Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    260 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 260

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2009

      I made this last night for dinner, yummy! Thanks for the recipe. I made quite lot of changes based on taste/what I had in the pantry, here's what I came up with: I used 1 28 oz can pureed tomatoes instead of the can of tomatoes & tomato sauce recipe called for. Added extra chopped sweet onion. Used red bell pepper and orange pepper instead of green, also probably used about 3/4 cup to a cup. Used about a teaspoon of celery seed instead of chopped celery. Substituted chopped artichokes instead of mushrooms. Used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom. Used manchego cheese instead of cheddar. Used Penne cooked to al dente instead of cooked angel hair pasta. And as the other reviewer suggested, I added 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic to the onions as they cooked, and I stirred the whole thing prior to baking. Mine was not watery at all nor did I have to wait for the sauce to reduce a lot over the stove, really was delicious! We are thinking next time I make it to add maybe some chopped jalapenos and/or chopped green chiles. Mmmm!!! This is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I sent this recipe with my sweetie when he had to go work overseas. He doubled the recipe so should have fed 12 -16 people. Four guys ate it up with all taking a to go plate for lunch the next day. They said it was better the next day and everyone was emailing him wanting the recipe. So, he earned his executive chef status from this recipe! Surely a keeper, thanks for the awesome recipe. There are just some great cooks in this world, and Mrs. Geraldine must have been one of the best! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

    • on May 12, 2009

    • on April 13, 2009

      Really wanted to like this dish. Found it just to be ok and that was it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This was really good for such an easy casserole. A very hearty, stick-to-your-ribs, comfort food meal. As per some other reviewers suggestions I mixed everything together before putting it in the casserole dish, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It was very moist and delicious. This recipe is definitely being added to my rotation of OAMC (once-a-month-cooking). DH said it made his "Yum-Yum List" which is the top compliment he gives! I made a double batch and served it at a large family gathering expecting to have an ample amount of leftovers... Well, there was only enough casserole leftover for 1 or 2 small servings!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      We enjoyed this recipe. The changes I made; I increased the beef 1/4 lb & cut back the pasta & brown sugar abit. To cut back on some fat/salt I didn't add any extra salt & I only used 1/2 can of soup with 3 oz of yogurt added. Due to reading other reviews, I mixed in the soup/yogurt mixture into the pasta. I cooked (covered) for 25 min, put on the cheese & cooked another 15 min (uncovered). Turned out perfect for us. Somehow I forgot to add fresh garlic, however I didn't miss it, the flavour was really good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      My family enjoyed this one thoroughly! A mild blend of flavors... very moist and delicious! I doubled the recipe (I knew it would be a winner) and used fresh mushrooms and whole wheat pasta. I will definitely make this again. Thanks, JellyQueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I loved this casserole! I left out the mushrooms because my family won't eat them, but followed everything else. I thought the flavor was very interesting, and it is a definite comfort food. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This was good for such an easy casserole. I was in a hurry so I wasn't able to saute the sauce as long as I wanted but it was a nice and moist casserole. The best part is my two kids who don't each much of anything ate it without complaint. My three year old ate two bowls. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This casserole was great! Took awhile to make, but it was definatly worth it. I didn't have any celery so I used some celery salt and doubled the mushrooms. I also used mozza, instead of sharp cheddar because I didn't have any. I was concerned the sauce wouldn't simmer down, it was very runny at the start. After the hour of simmering it was perfect. The brown sugar and worcestershire sauce added great flavour. I will definatly be making this often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Made this for supper last night - with modifications... I didn't have any plain tomato sauce, so I used pre-made vodka sauce; wanted more veg, so grated in a carrot and had no spaghetti-type pasta, so used rotini. I mixed the soup (cream of chicken, no crm. mush.) with the cooked pasta, then layered the sauce and cheese on top. DH and my 4 yr. old both asked for more... an almost unknown occurrence for my son, so a great compliment! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was a great recipe! My husband didn't care much for it, but he is extremely picky and he doesn't like mushrooms, so just knowing the soup was in it turned him off to it lol. I thought it was wonderful, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was a very good, hearty casserole. I cannot give it 5 stars because I altered the recipe slightly: I didn't have the 15 oz. can of tomatoes, just a 28-oz can of pureed tomatoes. I didn't put a full 1/4 cup of celery in, nor did I have any tomato sauce. All said and done, my husband and I have been enjoying leftovers of this cassorole for lunch all this week, so 5 stars for how economical this dish is. Next time I will add italian seasoning and perhaps some red pepper flakes to give it a little more zing. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Great Recipe. Everyone loved it. Gives a little spin to the normal pasta casserole. I also took eveyones advice and mixed the soup with the tomoto sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

    • on January 11, 2009

    • on January 08, 2009

      This was quite tasty. However, I think the name is a little deceiving. I think it is more like baked spaghetti than a ground beef casserole. Let me restate though, quite tasty! Here is what I did: added minced garlic to the ground beef and omitted the peppers. Everything else was exact. I think there should more ground beef. I used one pound, but think 1.5 or even 2 would be better. Seemed to have more spaghetti noodles than ground beef. I especially LOVED the cheese on top. The corners and sides got all bubbly and brown and was great tasting. Definitely worth making. However, realize that this is like a baked spaghetti dish - if that is what you are looking for versus a ground beef casserole. I would have given it a 5, but it wasnt quite what I expected. Still very very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is now one of my family favorites. Quite a simple recipe with basic ingredients that becomes something wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is sooo good! We loved this. I didn't add in the celery or mushrooms. I used brown sugar and spaghetti instead of angel hair pasta. I also added in a minced garlic clove, some Italian seasoning, and garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.5
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    43%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 71.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 791.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites