49 Reviews

Yes yes yes... I make my own Rasberry-Balsamic reduction (reduce Framboise and a nice Balsamic) and drizzle that over along with a good cold pressed Olive Oil (has a little peppery kick depending on the region). When I really want to make a bang I serve this with a few white anchovies on the side of the plate. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AAJoseph May 16, 2011

This is an excellent dish. I serve it as a salad sometimes. I have added chopped black olives and finely chopped anchovies also. Use less salt if adding anchovies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foggra June 06, 2009

Great recipe!only difference is I used lemon juice intead of balsamic vinegar and I slivered a handfull of basil and sprinkle it on. So glad I found this one again; simply fresh!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage July 25, 2007

This is such a refreshing treat! I loved it! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orangetoamber October 16, 2014

I've made this very salad many, many times. Just purchased some ciliegine (small fresh mozarella balls) and cherry tomatoes last night to make again today with my own fresh basil. I do cut the basil into strips when I make this salad. I enjoy it both with and without the balsamic vinegar - but if you have a really good aged one, it is superb! Fresh cracked pepper is a must in my opinion. I agree with a couple of other reviewers that fresh or canned anchovies alongside the salad is a great addition once in a while! Thanks for posting this simple and delicious recipe, Tish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick June 22, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for. I liked it with balsamic vinegar drizzled, though I was a bit inept on the "drizzling" technique.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl May 21, 2013

Absolutely perfect, just as written! Pleasing to the eye. Thank you, I will be serving this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis October 09, 2011

A delicious and easy way to use summer tomatoes.....pretty for company...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefie Stephie August 07, 2011

Always wondered what people saw (tasted) in a tomato, basil, mozerella salad, but made this because I had a basil plant growing wild. Mmmmm it was so delicious and the best part was that the kids loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vinita June 22, 2011

I made this after watching Giada make it on Foodnetwork and it was so delicious,so easy, and doesnt leave you feeling hungry afterwards like most salads, its very filling. I usually add a little pepper flakes to give it a little spice. Very yummy i've eatin' it 3 days in a row for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VVARELA November 17, 2010
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad