260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this several times for people as a gift when someone is too tired to cook (new baby, surgery, death in the family, just moved in, etc) and I always get rave reviews. I double it and it fits nicely in 3 8x8 square pans.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle's Mom June 04, 2010

What a great recipe! Our tweaks: 1T sugar instead of 2T, 3T worcestershire instead of 2T, and we added 1/2t of granulated garlic and some crushed red pepper. That Mrs. Geraldine is one fine neighbor!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Ramsey Donkey December 06, 2009

I gave this a five star even though it had a few things that we didn't like...I will be making this again but will use less pasta, I used a 16 oz package of angel hair pasta and it was just entirely too much...much it was very good once we were able to taste it beyond the pasta. Thanks for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 July 11, 2010

Good casserole. I did add garlic, mixed soup into sauce and layered over cooked penne.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmallTownGirl May 10, 2010

I love this recipe! It tastes like it is a lot unhealthier than it really is. My husband is convinced I add sour cream to it, which of course I don't. The simmer time is rather long so I have found the best way to make this work for me is to spend some time on the weekend and get it to the point of assembly and then put it in the 'fridge for use as a weeknight meal. Then whoever gets home from work first pops it in the oven for the bake time. Because I don't use celery for anything else and didn't want to buy a whole batch just for this, I omit the celery and use an entire green bell pepper instead. Also, instead of can mushrooms I use the pre-sliced fresh ones in the produce dept of my grocery store. To cut down on fat, I rinse the ground beef after it is done browning. Only downside of the dish is because it's so tasty, we tend to eat more than a portion at a time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gt4001a February 26, 2011

This is the third time I've made this and never make it same but it always turns out fantastic. Great recipe for working with what you have. I didn't have any meat this go around so I used a can of kidney beans instead and it was still really good. No celery or mushrooms so I added more green bell pepper and half a yellow bell pepper. Used 2 cans of FF crm of mushrm soup with a couple tablespoons of half and half to thin it a little bit and pre-mixed that with the pasta. Only had about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese so I added a 1/2 cup good parm cheese to the soup mixture/pasta. Only put the cheddar on one side and will add more after going to the store this week:) NOTE ABOUT PICKLE JUICE/SUGAR ISSUE: The two options provided do not have equal sweetness and the pickle juice is mostly vinegar. I use spicy and sweet pickle juice- 2T. If I was using brown sugar, I'd only put in 2 teaspoons to start with and then taste halfway through cooking and would add a T of vinegar as well. I think the pickle juice makes the difference so use it if you've got it! If you double up on the cream of mushroom soup then this makes for good freezing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spuffed1 February 05, 2012

This was very good, but I don't know why it is to be baked. After assembling, and topping with cheese, everything is cooked. So why bake it and cook it more? Otherwise a fine recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anton Ego June 05, 2010

I've had this printed off for a number of years and never got around to making it, until now.
What was I waiting for? 5 stars from my boys! Used brown sugar instead of pickle juice and did add some fresh garlic. Used cream of mushroom soup, but left out the veg itself. Super tasty and will definitely make many times over! Thanks Jellyqueen for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter March 07, 2011

Made a few changes......... didn't use Peppers or celery but added an extra mushroom. My wife thought it was great..... I think I would like to add some garlic and maybe a little more tomato sauce. Would make it again..........THANKS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rangerelvis October 23, 2010

This was very good. I left out the mushrooms and used 2 T of brown sugar. I agree with others who think it too sweet, will cut back to 1T next time, yes there will be a next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 December 21, 2009
Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole