11 Reviews

I made this dish this afternoon for dinner this evening, allowing it to chill for a couple hours before serving. I used Sweet Basil, fresh from my herb garden. I was a little nervous that DH wouldn't like it, but was pleasantly surprised when he cleaned his plate! I really enjoyed it myself, which I had expected. The colors contrasted so nicely; it was very eye appealing and had lots of flavor that blended extremely well. Best of all, it was quick and easy too! DH even commented on all of these features too. Thank you for sharing this moxie. It was great!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn June 16, 2003

I made this to accompany our burgers for the 4th. We really enjoyed this one. Different from the usual carrot raisin salad. Refreshing and sweet with a twist. (how would have ever thought to add fresh basil?)Easy to prepare and a great side! Moxie you knocked our socks off!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher July 12, 2003

This is a simple, refreshing salad! Definitely a nice change from the usual lettuce mix. I think I may try it without the basil next time, since my mother and I agreed it was a little bit overpowering. But it was still enjoyed by all. Thanks for a great recipe, Moxie! Update: I tried this again, over a year later, and had to up my rating to 5 stars. I doubled the rest of the recipe and left the basil the same and it was perfect for my family's tastes. I took it to a baby shower and got lots of compliments! Thanks again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree July 11, 2004

Just for the record, I used a can of Tropical fruit salad, "Fun Sea Shapes" instead of the pineapple. It is just papaya and pineapple cut into "fun sea shapes". I did not know if you were surpose to drain it so I did. I also used key lime juice because that is what I had. We loved this salad, very different and tasty. Leftovers for lunch was very good the next day.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff June 22, 2003

Delicious colourful salad. I didnt have any raisins so subbed sultanas. We really liked the flavours in the dressing, tart, sweet with that hint of ginger..scrummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 15, 2003

Sublimely simple and very refreshing. I used some well drained canned pineapple and some fresh basil direct from my garden. Limes are virtually unheard of in Israel, so I used lemon juice from a green lemon, and tossed in a little of the zest as well. This is going to become a staple at my weekend table!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj August 21, 2003

Delightful lunch. The dressing is wonderful. You just need a wee amount. I cut the recipe back to one serving. Doesn't this look like a Walking on Sunshine salad? Colorful makes it eye candy and taste wise MMmmm the ginger lime with a touch of honey is wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 25, 2010

Lovely recipe that helped me use up fresh pineapple and lots of things readily available in the tropics. Great when you want healthy food the kids will eat but don't want to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat October 11, 2007

This was good, we used fresh ginger. I think this helps keep this from becoming to sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud June 29, 2007

After a couple of bites we had enough. Very sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bernadette Irr October 13, 2004
Moxie's Walking on Sunshine Salad