Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2001

      I agree with the other comments (use fresh mozerella, etc.) It's hard to find in some areas. Trader Joe's has it. Italian deli's have it, if you are lucky enough to have one where you live. I just have one suggestion. Drizzle on some Balsamic vinegar along with the olive oil. I travelled all over Italy last summer and ate this salad everywhere. Many places added the Balsamic and it makes a good salad really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2001

      This is a great light salad. Even my children love it. I like to add a little fresh cracked black pepper to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2001

      This recipe is *awesome*, but here's a nifty little hint: Instead of regular mozzarella, use buffalo mozzarella. Add cucumbers to this dish, and spoon a homemade salsa relish (think tomatoes, not heat) on top of the cheese. A superb little dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2001

      This is a delicious, healthy and beautiful salad that takes only minutes to prepare. I look forward to the homegrown tomatoes and basil from my garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2001

      Sounds good. I would mince the basil, and place it directly on the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This is a great recipe. Another variation on it is to subsitute Feta Cheese for the Mozz. Layer tomato, basil leaf, and Feta on top. Microwave one minute. If you use thick sliced tomato it adds a great deal to the eating experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      I didn't have the opportunity to use "real" mozza and fresh basil, but it still turned out great. I found I needed to add some balsamic vinegar, as another reviewer suggested - to give it a little more punch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

    • on October 20, 2001

      actually, switching avacado slices for the mozzarella, and adding a homemade french dressing makes it absolutely fabulous, and do use basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      I had eaten this in restaurants before and loved it, so I decided to give it a try at home. I made exactly as the recipe describes except I stacked mine: tomato slice, basil, mozerella, olive oil drizzle. Very simple recipe...and very tasty. Thanks for posting it Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Yes yes yes... I make my own Rasberry-Balsamic reduction (reduce Framboise and a nice Balsamic) and drizzle that over along with a good cold pressed Olive Oil (has a little peppery kick depending on the region). When I really want to make a bang I serve this with a few white anchovies on the side of the plate. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      This is an excellent dish. I serve it as a salad sometimes. I have added chopped black olives and finely chopped anchovies also. Use less salt if adding anchovies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Great recipe!only difference is I used lemon juice intead of balsamic vinegar and I slivered a handfull of basil and sprinkle it on. So glad I found this one again; simply fresh!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      This is such a refreshing treat! I loved it! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I've made this very salad many, many times. Just purchased some ciliegine (small fresh mozarella balls) and cherry tomatoes last night to make again today with my own fresh basil. I do cut the basil into strips when I make this salad. I enjoy it both with and without the balsamic vinegar - but if you have a really good aged one, it is superb! Fresh cracked pepper is a must in my opinion. I agree with a couple of other reviewers that fresh or canned anchovies alongside the salad is a great addition once in a while! Thanks for posting this simple and delicious recipe, Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Exactly what I was looking for. I liked it with balsamic vinegar drizzled, though I was a bit inept on the "drizzling" technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Absolutely perfect, just as written! Pleasing to the eye. Thank you, I will be serving this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      A delicious and easy way to use summer tomatoes.....pretty for company...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Always wondered what people saw (tasted) in a tomato, basil, mozerella salad, but made this because I had a basil plant growing wild. Mmmmm it was so delicious and the best part was that the kids loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      I made this after watching Giada make it on Foodnetwork and it was so delicious,so easy, and doesnt leave you feeling hungry afterwards like most salads, its very filling. I usually add a little pepper flakes to give it a little spice. Very yummy i've eatin' it 3 days in a row for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 320.3
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    74%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 360.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites