260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This casserole was great! Took awhile to make, but it was definatly worth it. I didn't have any celery so I used some celery salt and doubled the mushrooms. I also used mozza, instead of sharp cheddar because I didn't have any. I was concerned the sauce wouldn't simmer down, it was very runny at the start. After the hour of simmering it was perfect. The brown sugar and worcestershire sauce added great flavour. I will definatly be making this often :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spade February 14, 2009

Made this for supper last night - with modifications... I didn't have any plain tomato sauce, so I used pre-made vodka sauce; wanted more veg, so grated in a carrot and had no spaghetti-type pasta, so used rotini. I mixed the soup (cream of chicken, no crm. mush.) with the cooked pasta, then layered the sauce and cheese on top. DH and my 4 yr. old both asked for more... an almost unknown occurrence for my son, so a great compliment! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morleah's mom February 02, 2009

This was a great recipe! My husband didn't care much for it, but he is extremely picky and he doesn't like mushrooms, so just knowing the soup was in it turned him off to it lol. I thought it was wonderful, thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alhardin January 29, 2009

This was a very good, hearty casserole. I cannot give it 5 stars because I altered the recipe slightly: I didn't have the 15 oz. can of tomatoes, just a 28-oz can of pureed tomatoes. I didn't put a full 1/4 cup of celery in, nor did I have any tomato sauce. All said and done, my husband and I have been enjoying leftovers of this cassorole for lunch all this week, so 5 stars for how economical this dish is. Next time I will add italian seasoning and perhaps some red pepper flakes to give it a little more zing. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada January 27, 2009

Great Recipe. Everyone loved it. Gives a little spin to the normal pasta casserole. I also took eveyones advice and mixed the soup with the tomoto sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilSing January 22, 2009

This was quite tasty. However, I think the name is a little deceiving. I think it is more like baked spaghetti than a ground beef casserole. Let me restate though, quite tasty! Here is what I did: added minced garlic to the ground beef and omitted the peppers. Everything else was exact. I think there should more ground beef. I used one pound, but think 1.5 or even 2 would be better. Seemed to have more spaghetti noodles than ground beef. I especially LOVED the cheese on top. The corners and sides got all bubbly and brown and was great tasting. Definitely worth making. However, realize that this is like a baked spaghetti dish - if that is what you are looking for versus a ground beef casserole. I would have given it a 5, but it wasnt quite what I expected. Still very very good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leahcooks January 08, 2009

This is now one of my family favorites. Quite a simple recipe with basic ingredients that becomes something wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lkernaz December 27, 2008

This is sooo good! We loved this. I didn't add in the celery or mushrooms. I used brown sugar and spaghetti instead of angel hair pasta. I also added in a minced garlic clove, some Italian seasoning, and garlic powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah December 23, 2008
Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole