10 Reviews

Thanks for sharing this fantastic variation on meatballs. My family loves meatballs in general but I get tired of cooking the same thing over and over again. I used Italian Bread Crumbs and added a bit of parmesan in the meat mixture (I always do that with mine). I tossed the uncooked meatballs with my sauce into the crockpot and cooked on low all day. The meatballs stayed together, did not ooze cheese and had a very good flavor. I made a double batch and served with spaghetti the first day and made meatball subs the next. I strongly recommend doubling this recipe if you have meatball lovers at your table!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina December 20, 2006

I have to admit I was a bit nervous about the bottled dressing thing... but what the heck? I was searching for something other than my "go to" meatball recipe. Boy was I surprised when even my pickiest eater asked for seconds! I opted to cook the raw meatballs in the crockpot because I was short on time, but they were FABULOUS! Thank you for sharing the recipe! PS. I find that my stuffed meatballs have less chance of "exploding" if the meat and cheese are really cold before I cook them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathypoct2860 November 12, 2015

These are honestly the best meatballs i have ever made/tasted. This was the first recipe i tried from recipezaar and it is still one of my favorites. Even my boyfriend was raving to his friends about these meatballs. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hellokittylover October 27, 2008

I made these as an entree to have with Mediterranean Rice. My DS and I both loved these meatballs with such a nice surprise in the middle! These would be great as an appetizer for your next get together with friends or family for the holidays. Thank you for sharing with us Lainey! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen October 13, 2008

These meatballs were fantastic! I used Marinara Sauce for the marinara sauce and added alittle Italian Dressing Seasoning Dry Mix to the bread crumbs that I made out of one Kaiser hamburger bun. I also used 1Tbs of parsley flakes in place of the fresh parsley. I baked the meatballs in the oven for 20 minutes, turning halfway thru the baking and I added to the marinara sauce in the crockpot to keep them warm until dinner. This made for a delicious spaghetti and meatball dinner! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 06, 2008

Nice twist on the often boring meatball! I doubled the recipe & subbed a few things, hope you don't mind; used Italian breadcrumbs, fresh oregano and all ground beef. I also opted to bake them for 15 minutes at 400F. I didn't get all of them sealed well so a couple leaked some cheese. _I quickly ate them to destroy the evidence _ ;-) They were moist & flavorful! A portion of the recipe will be tonight's dinner and the rest are going to the freezer for use next week when we're tired of the Easter ham. Thanks for posting this inventive recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie April 03, 2007

This is based on DH and Grandson's opinion as I'm not huge on meatballs... I also used Italian bread crumbs. They stayed together well (something I've always struggled with), and according to the men, were AWESOME. Thanks for sharing, Congrats on your football pool win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo December 03, 2006

These were VERY GOOD! I used Progresso Italian Style Bread Crumbs (1 cup) over the cubed bread-other than that I followed your recipe to a T. Easy to make, yummy to eat. I nibbled on 2 and froze the rest for future dinners. Wouldnt change a thing! Thanks for Posting, Di

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's November 25, 2006

These were excellent Lainey, although I used garlic bread crumbs rather than pieces of cubed bread. Just something about larger pieces of bread in my meatballs or meatloaf that I do not care for. But even with that change, I was VERY happy with these and they make great meatball sandwiches! Thank you for a great recipe, and good luck this week! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*OzMan* November 25, 2006
Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs