16 Reviews

MG, if you still have not made this cake yet, you are missing out on a fabulous treat! I made this cake for my father's birthday yesterday and it could easily be the best tasting cake I have ever prepared!! I substituted butter for the shortening and eliminated the filling altogether, using frosting between the layers. To do this, I did not have to make extra frosting, there was plenty. One bite and I knew I this recipe would quickly become one of my favorites to make over and over again! The cake is light and delicious, the frosting is scrumptious! Thanks, MG, for making my father's birthday a success!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 26, 2004

I made this cake yesterday afternoon and filled it with a raspberry filling - it turned out great - very moist - next time I may try filling it with pineapple

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert719 December 02, 2007

I have made this cake for several special occassions now and my husband claims it as his favorite cake!! He loves the coconut in the cake batter rather than as an accessory on top of it! The almond extract accentuates the coconut flavor very nicely. The apricot filling is delicious. I usually lighten up the icing with a butter frosting or a whipped cream frosting and add toasted coconut to the top and sides. The thing everyone enjoys about this cake is that it tastes like a good dense homemade cake and it tastes like you had a piece of cake!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn302 March 06, 2009

This cake is marvelous - what a wonderful texture and heft! This is not your average wimpy coconut cake... I followed the directions for the cake exactly, even setting the timer so I mixed the batter correctly. I did not use an apricot filling, but used a lemon filling that I also got from Recipezaar. I made my own whipped icing and toasted the coconut to sprinkle on the top and sides. I will make this cake again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juneaux March 05, 2009

A friend of mine asked for a coconut cake for her birthday, and as she happens to be a fan of the "Cat Who..." series, I figured this was a no-brainer! Bear in mind that I'm not a fan of coconut cakes myself, and yet I thought this was really good. Two main reasons: the hint of almond in the cake is delicious, and the tangy apricot filling is a great counterpoint to the sweetness of the cream cheese icing. For my own sake, I toasted the coconut that went into the batter (I generally like toasted coconut much better), and I thought it lent a nice flavor to the cakes themselves. I left the coconut on top plain, though... couldn't bear to mess with the classic snow-white "coconut cake" image. My friends kept saying "mmm" as they were eating it, so I'd say that was a thumbs-up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM April 26, 2008

I wasn't thrilled with this at all. The icing was too "tart" and the cake was kind of bland. And for the amount of time it took to make this it just wasn't worth it. Maybe if I had used real coconut... My own coconut cake recipe is so much better but just more time consuming.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feingold Mom February 07, 2008

Great recipe, Mysterygirl. A coconut cake was requested by a work colleague. I baked the cakes, took me 25 mins instead of 30. Also, I left the cakes out overnight, they were perfect i.e. moist and tender the next day. The filling was easy to make, and tasteful. I used a different cream cheese frosting 8 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 2 cups powdered sugar, sifted. Everyone loved it at work, it was gone in 15 mins. Next time, I may change the filling flavoring, such as raspberry or pineapple. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry September 29, 2007

I want to rave about the filling! Everyone loved it, definitely five stars!! I added about 1/4 tsp. of fresh nutmeg for flavor and an extra tbs. of "juice" to get a consistency I liked. The cake would be fine for cupcakes but for a layer cake though, mine wasn't as light or tender and didn't rise as high as other reviewers indicated. Next time I might use cake flour or possibly a white cake mix adding coconut and almond extract. The frosting sounds yummy but I made a variation of a 7 Minute Frosting sprinkled with toasted coconut to limit the calories from fat. Thanks for posting! I would never have thought of combining a coconut cake with an apricot filling; an excellent combination of flavors!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato August 18, 2007

Wow!! Beautiful cake, texture and flavour. Looks really pretty when done. I added 1 1/4 cup sweetened coconut to the batter and 1/2 cup sweetened coconut on top of the cake when iced. The long coconut flakes look and taste better(personal preference). I also baked in a springform pan un-covered for 25 mins and covered for the rest of the time. It took about 40-45 mins in my oven. I adjusted the icing and used 2 cups of icing sugar. I used raspberry jam as the filling. Pick a really good quality jam you love, the quality impacts the cake a great deal. Next time I will use un-sweetened, seedless raspberry jam from Safeway(my favourite). Guests said the cake tasted light. Next time I might bake the jam as a layer in the cake. This would also make a fun cupcake, add half the batter, some jam, rest of batter and bake/ice the same way as the cake. For Xmas I plan to try this!! Maybe add some food colouring to the coconut for a festive touch. Bake in red and green paper cups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvfood November 18, 2006

This was dessert for our Easter dinner. It was wonderful! I loved the apricot filling. That made this more than just a coconut cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea April 16, 2006
Mrs Cobb's Coconut Cake