260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night for dinner, yummy! Thanks for the recipe. I made quite lot of changes based on taste/what I had in the pantry, here's what I came up with: I used 1 28 oz can pureed tomatoes instead of the can of tomatoes & tomato sauce recipe called for. Added extra chopped sweet onion. Used red bell pepper and orange pepper instead of green, also probably used about 3/4 cup to a cup. Used about a teaspoon of celery seed instead of chopped celery. Substituted chopped artichokes instead of mushrooms. Used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom. Used manchego cheese instead of cheddar. Used Penne cooked to al dente instead of cooked angel hair pasta. And as the other reviewer suggested, I added 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic to the onions as they cooked, and I stirred the whole thing prior to baking. Mine was not watery at all nor did I have to wait for the sauce to reduce a lot over the stove, really was delicious! We are thinking next time I make it to add maybe some chopped jalapenos and/or chopped green chiles. Mmmm!!! This is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies July 08, 2009

I sent this recipe with my sweetie when he had to go work overseas. He doubled the recipe so should have fed 12 -16 people. Four guys ate it up with all taking a to go plate for lunch the next day. They said it was better the next day and everyone was emailing him wanting the recipe. So, he earned his executive chef status from this recipe! Surely a keeper, thanks for the awesome recipe. There are just some great cooks in this world, and Mrs. Geraldine must have been one of the best! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita June 14, 2009

Really wanted to like this dish. Found it just to be ok and that was it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom April 13, 2009

This was really good for such an easy casserole. A very hearty, stick-to-your-ribs, comfort food meal. As per some other reviewers suggestions I mixed everything together before putting it in the casserole dish, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It was very moist and delicious. This recipe is definitely being added to my rotation of OAMC (once-a-month-cooking). DH said it made his "Yum-Yum List" which is the top compliment he gives! I made a double batch and served it at a large family gathering expecting to have an ample amount of leftovers... Well, there was only enough casserole leftover for 1 or 2 small servings!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmuznSusan April 07, 2009

We enjoyed this recipe. The changes I made; I increased the beef 1/4 lb & cut back the pasta & brown sugar abit. To cut back on some fat/salt I didn't add any extra salt & I only used 1/2 can of soup with 3 oz of yogurt added. Due to reading other reviews, I mixed in the soup/yogurt mixture into the pasta. I cooked (covered) for 25 min, put on the cheese & cooked another 15 min (uncovered). Turned out perfect for us. Somehow I forgot to add fresh garlic, however I didn't miss it, the flavour was really good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 April 04, 2009

My family enjoyed this one thoroughly! A mild blend of flavors... very moist and delicious! I doubled the recipe (I knew it would be a winner) and used fresh mushrooms and whole wheat pasta. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, JellyQueen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PookieBearOfNJ March 26, 2009

I loved this casserole! I left out the mushrooms because my family won't eat them, but followed everything else. I thought the flavor was very interesting, and it is a definite comfort food. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
963024 March 18, 2009

This was good for such an easy casserole. I was in a hurry so I wasn't able to saute the sauce as long as I wanted but it was a nice and moist casserole. The best part is my two kids who don't each much of anything ate it without complaint. My three year old ate two bowls. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo March 05, 2009
Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole