9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love simple fish recipes and this certainly fits the bill! You can't get much easier than this with such excelllent results. The only change we made was to use super fresh tuna steaks we bought just about off the boat. I think fresh tuna and salmon sub very successfully though, so I don't feel too bad about doing it;-) *editing to say we make this still, and still with tuna as the photo will show!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 19, 2004

This recipe was great and easy to make. We grilled the salmon in tin foil, then put it on the grill for the last few minutes or so. We also had some tabouli on hand and added it as a topping, at room temperature. It was fantastic! I highly recommend tabouli as a topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koriander April 05, 2004

This was my first time using sumac. This preparation is flavorful and doesn't mask or compete with the wonderful flavor of the salmon. I think children may like it, and I also think if there is any leftover it could be just the ticket for a fantastic salmon dip or spread. Thanks to Moxie and Canarygirl for expanding my horizons...again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP January 24, 2004

Certainly easy to make, which is always a plus around here! Maybe it was the type of sumac I used, but the topping was a bit gritty. Flavour nice though...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreahorth January 28, 2010

To us, the flavor of the sumac just made the fish taste "fishier". I'm sorry, but we didn't enjoy this combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 22, 2009

Thank you Moxie for a wonderful recipe. This is without a doubt the best I have found on Zaar and there have been many. I have never used Sumac before, although I have had it in my pantry for a few months, sure wish I had used it sooner, we loved the tangy flavour. I doubled the sumac and balsamic and I added freshly ground black pepper as suggested by another reviewer. I have passed this recipe on to others, it is far too good not to share. Thanks Glen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninna September 11, 2006

This was ok .. We felt that it was missing something .. It was however different than what we are used to! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa April 04, 2005

This had a nice, if unobtrusive, flavor. I prepared this just as stated, baking the salmon fillets in the oven at 450° for about 10 minutes. Next time I'll follow Jenny Sanders suggestion to use more of the sumac and vinegar (we like both quite alot). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx January 19, 2005

This is my new favourite way to make salmon, although I use a fair bit more of both the sumac and the vinegar, and add crushed black pepper and a little sea salt. I've made this several times, adding grated lemon zest and sweet paprika as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders November 25, 2004
Moxie's Sumac Salmon