinajewel's suggestion and it came out great. I don't think it needs as much glaze but does make it moist with lots of rum flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I can't add anything to the other comments except how very much we enjoyed this cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Yummy.......I make them in min angel pans and got six nice center piece to any cookie tray! thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      What a fantastic cake recipe, and so so easy to make! I used a vanilla cake mix instead of the yellow, just personal preference, and I boiled the rum (I used Sailor Jerry) in the syrup, just so everyone to try the cake out. Thanks for posting! UPDATE: Just made this in a 9 by 13 pan, let it cool and frosted it with cream cheese frosting. Was just amazing! Everyone just loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Delicious! It's my favourite cake recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs. Pischke's Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.9
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    42%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 83.2 mg
    27%
    Sodium 494.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 43.0 g
    172%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites