Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mrs Cobb's Coconut Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mrs Cobb's Coconut Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2004

      MG, if you still have not made this cake yet, you are missing out on a fabulous treat! I made this cake for my father's birthday yesterday and it could easily be the best tasting cake I have ever prepared!! I substituted butter for the shortening and eliminated the filling altogether, using frosting between the layers. To do this, I did not have to make extra frosting, there was plenty. One bite and I knew I this recipe would quickly become one of my favorites to make over and over again! The cake is light and delicious, the frosting is scrumptious! Thanks, MG, for making my father's birthday a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I made this cake yesterday afternoon and filled it with a raspberry filling - it turned out great - very moist - next time I may try filling it with pineapple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I have made this cake for several special occassions now and my husband claims it as his favorite cake!! He loves the coconut in the cake batter rather than as an accessory on top of it! The almond extract accentuates the coconut flavor very nicely. The apricot filling is delicious. I usually lighten up the icing with a butter frosting or a whipped cream frosting and add toasted coconut to the top and sides. The thing everyone enjoys about this cake is that it tastes like a good dense homemade cake and it tastes like you had a piece of cake!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This cake is marvelous - what a wonderful texture and heft! This is not your average wimpy coconut cake... I followed the directions for the cake exactly, even setting the timer so I mixed the batter correctly. I did not use an apricot filling, but used a lemon filling that I also got from Recipezaar. I made my own whipped icing and toasted the coconut to sprinkle on the top and sides. I will make this cake again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      A friend of mine asked for a coconut cake for her birthday, and as she happens to be a fan of the "Cat Who..." series, I figured this was a no-brainer! Bear in mind that I'm not a fan of coconut cakes myself, and yet I thought this was really good. Two main reasons: the hint of almond in the cake is delicious, and the tangy apricot filling is a great counterpoint to the sweetness of the cream cheese icing. For my own sake, I toasted the coconut that went into the batter (I generally like toasted coconut much better), and I thought it lent a nice flavor to the cakes themselves. I left the coconut on top plain, though... couldn't bear to mess with the classic snow-white "coconut cake" image. My friends kept saying "mmm" as they were eating it, so I'd say that was a thumbs-up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I wasn't thrilled with this at all. The icing was too "tart" and the cake was kind of bland. And for the amount of time it took to make this it just wasn't worth it. Maybe if I had used real coconut... My own coconut cake recipe is so much better but just more time consuming.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Great recipe, Mysterygirl. A coconut cake was requested by a work colleague. I baked the cakes, took me 25 mins instead of 30. Also, I left the cakes out overnight, they were perfect i.e. moist and tender the next day. The filling was easy to make, and tasteful. I used a different cream cheese frosting 8 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 2 cups powdered sugar, sifted. Everyone loved it at work, it was gone in 15 mins. Next time, I may change the filling flavoring, such as raspberry or pineapple. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I want to rave about the filling! Everyone loved it, definitely five stars!! I added about 1/4 tsp. of fresh nutmeg for flavor and an extra tbs. of "juice" to get a consistency I liked. The cake would be fine for cupcakes but for a layer cake though, mine wasn't as light or tender and didn't rise as high as other reviewers indicated. Next time I might use cake flour or possibly a white cake mix adding coconut and almond extract. The frosting sounds yummy but I made a variation of a 7 Minute Frosting sprinkled with toasted coconut to limit the calories from fat. Thanks for posting! I would never have thought of combining a coconut cake with an apricot filling; an excellent combination of flavors!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Wow!! Beautiful cake, texture and flavour. Looks really pretty when done. I added 1 1/4 cup sweetened coconut to the batter and 1/2 cup sweetened coconut on top of the cake when iced. The long coconut flakes look and taste better(personal preference). I also baked in a springform pan un-covered for 25 mins and covered for the rest of the time. It took about 40-45 mins in my oven. I adjusted the icing and used 2 cups of icing sugar. I used raspberry jam as the filling. Pick a really good quality jam you love, the quality impacts the cake a great deal. Next time I will use un-sweetened, seedless raspberry jam from Safeway(my favourite). Guests said the cake tasted light. Next time I might bake the jam as a layer in the cake. This would also make a fun cupcake, add half the batter, some jam, rest of batter and bake/ice the same way as the cake. For Xmas I plan to try this!! Maybe add some food colouring to the coconut for a festive touch. Bake in red and green paper cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      This was dessert for our Easter dinner. It was wonderful! I loved the apricot filling. That made this more than just a coconut cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Divine! I made this for a friend's birthday and she absolutely loved it! The cake was moist & light and the frosting was delicious as well. I used a high quality Apricot jam as the filling instead and it was wonderful. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This cake was amazing --moist but not too heavy, and great flavor. This is one that probably should be stored in the fridge if you use cream cheese frosting. The only variance from the recipe was to use about 1 cup more powdered sugar than the frosting recipe called for -- it was too thin without it. I meant to take a picture, but it disappeared too quickly. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      I made this for my Sis's birthday. It was a HUGE HIT!! I followed the recipe exactly. It was easy and precise. We all loved the apricot filling with the coconut taste. I toasted some coconut for the top of the cake. MG, thanks for this great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      This cake is fabulous! Good texture and flavor. I skipped the filling and used a 7 minute frosting. Will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      Only made the cake, I used my great grandmothers Coconut cream pie filling recipe and used that as the filling. OMG it was sooo good!! I brought the cake to a Mothers Day luncheon at my parents church and people were getting second helpings and have been asking me to make it again for other luncheons and dinners at church and at home!! The coconut was not overpowering at all..Great recipe will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mrs Cobb's Coconut Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    36%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 40.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 442.5 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.3 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    300%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes