9 Reviews

Beautiful quiche! Easy to make and great for brunch or anytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gjsisson August 28, 2011

I used egg beaters and fat free half and half....I should have layed my tomatoes on paper towels before putting them in pie crust as mine was a little runny...but the taste was superb so I will be making this often...great recipe and easy...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 10, 2011

This was delicious - rich, creamy and very flavorful. From the other reviewers, I decided to add a bit of onion powder, sprinkled over the tomatoes before I layered the cheese. I also added a bit of fresh ground parmesan to the top before baking. It came out really good, crispy on the top and ooey-gooey on the inside, but firm - DH loved it and so did I, he just didn't like the fat content !! I will try this again, cutting down on the cream a bit and maybe trying it with different vegetables like asparagus, artichokes or roasted red peppers. Thanks for posting - this one goes into the keeper cookbook! Made for ZWT7 - Italy, and the HOT PINK LADIES!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative June 06, 2011

This was a perfect dish for brunch today. The flavors blended nicely yet you can distinguish each on it's own. I patted my tomato slices dry before layering them and baked the quiche about 40 minutes. I seasoned with just the suggested salt and pepper but I could see adding a small amount of garlic powder as well. Thank you for posting, we really enjoyed this recipe. Made for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. May 29, 2011

Along with others who made & reviewed this recipe, I used roma tomatoes (4 fair-size ones), seeded & sliced & followed the recipe after that! Easy to put together, & very enjoyable eating! This is certainly a keeper of a recipe ~ Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 29, 2009

This was an amazing quiche. Very creamy in the middle after 50 minutes, but fabulous nonetheless. Used 3 roma tomatoes. One of the best quiches I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT December 06, 2009

Great summer-time quiche! The only change I would make it to squeeze the juice out of the tomatoes. Instead of 2 regular tomatoes, I used three very big roma's which had quite a bit of juice, so my quiche was a little on the wet side. Even so, it was really great - you can't beat fresh basil and tomatoes! Mine baked for 50 minutes before being fully set.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI August 13, 2009

This quiche is wonderful! Ripe, organic tomatoes, fresh basil from my kitchen garden and shredded mozzarella are some of my favorite summer flavors! Who knew they would make such a fabulous quiche?!?! I followed the directions precisely and the result was excellent. I always seem to have trouble getting a good 'set' on my quiche without over-browning the top, but I found the egg/cream ratio and cooking guidelines here to be perfect. It fluffed up, set and had just started to turn golden-brown on top at 40 minutes. I will use this recipe again and again! Thank you Shuzbud, for a terrific post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva June 23, 2009

Oh yummy! We really enjoyed this quiche! I used roma tomatoes in this recipe, which stand up really well to baking. I used 1 cup of mozzarella and 1 cup provolone cheese. I didn't count the basil leaves, I probably didn't use the full amount. I did add fresh spinach. I can see there are many possibilities with veggies - I will likely add fresh mushrooms! Thank you for this delicious treat!! I will be making this often! Made for Newest Zaar Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom May 21, 2009
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Quiche