Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    257 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 257

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2009

      What a great recipe! Our tweaks: 1T sugar instead of 2T, 3T worcestershire instead of 2T, and we added 1/2t of granulated garlic and some crushed red pepper. That Mrs. Geraldine is one fine neighbor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I have made this several times for people as a gift when someone is too tired to cook (new baby, surgery, death in the family, just moved in, etc) and I always get rave reviews. I double it and it fits nicely in 3 8x8 square pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I gave this a five star even though it had a few things that we didn't like...I will be making this again but will use less pasta, I used a 16 oz package of angel hair pasta and it was just entirely too much...much it was very good once we were able to taste it beyond the pasta. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Good casserole. I did add garlic, mixed soup into sauce and layered over cooked penne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I love this recipe! It tastes like it is a lot unhealthier than it really is. My husband is convinced I add sour cream to it, which of course I don't. The simmer time is rather long so I have found the best way to make this work for me is to spend some time on the weekend and get it to the point of assembly and then put it in the 'fridge for use as a weeknight meal. Then whoever gets home from work first pops it in the oven for the bake time. Because I don't use celery for anything else and didn't want to buy a whole batch just for this, I omit the celery and use an entire green bell pepper instead. Also, instead of can mushrooms I use the pre-sliced fresh ones in the produce dept of my grocery store. To cut down on fat, I rinse the ground beef after it is done browning. Only downside of the dish is because it's so tasty, we tend to eat more than a portion at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This was very good, but I don't know why it is to be baked. After assembling, and topping with cheese, everything is cooked. So why bake it and cook it more? Otherwise a fine recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This is the third time I've made this and never make it same but it always turns out fantastic. Great recipe for working with what you have. I didn't have any meat this go around so I used a can of kidney beans instead and it was still really good. No celery or mushrooms so I added more green bell pepper and half a yellow bell pepper. Used 2 cans of FF crm of mushrm soup with a couple tablespoons of half and half to thin it a little bit and pre-mixed that with the pasta. Only had about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese so I added a 1/2 cup good parm cheese to the soup mixture/pasta. Only put the cheddar on one side and will add more after going to the store this week:) NOTE ABOUT PICKLE JUICE/SUGAR ISSUE: The two options provided do not have equal sweetness and the pickle juice is mostly vinegar. I use spicy and sweet pickle juice- 2T. If I was using brown sugar, I'd only put in 2 teaspoons to start with and then taste halfway through cooking and would add a T of vinegar as well. I think the pickle juice makes the difference so use it if you've got it! If you double up on the cream of mushroom soup then this makes for good freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Made a few changes......... didn't use Peppers or celery but added an extra mushroom. My wife thought it was great..... I think I would like to add some garlic and maybe a little more tomato sauce. Would make it again..........THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      I've had this printed off for a number of years and never got around to making it, until now.
      What was I waiting for? 5 stars from my boys! Used brown sugar instead of pickle juice and did add some fresh garlic. Used cream of mushroom soup, but left out the veg itself. Super tasty and will definitely make many times over! Thanks Jellyqueen for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      It looked nice and there was nothing wrong with the recipe. To us, it tasted like sloppy joe on pasta. We did not care for it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I have never been as disappointed in a recipe as I was this one. After all the glowing reviews, I even doubled it in anticipation of a new family favorite. Everyone hated the sweet layer and soup layer combo..they wouldn't even eat it. I gave it two stars because it wasn't inedible..just not liked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Sorry, but this recipe was just no that good. Very bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      It was good but not special. I have had terrific spaghetti type recipes and this is just normal. If I did rate I would have put in a 3. I made as directed only used spaghetti instead of angel hair pasta which would not change the overall taste. UPDATE: It was a lot better the second day. If it was as good on day 1 as day 2 maybe a 4 rating. I thought the description of what to do was plain 1 noodles in pan 2 soup over noodles 3 meat sauce over soup 4 cheese over all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This was very good. I left out the mushrooms and used 2 T of brown sugar. I agree with others who think it too sweet, will cut back to 1T next time, yes there will be a next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Great flavor and so easy to put together! The only change I made was combining the cooked pasta and mushroom soup together before pouring it into the baking dish. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Nice casserole! DH loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      April1: Do you think it had too much spaghetti because you said you used 16 oz. when the recipe calls for 6 oz?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      I would rate 4stars but since it was easy family recipe i did 5. The taste was good. My family enjoyed. Will try 1 tbs brown sugar next time. I omitted the mushrooms. Doubled the veggies, plus 1 clove of garlic. I added 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes to balance out some of the sweetness. It tasted like a sloppy joe on spaghetti, so we decided to call it slop-sketti. Thanks for an easy casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Great weeknight recipe! Made it without onions and bell pepper and didn't miss it, came out yummy.I did mix the cream of mushroom soup in with the sauce mixture before spooning over the pasta, I wanted to be sure that my husband would like it since he's not into cream of anything soups, and he did! Thanks for posting, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      This was 'different', but we really enjoyed it. Will be making again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs. Geraldine's Ground Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.5
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    43%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 71.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 791.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites