25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this buttercream 5 times now and this recipe has never failed me. Just follow the recipe to the letter and you'll be ok. Also, know that almost the entire time you are making this, the mess in your mixing bowl will NOT look right up until about the last 20 seconds before/after you put in that last little cube of butter. As soon as you add the butter to the sugar/eggwhite, it will metamophosize from a beautiful white fluff to a soupy mess, then to a curdled mess, to finally--just like magic--it becomes this beautiful, pipable buttercream. I doubled the recipe with no problem.

It's a pain, and it takes a lot of time, but the end result is well worth it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Can't Hardly Cook September 29, 2011

this was relatively quick considering you have to use the stovetop. it is really rich and creamy tasting but light feeling at the same time. Definitely start the meringue before melting the sugar. I whisked/beat this by hand and the first time i tried it, I accidentally overbeat it (that's what causes the separation) in the last step adding the butter by tablespoons. Just watch it carefully when you're adding the butter and stop if you see it starting to look like rice cereal. I think it would be fine to end up with a few tablespoons less butter, but an intact icing. This is certainly buttery enough!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarmama76 July 04, 2010

Awesome recipe! I found it very easy, didn't even use a thermometer, used salted butter, and beat the crud out of it, it all came out so fluffy and rich!!! I've made this before, and when you start to add the butter into the egg white/sugar water mixture, there is a point to where you think "oh no, this bombed!" but don't worry, just keep beating it, and it'll all come out, you need to have a good strong mixer, and let it run for a good ten minutes or so after all butter has been added. I am using this to pipe decorations on a chocolate cake, thanks for sharing!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 May 13, 2009

This is not a beginner recipe :) I'm not new to cooking or baking but did have trouble with this recipe. Hopefully others can learn from my mistakes. These may be obvious pointers to some but I'll mention them anyway. Make sure your egg whites are room temperature. You may want to beat them and have them ready before you begin the syrup as it only takes a few minutes to reach 245. As SOON as it reaches 245 start pouring it into the meringue. Don't take it off the heat while you finish the meringue or let it continue cooking on heat. Also use as small a pan as possible for the syrup. I halved the recipe and had a hard time getting the thermometer into the syrup (barely covered the bottom of my small pan) without it touching the bottom of the pan. It will also start to harden and crystalize very quickly so the less surface area, the better. My icing broke and I couldn't quite figure out how to fix it (or if it's even possible). After refrigerating I re-beat it hoping get a fluffier consistency but the more I worked with it, the more liquid separated out. I drained off the liquid and went ahead and used the icing. It tasted like vanilla ice cream and was easy smooth. Half of the recipe (in it's compromised state) was enough for filling and top but no sides. I'll definitely try it again, hopefully with better success next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimenezrachel August 09, 2008

I love this buttercream! I made it a couple of times with vanilla bean and it tasted like ice cream. It is great to work with but if it its a hot day and you don't have air conditioning, you'll need to cool the mixing bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supafreeze January 04, 2015

Awesome! First time I made this it was a dream! Absolutely gorgeous icing. Use right away. I found that if you refrigerate it, it becomes very hard (because of all the butter) and then when you try to use it, it's too hard to pipe with. That being said, you can just let it sit out and then pipe with it, but it's best when fresh. Second time I made it, I forgot to leave the butter out to get to room temp and had to micro it for a little bit. It was just a little warmer than room temp, which made the buttercream go soupy when I put in all the butter. I put it in the fridge for a while, then whipped again for a few minutes. Not as gorgeous as the first batch, but still turned out great and delicious. This is my go to recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastry Lovin' June 23, 2014

This is the second meringue buttercream recipe that I've tried

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smileyrie May 09, 2014

This is my first time making any kind of frosting besides a run of the mill buttercream. There's definitely a moment when you think you've screwed it up, but with a little bit of beating it does suddenly transform into a smooth, creamy dream. I halved the recipe, and it worked well even in the small portion. I might try adding a little less butter next time for my personal taste, but it's perfect how it is and received several compliments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amelia_H May 29, 2013

WOW! What a discovery! I'm not sure if I'm glad that I found this recipe because it has now ruined any other frosting for me! Simply delicious. I found that 3 sticks of butter in a batch was plenty and the frosting still holds up very well. It also gets much easier the more you make it...I'm now bringing cupcakes to everything I'm invited to simply because I want to make this delicious frosting and share the joy with other people! Haha! AMAZING!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLaMacc826 December 16, 2012

I just made this for a birthday cake for a customer who does not like a sweet icing. You would have thought that I gave him a million dollars. Follow the directions on this one to the letter and you will not be disappointed. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mslangdon_12992445 August 03, 2012
Mr. Brown's Italian Meringue Buttercream