Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mr. Brown's Italian Meringue Buttercream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mr. Brown's Italian Meringue Buttercream

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2011

      I've made this buttercream 5 times now and this recipe has never failed me. Just follow the recipe to the letter and you'll be ok. Also, know that almost the entire time you are making this, the mess in your mixing bowl will NOT look right up until about the last 20 seconds before/after you put in that last little cube of butter. As soon as you add the butter to the sugar/eggwhite, it will metamophosize from a beautiful white fluff to a soupy mess, then to a curdled mess, to finally--just like magic--it becomes this beautiful, pipable buttercream. I doubled the recipe with no problem.

      It's a pain, and it takes a lot of time, but the end result is well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      this was relatively quick considering you have to use the stovetop. it is really rich and creamy tasting but light feeling at the same time. Definitely start the meringue before melting the sugar. I whisked/beat this by hand and the first time i tried it, I accidentally overbeat it (that's what causes the separation) in the last step adding the butter by tablespoons. Just watch it carefully when you're adding the butter and stop if you see it starting to look like rice cereal. I think it would be fine to end up with a few tablespoons less butter, but an intact icing. This is certainly buttery enough!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Awesome recipe! I found it very easy, didn't even use a thermometer, used salted butter, and beat the crud out of it, it all came out so fluffy and rich!!! I've made this before, and when you start to add the butter into the egg white/sugar water mixture, there is a point to where you think "oh no, this bombed!" but don't worry, just keep beating it, and it'll all come out, you need to have a good strong mixer, and let it run for a good ten minutes or so after all butter has been added. I am using this to pipe decorations on a chocolate cake, thanks for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This is not a beginner recipe :) I'm not new to cooking or baking but did have trouble with this recipe. Hopefully others can learn from my mistakes. These may be obvious pointers to some but I'll mention them anyway. Make sure your egg whites are room temperature. You may want to beat them and have them ready before you begin the syrup as it only takes a few minutes to reach 245. As SOON as it reaches 245 start pouring it into the meringue. Don't take it off the heat while you finish the meringue or let it continue cooking on heat. Also use as small a pan as possible for the syrup. I halved the recipe and had a hard time getting the thermometer into the syrup (barely covered the bottom of my small pan) without it touching the bottom of the pan. It will also start to harden and crystalize very quickly so the less surface area, the better. My icing broke and I couldn't quite figure out how to fix it (or if it's even possible). After refrigerating I re-beat it hoping get a fluffier consistency but the more I worked with it, the more liquid separated out. I drained off the liquid and went ahead and used the icing. It tasted like vanilla ice cream and was easy smooth. Half of the recipe (in it's compromised state) was enough for filling and top but no sides. I'll definitely try it again, hopefully with better success next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Awesome! First time I made this it was a dream! Absolutely gorgeous icing. Use right away. I found that if you refrigerate it, it becomes very hard (because of all the butter) and then when you try to use it, it's too hard to pipe with. That being said, you can just let it sit out and then pipe with it, but it's best when fresh. Second time I made it, I forgot to leave the butter out to get to room temp and had to micro it for a little bit. It was just a little warmer than room temp, which made the buttercream go soupy when I put in all the butter. I put it in the fridge for a while, then whipped again for a few minutes. Not as gorgeous as the first batch, but still turned out great and delicious. This is my go to recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      This is the second meringue buttercream recipe that I've tried

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      This is my first time making any kind of frosting besides a run of the mill buttercream. There's definitely a moment when you think you've screwed it up, but with a little bit of beating it does suddenly transform into a smooth, creamy dream. I halved the recipe, and it worked well even in the small portion. I might try adding a little less butter next time for my personal taste, but it's perfect how it is and received several compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      WOW! What a discovery! I'm not sure if I'm glad that I found this recipe because it has now ruined any other frosting for me! Simply delicious. I found that 3 sticks of butter in a batch was plenty and the frosting still holds up very well. It also gets much easier the more you make it...I'm now bringing cupcakes to everything I'm invited to simply because I want to make this delicious frosting and share the joy with other people! Haha! AMAZING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      I just made this for a birthday cake for a customer who does not like a sweet icing. You would have thought that I gave him a million dollars. Follow the directions on this one to the letter and you will not be disappointed. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      I made this icing today for birthday cake and cupcakes - it was my first attempt at anything other than standard powdered sugar fare. I must say I really like the smooth consistency and the mellow, sweet but not gagging-too-sweetness of the icing. I didn't find the process too difficult, but I followed it to a T the first time - the second time I used 3 sticks of butter instead of 4. I think 4 is just too buttery. I also added a pinch of salt when it had pulled together (at the end) and I also added some melted white chocolate (8 oz to each batch). Unfortunately I didn't melt the white chocolate enough for the first batch, fearing I might ruin the texture - and I ended up with lumpy buttercream! I ended up pushing it thorough a sifter to get out at least the bigger chunks. The second time I made sure the white chocolate was completely melted and poured it into the mixer slowly while the mixer was going and it was fine. The flavor is super nice and flexible - I used it on strawberry cake and I really like it! The one thing I found that wasn't so hot is that it doesn't "set" the way that my Wilton's Buttercream sets - meaning I can pat it smooth and it holds up pretty well to decorating. However, that said, I am looking forward to using this again and again! Thanks a bunch! Watch the video!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I make this recipe all the time. Only frosting I ever use. First couple of times were stressfull but I have it down now. Love it in Chocolate too. going to try coconut for Easter! You will never use another buttercream after you try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This frosting recipe is JUST like my grandmothers in texture.. I cannot tell you how long I have been searching for a frosting recipe that is silky and smooth and not too sweet tasting to duplicate my grandmother's recipe as she is no longer with us She made a maraschino cherry frosting from the 1950's where she would add a few tablespoons of cherry juice and then top the cake and frosting with diced maraschino cherries at the end. For years I thought maybe her frosting was a 7 minute or white mountain frosting because it was so light but each time I made one of the other frostings to test them they were missing a certain depth and silkiness and they were too much like marshmallow fluff. This frosting is amazing and like others have said it is not for beginners. You do not want to deviate at all. Make sure you follow everything to a T...and at the end after yo have added the butter SLOWLY it will look runny and clumpy... Keep beating! I really think using a kitchenaid stand mixer is best. I cannot imagine beating by hand with a hand mixer. This recipe is not anything like regular buttercream. It is much lighter, not grainy a all and is super smooth and silky. Worth the effort!!! Thank you for posting this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      I have been making American buttercream (butter, powdered sugar, and milk) for years without ever thinking to try a different recipe. I guess I just believed that frosting was supposed to be cloyingly sweet and something that I would just never care for. Well, the moment I first tasted this fluffy, mildly sweet, and ultra buttery recipe, my ideas about buttercream took a 180 turn. I am now obsessed in every healthy, and some unhealthy (hehe), ways, and so are all my friends around town who have received mini cupcakes of all kinds. Thank you so much for this life altering recipe, I already can't imagine my life without it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Thank you for the fabulous recipe. The tutorial on You Tube was very helpful. It's stablilty works well for piping. Very buttery but not too sweet at all. Depending on the flavor I have even added 1/4 to 1/2 cup extra sugar. Now I've made this six times and it comes out perfect every time! My favorite is when I added 3/4 bag of melted milk chocolate. Today I added 2/3 jar of mango butter from Trader Joe's with 1 tsp vanilla extract to give it a kick. This is the best mango butter cream I have ever tried. The possibilities are endless. Next I will try peanut butter. I want to replicate the mini chocolate peanut butter cupcakes from Starbuck's. I also use Loraine emulsions or oils that give wonderful flavor as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Thank you for this recipe. The texture was like velvet and was really easy to make and work with. I am practicing for making a 50th wedding anniversary cake and this will be the frosing I use. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Exactly what I was looking for , Curtis Stone did a video on making it but didnt give the measurments and every recipe I found had powdered sugar and that is so wrong....THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I am not usually a fan of buttercreams,but this recipe has become my go to frosting..very easy to make as long as you follow the directions.you tube tutorial is a big help for first timers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Thank-you so much for this recipe. I am a professional cake decorator and this is just what I needed because it isn't super sweet. The first time I tried it I used salted butter - I will use unsalted next time. It turned out perfect the first time I made it. My egg whites were not at room temperature and neither was my butter. I cut it into cubes before starting to help it get to room temperature more quickly. The metal bowl on my mixer stayed warm to the touch for a long time so I cheated and cooled down the outside of the bowl with an ice cube to help get the temp down. I was starting to feel bad for my mixer haha. Thank-you to "chef" below that said "there is a point to where you think "oh no, this bombed!" but don't worry, just keep beating it, and it'll all come out" - it's very true. I added 2 tsp of REAL vanilla and it turned out perfectly. I plan on trying it with various flavors next (starting with strawberry). Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      I was very nervous about making this recipe but it turned out amazing. I made sure I had all my ducks in a row before beginning and read over the instructions a couple of times and it went well. I added almost 3/4 cup strawberry puree for my daughter's birthday cupcakes. They were like something out of a gourmet cupcake shop. (taste wise, my decorating with the icing tips could use some work, lol) Can't wait to try this with other flavors. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is crazy good! I was very impressed by the clear, concise instructions given here, and I also watched Warren Brown's tutorial, which was endlessly helpful. It came together just perfectly, and was very impressive to people who tried it. I used it on a coconut layer cake, with a splash of coconut and vanilla extracts added in. Thank you so much for posting this; it's a go-to for me now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mr. Brown's Italian Meringue Buttercream

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 861.7
     
    Calories from Fat 663
    76%
    Total Fat 73.7 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 46.6 g
    233%
    Cholesterol 195.2 mg
    65%
    Sodium 65.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes