9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This had great flavor and made a ton of food. I used mini ziti and only half a box - a whole box 16 oz would have been way too much pasta (maybe the smaller pasta had something to do with it being too much). I used homemade stewed tomatoes so no chopped topped with Italian sauce then the cheese. I used mozzarella and Parmesan cheese mixed about 1 1/2 cups. I would use different cheese next time and there will be a next time. Thanks we served this with cornbread and a salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie July 13, 2011

Comfort food, glorious comfort food! I have to say, this casserole totally outdid my expectations for it. It's so delicious! The onions, peppers and stewed tomatoes in it just made it something more special than your typical jarred 'sauce' thrown in. I didn't understand the addition of the ketchup but who cares, it worked and this dish is a hit! The only thing I did outside of the recipe as written was to add extra cheese to the top for the last 10 minutes of baking time (with the foil off), and I baked for 30 minutes total. Oh, and I used rotini pasta. Great recipe! Made for PAC Spring 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeVaFoodie March 04, 2011

Yum!!! I made this as listed except that I used orange peppers and added a bit of cheese on top. Very filling, very tasty, quite healthy! Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks weekend cooker! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif May 03, 2010

Great pasta dish, easy and satisfying. I removed the sausage from the casing to cook it and left out the onions, otherwise made as specified. I liked the addition of the green pepper to this; next time I'll add more mozzarella on top. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof January 06, 2010

This is so yummy. I omitted the oil cause I used a non stick skillet. I used a 28 ounces can of diced tomatoes (no stewed tomatoes). And I used fusilli for the pasta. Great dish with lots of flavor. Thanks Weekend Cooker :) Made for Gimme 5 tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 13, 2009

This was a very nice complete meal for my family. I have a similar family recipe that I make ocassionally, but the addition of the green peper and stewed tomatoes added a nice zesty touch. Thanks for sharing your recipe, weekend cooker. Made for "Please Review My Recipe" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 30, 2009

Good dish. I deglazed the pan with some red wine which really worked nicely. Topped with parmesan. Divided into two dishes and froze one before baking. I'll post later how that turned out. For 123.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT June 20, 2009

This was great! I ended up using a large can of dice tomatoes because that's what I had and I saw the review about the 15 oz. can not being enough liquid. It was perfect with the larger can. I'll definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 April 28, 2009

What great comfort food! I used a sweet Italian sausage (ground). This sure makes a lot so we will be having leftovers. It was a bit on the dry side so I would suggest adding a small can of tomato sauce. But if you want to keep the delicious sweet taste of this dish increase the amount of ketchup. I served it with a salad and some garlic toast. Thanks for posting. Made for PAC Fall 2008. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 20, 2008
Mozzarella Ziti With Sausage