Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mr. Bayley's West Indies Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mr. Bayley's West Indies Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2013

      add one pouch of rubust itialin dressing to this and enjoy. i live in mobile al and bailey's had the original recipe but trust me on this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      I live just down the road from Bayleys and their West Indies Salad is amazing. It is one of those special dishes that you have to try when you visit. Like a muffaletta or gumbo in New Orleans, BBQ brisket in Texas, Lobster rolls and clam chowder in Maine, etc. BTW, you can call Bayleys and if you are going to pass by on your vacation to Dauphin Island or for any other reason and order their West Indies Salad by the quart. We do it all the time when we need to bring something to a get together and it is always the first dish to disappear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

      Used to eat this at Perry's Seafood (closed long ago) at the foot of the old Bayou Chico bridge in Pensacola in the 70's. Using white or yellow onions is the way to go and yes, keep the oil to a minimum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Crabmeat as God intended it to be enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      Partly true. Bill Bayley was having dinner with Curtis and Mary Louise Bush in their new home on Dauphin Island. Mary Louise had recently returned from a visit with her son in Jamaica and prepared a wonderful salad she had discovered while visiting the West Indies. Bill asked her permission to use the recipe, to which she gladly obliged.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      I grew up eating this dish and Bayley's and many other places on the Gulf Coast. For all you folks who keep reciting the mantra that, "if you don't do it precisely this way, it won't be right), relax. There are as many ways to make West Indies Salad as there are places that make it. Some of the versions are worse and some are quite a bit better. Don't be afraid to experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I grew up in Pensacola, Fl., 60 miles east of Mobile and many people traveled to Bayleys (known mostly for their seafood) and the West Indies salad became a Gulf Coast tradition. I never remember red onions, only sweet white onions and my mother used ice cubes instead of ice water. Same results. I am still in Pensacola and going to make some this weekend. yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      I grew up in Enterprise Alabama and the Bayleys had a steak and seafood restaurant there in the '60s and '70s. This dish was featured and I had it many times. This looks like the real recipe. I recall that they had a restaurant in Mobile and maybe Pascagoula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      This is very close to the recipe that was featured in Gulf Coast Gourmet, published in 1961. That recipe says nothing about red onions, but that's not too important. As the Gulf Coast Gourmet recipe says -- do not substitute ingredients, as result will not be the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      For the original recipe (my mom got it directly from the bayley's) use red onion and mazola corn oil instead of wesson.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I forgot this was in Recipe Jubilee. THANKS! This reminds me of The Pass restaurant which is no longer there, and my grandmother who used to make this recipe every Christmas. Yummmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      OMG!! I printed this recipe out from here about 3 years ago, but was scared to try it. I kept looking at it and wasn't so sure it would be good. A pound of lump crabmeat is a lot to invest in an experiment. I figured it would either be excellent or terrible. Today (with pound cans of lump crab on special at our local fish market) I took the plunge. My husband and I both were in love! We consumed the whole batch in short order. I made exactly as specified and marinated about 4 hours. We ate it on crackers, will try on lettuce as a salad for supper next time. And there will so surely be a next time. OMG!!! This is sooo good! It really sounds weird, but is excellent!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      We've been making this since the 80's....my ex-mother-in-law showed me how to make it. She lived in Pensacola for a while, and this is great! Often we substitute Cento Red Wine Vinegar for the cider vinegar. I think I prefer the Cento! This is one of the all time great recipes. All you have to do is serve it on top of saltine crackers....this is fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      1 Star We visit Alabama frequently and own a house in Baldwin county. I found this recipe tasteless and not even close to the fabulous renditions that we have had at the Tin Top Restaurant and various functions overseen by the Chef from the now defunct Floppers Restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I used to go the the Lower Gulf Coast in Alabama frequently and always went to the restaurant that served this delicious salad. It was always one of the highlight of my trips to eat this particular salad. I tried to copy it myself without a recipe and was glad to finally find the my favorite salad on Recipe Zaar. It is truly an outstanding salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      This is the one- I spent my youth :) in Mobile, Alabama. My children were raised on this salad-(and oyster stew). Was just out looking at all the different variations that are online-but this one is the one I make. Nice to see it here! (and you are so right recipe wrestler- these instructions must be followed to the letter...altho I have substituted pasteurised crabmeat from the refrigerator section of my local market when I did not want to do my own pickin') Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      having just returned from a vacation to Gulf Shores, i was on the hunt for West Indies Salad, which DH and I shared at the Tin Top restaurant ( they wouldnt give me their recipe )I made exactly as written...O.K; i did use good quality canned crab, because we are landlocked here, and fresh crab( in a jar) was $10 for 8ozs.But despite that, this was soooo good, exactly the same as the restaurants version, only better, because we consumed huge amounts of this lovely dish,as opposed to the small serving at the" Tin Top." Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mr. Bayley's West Indies Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 390.6
     
    Calories from Fat 268
    68%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 86.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 431.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites