Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs. O'Brien's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs. O'Brien's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2004

      This is a recipe review for: "Mrs. O'Brien's Chicken Mrs. O'Brien's Chicken by SilentCricket", and not intended for any other version of this recipe.- posted 11-22-04. I must admit I was scared to death when I looked at this list of ingredients, but I thought, "Hey, I only live once!" This was quick and easy to put together, and I ended up taking the chicken out just about 1/2 an hour early, but it was done. You should call this dish "Butterfly Chicken" because it went in as who knows what (I didn't know what those flavors would end up as) and came out....DELICIOUS AND TENDER!!! The flavor is like, well almost like a "Thanksgiving BBQ". I used whole berry sauce and fat-free dressing; they worked out great! If I could give this more stars than 5 I would. I'll definitely make this again, and next time, I won't be scared!!! Thanks! Edited to add: I also have tried this as the crockpot version and I don't care for that quite as well as the oven version since the sauce gets a bit runny. But in the crockpot version the chicken does turn out tender. However I did think to say that when you use the oven version you might want to line your pan with foil so it cleans up easy (the sauce is really sticky in spots). I've prepared this recipe lots of times now and it's become a favorite with the family. — posted Mar 2, 2004.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Excellent! The Catalina dressing with its tart/sweet taste enhanced the cranberry sauce. I used whole berry sauce for texture. The onion soup mix gave the dish just the right savory punch. The skinless, boneless thigh meat was moist and tender. Thanks Martha for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      I thought this was okay. The chicken was tender but a little sweet for me. I probably wouldn't make this again, too many other recipes to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      My goodness, I really don't know how to say this, but we didn't like this at all. Instead of using Chicken, I used leftover Christmas turkey and fresh, homemade cranberry sauce. I was really excited to finally find a recipe that would help me use up the leftover cranberry sauce. I followed the recipe to a T and upon tasting the sauce before putting in the crockpot, found that it was very salty tasting, so I added more equal amounts of cranberry sauce and catalina dressing to douse the salty taste of the soup mix. I poured it over the turkey pieces in the crockpot on low for a couple hours til the sauce was bubbly. Maybe it was the combo of flavors, but we just didn't care for it at all. I really love cranberry sauce and thought this would be a winner, but unfortunately for our tastes, it just wasn't. Sorry, I won't make this again and I really apologize for the low rating. I guess everyone's tastes are different. On a positive note, it was very quick to make - took all of about 3 minutes to throw it all together in the crockpot. Edited to add: I noticed Sue L's edit to her review that she tried this in the crockpot and it didn't turn out as well and was runnier than in the oven. Perhaps that is why mine didn't turn out so great. I'm still a bit surprised about the taste since I used homemade cranberry sauce. Our sauce was not runny from the crockpot, probably because homemade cranberry sauce is thicker than canned, it was just the combo of flavors that didn't work for us. I'm glad that so many others like the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Delicious!! This recipe is so quick and easy to put together. I used chicken legs and cooked them in a crockpot. They were tender and very tasty. I didn't have Catalina French dressing (it's not available where I live) so I made Martha's Mom's French Dressing, Mom's French Dressing. It was perfect! I'll definitely be making this recipe again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This tasted great over rice! I loved the tangy, sweet sauce. I cooked mine as another reviewer had suggested, at a higher temperature for shorter time. Next time I will definitely try the longer cooking time though. This is a really lovely, easy recipe, and I will be making it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I'm going to try this one. It is so similar to my version from years ago. Mine uses Wishbone Russian Dressing, a small bottle of apricot preserves, and one envelope of onion soup mix. So delicious. I had it back in the late 70's as a dinner guest in Connecticut. Hense the name Connecticut Chicken. I'm liking the sound of this cranberry/french idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      We normally have a similar recipe in which there is ketchup, grape jelly, and dried mincen onion for the sauce. This one was rated better tasting by the kids, so it will replace the grape jelly recipe as our saucy chicken standby. I recommend removing the skin and any visible fat from the chicken prior to cooking as this step cuts down on the amount of grease in the sauce, and keeps it nice and thick. Also recommend letting the dish rest for 5-10 mins prior to serving as this allows the sauce to thicken slightly and reduces the chance that you'll burn the roof of your mouth with the sticky sweet (delicious) sauce. Mmm Good! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I have made this several times, and it is very good. Even my pickiest kids eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This review is for the crock-pot version. As far as flavor, it was very different - not a BBQ sauce and not a cranberry sauce but something in between. The reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because I needed to drain off some fat, thicken and strain the sauce - which meant I had to do more than just "fix it and forget it", which is what I expect from a crock pot meal. The chicken was tender and sauce was delicious so I'm going to try it again but in the oven next time! I'm updating my review - if I had used boneless, skinless chicken breasts I think I would have better results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

    • on August 15, 2009

      Made this one for a oamc session. I have had this recipe in my cookbook for quite some time, decided it was time to try it out. Very odd combination of ingredients, but somehow they work together. I would never have tried to do this on my own! We made it in the crock pot and the chicken was falling apart. We only had 3 boneless chicken breasts in there, and there was a lot of sauce. Next time, I will make it and cut the sauce in half! Even my picky eater said "WOW, this is really good!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      We really liked this chicken. I used the recipe for OMAC, using boneless skinless chicken breasts and the other ingredients and popping it a freezer bag. I thawed it overnight in the refrigerator. I cooked in the oven @350* for about 45 minutes and the chicken was so tender. We had a wild rice/white rice dish and cauliflower with melted jack garlic cheese. No leftovers for lunch. I didn't line the baking dish with foil but sprayed with Pam. A 5 minute soak with hot water and it came clean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This was ok but I don't think I would make it again. We didn't care for the combination of the flavors and it was a little too sweet for us. Thanks anyway, we do like trying new things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      We love this chicken. I got the recipe from a lady at my church, too! I've made it without the onion soup mix, but it cuts some of the sweet of the cranberry so I recommend it. I always eat the left-overs for breakfast the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was fantastic. I took 2 pounds of boneless skinless breasts, pounded down some then patted them dry and poked all over with a fork. I let my sauce stand for 10 minutes when I removed it from the oven, so it thickened a bit. There was a ton of really yummy sauce and It went with steamed rice so well. I baked this in the oven at 300 degrees for 3 hours. Family commented it was the most tender breast and almost asian-esque in flavour. Thank you for the recipe! Definitely a keeper... on a side note.. with the sauce being plentiful I'm so going to take this to OAMC!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I have made this twice now. The first time in the crockpot which wasn't for me. It was very watery. The 2nd time I baked it and I didn't have 4 hours so I baked it on 350 for 45 min and it came out great. Good flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      this was so easy and good i will definately make this again. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      I made this today in the crockpot. It was very easy to throw together, but it just had an off taste. We both love cranberry sauce, and all the other ingredients- I guess it just wasn't for us. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      The flavors of this are wonderful and I will make this over and over. I baked this in the oven, my pan was on the smaller side so I had chicken pieces overlapping and two pieces on top of the other four... by far the best pieces were the two breasts that were on top as the cranberry mixture roasted nicely to the chicken, the pieces on bottom sat in the juices and the sauce did not cling. I will not try this in the crockpot for this reason. I would like to try it on a roasting pan, though or a larger baking pan so that the breasts are not overlapping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs. O'Brien's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 904.9
     
    Calories from Fat 515
    56%
    Total Fat 57.2 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 155.7 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1434.8 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 53.9 g
    215%
    Protein 39.8 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites