Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moxie's Sumac Salmon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moxie's Sumac Salmon

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2004

      I love simple fish recipes and this certainly fits the bill! You can't get much easier than this with such excelllent results. The only change we made was to use super fresh tuna steaks we bought just about off the boat. I think fresh tuna and salmon sub very successfully though, so I don't feel too bad about doing it;-) *editing to say we make this still, and still with tuna as the photo will show!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      This recipe was great and easy to make. We grilled the salmon in tin foil, then put it on the grill for the last few minutes or so. We also had some tabouli on hand and added it as a topping, at room temperature. It was fantastic! I highly recommend tabouli as a topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      This was my first time using sumac. This preparation is flavorful and doesn't mask or compete with the wonderful flavor of the salmon. I think children may like it, and I also think if there is any leftover it could be just the ticket for a fantastic salmon dip or spread. Thanks to Moxie and Canarygirl for expanding my horizons...again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Certainly easy to make, which is always a plus around here! Maybe it was the type of sumac I used, but the topping was a bit gritty. Flavour nice though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      To us, the flavor of the sumac just made the fish taste "fishier". I'm sorry, but we didn't enjoy this combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Thank you Moxie for a wonderful recipe. This is without a doubt the best I have found on Zaar and there have been many. I have never used Sumac before, although I have had it in my pantry for a few months, sure wish I had used it sooner, we loved the tangy flavour. I doubled the sumac and balsamic and I added freshly ground black pepper as suggested by another reviewer. I have passed this recipe on to others, it is far too good not to share. Thanks Glen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      This was ok .. We felt that it was missing something .. It was however different than what we are used to! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      This had a nice, if unobtrusive, flavor. I prepared this just as stated, baking the salmon fillets in the oven at 450° for about 10 minutes. Next time I'll follow Jenny Sanders suggestion to use more of the sumac and vinegar (we like both quite alot). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This is my new favourite way to make salmon, although I use a fair bit more of both the sumac and the vinegar, and add crushed black pepper and a little sea salt. I've made this several times, adding grated lemon zest and sweet paprika as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moxie's Sumac Salmon

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.9
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    30%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 129.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground sumac

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes