49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with the other comments (use fresh mozerella, etc.) It's hard to find in some areas. Trader Joe's has it. Italian deli's have it, if you are lucky enough to have one where you live. I just have one suggestion. Drizzle on some Balsamic vinegar along with the olive oil. I travelled all over Italy last summer and ate this salad everywhere. Many places added the Balsamic and it makes a good salad really good!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca1 August 29, 2001

This is a great light salad. Even my children love it. I like to add a little fresh cracked black pepper to it.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
april August 31, 2001

This recipe is *awesome*, but here's a nifty little hint: Instead of regular mozzarella, use buffalo mozzarella. Add cucumbers to this dish, and spoon a homemade salsa relish (think tomatoes, not heat) on top of the cheese. A superb little dish!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat1 July 17, 2001

This is a delicious, healthy and beautiful salad that takes only minutes to prepare. I look forward to the homegrown tomatoes and basil from my garden.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Shelton April 22, 2001

Sounds good. I would mince the basil, and place it directly on the tomatoes.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Skrable June 12, 2001

This is a great recipe. Another variation on it is to subsitute Feta Cheese for the Mozz. Layer tomato, basil leaf, and Feta on top. Microwave one minute. If you use thick sliced tomato it adds a great deal to the eating experience.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve40242 June 20, 2002

I didn't have the opportunity to use "real" mozza and fresh basil, but it still turned out great. I found I needed to add some balsamic vinegar, as another reviewer suggested - to give it a little more punch.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat February 18, 2002

actually, switching avacado slices for the mozzarella, and adding a homemade french dressing makes it absolutely fabulous, and do use basil.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily October 20, 2001

I had eaten this in restaurants before and loved it, so I decided to give it a try at home. I made exactly as the recipe describes except I stacked mine: tomato slice, basil, mozerella, olive oil drizzle. Very simple recipe...and very tasty. Thanks for posting it Tish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. June 27, 2003
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad