12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've used this one twice now- always get good reviews from my husband and guests. :) I too double the herb amount. I also add sweet onion and a cut up granny smith apple inside the bird. I also make a little extra herb mix, but with chicken broth. I boil it- and let it cool- then use it for basting and one injection. Love love love this recipe!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia Lyn December 15, 2010

All I can say is WOW! I usedthis for a 23 lb turkey. I increased the amount of herbs to 1 tablespoon each, used Extra virgin olive oil and omitted the broth due to allergies. I did put 1 medium sweet onion in the cavity of the bird too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerbare November 22, 2009

The turkey was so delicious! I used a 10 lb bird. I was quite a bit nervous that the turkey would turn out dry since the instructions said tho bast it only once, but it was so yummy! It was moist and so flavorful! This was only my second time cooking a turkey, and it turned out much better thanks to this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k k Nye December 12, 2008

I have used this recipe for two Thanksgiving turkeys, it is delicious and the hot water trick really works to keep the meat moist. Thanks so much for the recipe it never fails to satisfy!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzyGirl09 November 08, 2012

This was my first Christmas turkey to make on my own. I loved the seasoning/herb flavor. It was tender too. I'll admit it, we even ate the skin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharpjessi January 02, 2012

Absolutely an Amazing turkey, wonderfully flavorful and moist, my picky children even loved it. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Selene42 November 27, 2011

My husband used this recipe for Thanksgiving today. It was by far the best turkey I have ever eaten. The meat was juicy and the spices were phenomenal. The only thing he did differently was he put cloves of garlic in the cavity and where the legs met the body of the bird. Thank you for the recipe, it will be used again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess November 24, 2011

i made this last year (2009) it was sooo good and moist, the flipping thing in the middle really make it come out great! this is the first year that my husband has requested i do it a certian way and it was this way. thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marjiepi November 23, 2010

This was so delicious we will not have turkey another way. I did brine the turkey first with Kittencal's Brown Sugar Turkey Brine. This was the most moist flavorful turkey ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraram.z December 16, 2008

Loved the cooking method of pouring hot water over the Turkey In fact the one I have been using for the last couple of years is done this way. We didn't really care for the herbs under the skin and the cooking breast down first didn't really work for me. Seemed to stick a bit. My bird was 16 lbs and not stuffed. I cooked it for 3 hours flipped it and it was almost done. But the skin was not crisp. I will probably be making my normal Turkey in the future. Thanks for letting me try your recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 29, 2008
Mouthwatering Herb Roasted Turkey