21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! I'm not surprised that you remember this loaf even after 63 years! Its moist and soft and tastes wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly as stated and was very happy with the result. Definitely a keeper....I shall be making this very often. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Bergy :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeybeee December 04, 2002

Yum! Soft and tasty! This is so easy to make and tasted delicious with a cup of tea. Thanks Bergy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! September 30, 2002

Amazing. For an healthier version... 1/2 the sugar, use whole wheat flour, use oil instead of butter and add an extra table spoon. Measure the dates once chopped and pack the cup. Easy to double up the recipe to get two loaves for the same amount of work. Walnuts in there were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka July 01, 2014

Delicious! I am a new baker so am trying A LOT of loaves and this is only the second one I have found to be really interesting, moist and that I would serve to friends/family. To test out different combos I made three mini loaves out of the recipe: one w/ walnuts, one w/ pecans and one w/out nuts. The one with pecans was by far my favourite. I highly recommend this recipe. I might add another 1/2 cup of dates to the entire thing simple b/c I like a lot going on in my baking. But it was definitely fine as is. ENJOY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neophytebaker March 10, 2012

Delicious. This recipe is almost identical to the one I use which was my Grandmothers. Differences: brown sugar instead of white. 2 cups of dates instead of one. No nuts.(by preference) My cake is very moist and darker than original recipe. Both are fabulous!!!!!Don't over cook

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martha jane June 12, 2010

OMG so awesome! Thanks for a great recipe, Bergy. So easy and simple to make. I used pistachios for the type of nuts. I had some left over dates and pistachios from other recipes, so this was a perfect way to use them up. Slather a little cream cheese on top and it is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoops June 15, 2009

Fabulous, I remember this from my childhood pack in my lunch. Thanks Bergy for sharing, it's just like MOM made

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. May 12, 2009

This is delicious! My family ate the entire loaf in less than a day. Only change I made was to omit the nuts so my daughter could take it to her nut-free school in her lunch box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 April 17, 2009

Wonderful texture -- you could slice this very thinly and make little cream cheese sandwiches without having the bread fall apart. I loved it and so did my family. Thanks Bergy and Mrs. Allen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie in SoCal January 29, 2009

I am only going to comment on the recipe right now. I baked it this morning for Christmas and will update when we use it. I have been on a date kick and tried Kitten's Wonderful Date and Nut Mini Loaf Breads. It was great. I wanted to try this one because it looks to be a darker loaf. Having to pour the boiling water over the dates and butter, I was impatient for it to cool so I stuck the bowl outside (we are at -34 + windchill today) it only took minutes. I did have to cook it longer than listed but that isnt unusual for my stove so I won't take stars away. I used slivered almonds because it was what I had. Update: There is nothing left of the loaf....its gone. They enhaled it in the matter of a day. Everyone enjoyed it, it was deliciously moist and had a lovely date flavor. Thanks Bergy, its a definate keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn December 28, 2008
Mrs Allen's Date Loaf