Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Movie Theatre Popcorn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Movie Theatre Popcorn

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2004

      This was really very good. I have to admit, though, I used it a bit more as a technique for re-heating leftover popcorn rather than just crisping fresh. I had leftovers from popping corn in my Whirley-Pop (love the thing) and I'm not a tremendous fan of cold popcorn. So, we stuck it in the oven at 200* for about 2 hours (BH got really impatient and kept asking me "What in the world are you doing to that popcorn!?!" so I couldn't do it longer.) Crispity, crunchity- delightful. I really like this technique as well, because making popcorn with my Whirley-Pop is an active activity (redundant, I know). I have to stand there and turn the crank and be there. However, if I pop it earlier and then pop it in the oven, I can do whatever else I need to do and rely on the fact that I will have lovely hot, crunchy popcorn when I want it. Popcorn is also very high in fiber, making it a great snack for kids. I imagine that this would be a good technique to use to make popcorn earlier in the day, stick it in the oven and have a great hot snack all ready for your kids when they get home from school. Thanks for posting, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      This recipe has become my HOTTEST tip for 2004! I'm always on a quest for making great popcorn and had absolutely no idea that popcorn would get better after a little time in a slow oven. Like toasting nuts, the popcorn is crisper and the flavor really comes through. Thank You Geema, for sharing your family secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I was very impressed with this "recipe". I used air-popped popcorn and baked it for almost 2 hours. It was so much yummier and crispier than usual. I am going to use this technique regularly. The only drawback is that you have to be patient!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      How cool is this!Made it for "Survivor" night this past Thursday and it was awesome. What a neat idea. I made enough popcorn to fill a deep dish 13x9 pan cooked it for 2 hours @200 and used 1/2 cup melted butter, salt and seasoned salt. A keeper:)--PeggyLynn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Absolutely scrumptious. I made two microwave popcorns. 1 fat free and one with butter and then put them in 220 oven for 1 hour and put salt and butter on both and they were fantastic. I think next time I will keep the fat free one in the oven for an extra hour but they were both yummy! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      I can't say enough good about this! 1. It's given our microwave popper a new lease on life, so we're eating healthier popcorn now. 2. I can make popcorn in advance and not all at the last minute (nice because we usually go through 3 batches.) 3. The popcorn gets crisper and the flavor gets a bit nuttier. 4. I never thought of using olive oil on popcorn, but I found a very light olive oil and it's working great. I use butter salt for the seasoning and we are enjoying great tasting popcorn. 4. Unseasoned leftover popcorn still tastes fresh the next day. Just put it in a Ziploc and there's no stale taste. Thanks for this great method!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      This was really good, nice and crisp. I used Orville Redenbacher's smart pop low fat. I cooked it for about 2 hours. I just sprayed it with I can't believe it's not butter spray. It made for a nice low fat snack. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I can't say that I'm a popcorn connoisseur but my husband loved this! I used my hot air popper, baked for one hour (he wouldn't wait any longer), added melted butter & seasoned with sea salt. Just add a flick, watered-down Coke and your movie night is complete - thanx Geema!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      Worth the effort and time. I left it in the oven for two and a half hours and it came out crisp and light. I'm looking forward to making it again and leaving it in longer. Topped it with melted butter and kosher salt. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      Yum! Possibly the best popcorn I've ever had...I ate a whole large bowl and wanted more. I have to admit to being quite skeptical about this method but was curious enough to give it a try and cannot believe how good it turned out. I added a bit of butter flavored popcorn salt to the kernels before popping. Then, after it was in the oven for about 90 minutes, and just before eating, I sprayed it with Smart Balance Buttery Burst spray. So good! This may be the only way I fix popcorn anymore. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      What fantastic popcorn this method produces. I am amazed that such a simple method can make such a difference. My DH is a popcorn freak. He can eat the largest bowl Tupperware makes filled with popcorn in one sitting. What happens though, he says he is going to put a movie on and would I make some popcorn. So I am preparing popcorn and he is sitting relaxed watching the movie. Now I make it and put it i large zip lock bags and it stays fresh and crunchy for days even up to a week. I have even made it ahead and taken it camping to eat while we sit by the fire. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe it has made my popscorn making days much simpler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Made popcorn in the Whirley-pop as I usually do then put it in the oven on 250 for 45 mins. I got compliments from my husband. Thanks for making our popcorn tastier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I am a popcorn fiend. This was excellent. What I love most is that lately the popcorn I've been buying from the store is stale and that is frustrating. But this crisps them right up. Add in whatever fun flavoring you want: olive oil or butter, salt, pepper, taco seasoning, brown sugar, you name it. It turns out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      YUMMMM! The only way I vary from the recipe is to put the toppings on before I put the popcorn into the oven. I'm one for the classics in that I only use butter and salt. I think the taste of the butter on the popcorn is enhanced even more while it bakes. Delicious! I actually prefer this popcorn over movie theatre popcorn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I wouldn't say that this tastes exactly like movie theatre popcorn. However, it is a nice technique for crisping popcorn. If you've ever had popcorn that wasn't crisp enough, then this is the trick for solving that problem. It also works great for reviving stale popcorn. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Sorry to be the deal breaker here, but I have to say that I didn't really notice enough of a difference to justify me spending this kind of time on popcorn again. The consistency was exactly the same after two hours, I think I'll pass on this recipe next time, but thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      The secret is out!!! I used Jolly-Time Blast-O-Butter microwave popcorn and, after two hours in the oven, the taste of the salt and butter seemed even more enhanced. Five stars!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      This was so cool, lol. :) I used 2 bags of ACT II Butter microwave popcorn and baked this at 200 F for about 4 1/2 hours. Crispy! Would have prob turned out crispier had my popcorn not already been doused in butter; but that was the brand I had on hand. I still had to add a little I Can't Believe it's Not Butter Spray and a tsp of salt. This was alo nice b/c I didn't have to babysit this while it baked, but I did keep sticking my fingers in and taste-testing every h half hour or so! The only other way I really prefer my popcorn is stovetop w/oil; I don't have an air-popper otherwise I'd use that instead of stovetop. But th is is a great way to crisp up just-cooked popcorn, or leftover popcorn. I won't be hesitant to save leftover popcorn this time. :) Great also to make-ahead. Thank you bunches Geema! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      This works! We left it in the oven nearly two hours, and each kernal was crispy and delicious. Now I just need to know how to make that "butter" they use... Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Thanks for sharing a family secret recipe. I made this last night (with the butter & salt) and it was yummy. I'm going to try keeping it in the oven for 2 hours next time because I think 1 hour wasn't quite enough to get all the flavor. My family thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Movie Theatre Popcorn

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites