Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    260 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 260

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2008

      This was delicious. I omitted the celery and mushrooms, and used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I also used thin spaghetti instead of the angel hair.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      What a wonderful dish! I made this tonight and all 4 of us gobbled it up! It made a large batch, so my husband will be taking what's left in his lunch tomorrow! I wasn't sure if I was to drain the mushrooms or not, but I did anyway. I also did NOT cover it as it was baking and much of the juice from the sauce evaporated, but it left this casserole just right consistency! Made it exactly as directed and oh, so good! Thanks for giving me another great recipe for my collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was very good- worth the time. I didn't have all of the cheddar cheese this recipe required- so I improvised. I topped the casserole with American slices first, and then used about a cup of Mexican three cheese blend, and finished it off with shredded parm. It was really good, and I think thats how I'll make it every time! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I have been wanting to make this for about a year now, I made this last night. We all very much enjoyed this although next time I will cut back to one tablespoon of the brown sugar as we don't really care for sweet. But I will add this into our monthly rotation. Thanks for a wonderful recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      As a previous reviewer stated, this takes alot of time for a casserole but let me assure you that it is worth every minute. It takes awhile but at the same time it is very simple and the finished product is way better that I could've imagined.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I made this last Monday for my husband & I as we had all the ingredients here in the house. It was delightful! It tasted different than anything that I've ever made due to the ever so slightly sweet flavor. I froze half of it (noodles & all) and my husband got it out the next day & ate all of it! Really good & I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      A little time consuming for a hamburger casserole (thus the four star rating). However, all the leftovers mysteriously disappeared, so someone in my house obviously liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This was a nice easy dish to make. The ingredients are usually in my pantry and it is something that my teenagers can throw together when it's their night to cook. Thanks for sharing, JellyQueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Great casserole! I didn't have any onions or bell peppers, so I used a can of diced tomatoes w/onions and roasted garlic. Even with these substitutions this was a wonderful casserole. Thankyou so much for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I was looking for something to stretch our budget, but good.. Boy, am I glad I found this recipe! This was SO GOOD.. My Hubby and I were both pleasantly surprised, especially because the list of ingredients is a little different. Wouldn't change a thing. We'll be doing this again, and again, and often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Well now, I sure didn't know what to expect with this combination. I had ground beef on the shelf that was canned up already and just canned up some awesome tomato sauce the other day so making this was a snap. I did have to sub a can of tomatoes with onions/pepper/celery as I didn't have any celery. I added garlic to the ground beef and extra onion as I was heating it. I used cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom (all I had) mixed in with the cooked angel hair, layered the ground beef mixture on top of that, crossed my fingers, covered with foil and baked for 20 mins in the oven. I uncovered, added shredded cheese and baked for another 20 mins without covering again. What I didn't expect was my BF going back for a big helping of seconds and saying that we could have that again anytime. We really liked this recipe and I am so looking forward to lunch tomorrow! Thanks JQ for a great easy recipe... you made me look good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Thank you Jellyqueen and Mrs. Geraldine! This is a great homestyle comfort-food casserole, simple and delicious, and even better the next day. To those who have given this recipe a low rating because "they were expecting something more, given all the 5 star reviews", it's a hamburger casserole, folks. Look at the ingredients - once you mix these items together, it's pretty obvious that the end result is not going to be a dish you might see coming out of Daniel Boulud's kitchen ;) The people who have given this 5 stars have done so because it is an excellent version of what it is: hambuger casserole; not because it is an excellent version of Seared Rib Eye with Spinach Subric & Sauteed Porcinis. Sheesh! Thank you for posting this, Jellyqueen, sometimes the best recipes come from community cookbooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      My family really liked this. I don't like whole tomatoes so I put in 15 oz. of tomato juice instead. I didn't let the meat simmer for as long...an hour seemed a little overkill when I had unexpected guests and hungry kids waiting. Still was fine with just simmering while I waited for the pasta to cook. I also didn't add the sugar or pickle juice. Was afraid it would be bitter then but it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      We loved this casserole. I left out the brown sugar because we don't like things too sweet. I also used a 28 oz can of tomatoes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      My family has made a similar recipe for some time, but no one writes anything down in my family, so it seems the recipe has changed over the years. This taste like I remember. I used ground beef this time, but this is also great with sausage. Thanks for restoring a childhood favorite to its former glory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      After all the rave reviews, I expected this dish to be over the top good. While we certainly found it to be a filling hearty meal, it was nothing to write home about. So unfortunately, for the amount of time it takes to make, we won't be making this again. There are too many other faster and more interesting recipes out there. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      My husband said that this is his new favorite meal! I followed the recipe with the exception of the mushrooms and bell peppers for the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic. It was very greasy, but I think I added too much cheese. Next time I will carefully get every little bit of grease off the meat, and use less (or reduced fat) cheese. This tasted incredible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was really tasty. I did have to add about a 1/2 tsp of salt. But YUM! Different, but good. Thanks for a new addition to my rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I love this recipe. What a difference the soup makes... different flavor from your usual casserole. I didn't have celery and I hate mushrooms so I threw in a can of chopped, green chiles. I also did a quick sprinkle of red pepper flakes. I didn't simmer for as long as stated but it still turned out wonderful. My 3-year-old loved it as well. Great leftovers, for potlucks, OAMC, etc. Thanks... this goes in the "favorites."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.5
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    43%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 71.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 791.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes