260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family liked this. It was easy to put together. I used cream of celery soup instead of mushroom and left out the mushrooms for DS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA November 27, 2009

My DH LOVED it and went for seconds. It tasted a little like chili to me. Really good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maribeli November 19, 2009

Made this yesterday as written. This is fantastic! My granddaughter ate 3 servings over a 2 hour period, ranted and raved how good it was. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie17 November 13, 2009

I found that the mushroom soup did not enhance this dish. I used macaroni noodles in lieu of the thin spaghetti noodles. This recipe makes a lot of servings and leftovers warm up well. Prepared as a participant in the One Dish Casserole Event in the Cooking Photo Forum November 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook November 02, 2009

I've recently discovered the oamc style of cooking and made this recipe. I had just come from the warehouse store and had a package of 5.5 lbs of ground beef. I browned and drained that and then I put it aside. I then chopped up 1 large bell pepper, 4 ribs of celery, 2 med size onions and 2 good sized zuchini. I sauted the celery, onion and bell pepper together with a couple of tb of margerine for about 5 minutes. I then added the zuchini and 2 tb of chopped garlic and cooked for another couple of minutes. I then added the ground beef, 4-14.5 cans of diced tomatoes, 1 28 oz can of tomatoe sauce. I left off the mushrooms and used 8 tb worcestershire and 4 tb of brown sugar (sounds like a lot but really isn't as I was making 4 casseroles) I simmered all for a full hour. To assemble, I laid out 4 casserole pans, in each I added approximately 6 ounces of cooked spaghetti (broken into 3rds prior to cooking). I then spread cream of mushroom soup on top (for 4 casseroles, I used 3- 26 oz cans which is almost twice the amount suggested in the basic recipe). I topped with the ground beef sauce and stirred all together to meld the flavors. I topped with sharp cheddar and then froze. To cook, I defrost a day or two in the fridge and bake covered in a 400 degree oven for 30-45 minutes. I remove the foil for the last 5-10 minutes to brown the cheese. My family absolutely loves this dish, the first time my husband ate it, he had 3 helpings. Note, as I have young children, I don't add anything more than some kosher salt and a little black pepper during the cooking of the sauce. If I were making this for something like a potlock dinner, I would add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a little, though in my opinion it is plenty good without it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizhort September 15, 2009

My family didn't like this. It might work for some so I guess it's worth a try. Personally, I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kina August 30, 2009

Good casserole-comfort food! I did modify it quite a bit for our liking: I used tomatoes from the garden, no celery or mushrooms, half the sugar, cream of chicken, added a Goya season packet with safron. I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiva August 26, 2009

Flavor is very good. I used wheat pasta. It's a little bit of work, but definitely worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom August 26, 2009

yummy! perfect comfort food. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff August 16, 2009

Great casserole! Loved the sauce flavor and the addition of mushroom soup. Also I rinsed the broken cooken noodles before layering in the pan so they would be easy to serve and not stick together. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes July 18, 2009
Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole