26 Reviews

This is a great mousse. But I'm updating my review for other novices like me. I can never look at a recipe and see what should be done ahead of time. So I hope this helps someone else: 1. Whip the cream first and set aside. 2. Separate the eggs and whip the whites and set aside. 3. Start melting the chocolate (if you're like me and using a double boiler). 4. Start the sugar/water combo. Then follow from there. Doing it this way has saved my sanity. I use all the egg whites instead of tossing 2. And I omit the GM and the coffee.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amazon0313 July 17, 2008

I dislike mousse that is heavy like pudding(If I wanted pudding I would make it) but this mousse is smooth and creamy(in my oppinion like mousse should be). I ommited the coffee and grand marnier and it was still soo good. This recipe makes a lot but I dont think any will go to waste;) just one note DONT add the egg yolk mixture to the hot chocolate it will seize. Thanks for posting the perfect mousse recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan June 15, 2009

Perfect texture (I've used ll the eggs white), makes a huge batch (cut in half if you're a small family) of both mousse and dishes to wash. I'm lactose intolerant so I used margarine (Earth Balance) instead of butter and NutriWhip instead of heavy cream. Note: do not add the whole sugar syrup if using NutriWhip, it makes the preparation way too sweet! I found the coffee taste overwhelming as well, I will try without it next time. This mousse recipe is a keeper! It's a great base to vanilla / butterscotch as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unrising Muffin April 05, 2011

Yum! We licked the bowl clean:) My friend Colleen doesn't even like chocolate mousse and she thought it was to die for!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baking&biking February 25, 2007

This is a fabulous mousse recipe! I used all espresso (no coffee) and Three Olives Triple Shot Espresso vodka instead of Grand Marnier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter April 22, 2012

I've never had chocolate mousse before, probably b/c I thought it would taste like pudding. Well, I was incredibly wrong. This is a light airy cream with a deep, rich dark chocolate flavor. I love love love this! Note: Dont cook the sugar syrup mixture too long or it becomes chunky and wont blend into the yolk mixture, I threw in the extra whites too and it made just a tad more volume-wise, also I let my chocolate cool a bit too long and it didnt mix in well, I had small chocolate pieces floating around but this didnt affect the wonderful chocolate flavor at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdavenport November 29, 2011

Truly a lovely creamy chocolate dessert that is bound to be a hit with all chocolate lovers (and who isn't other than my very own DH) I love coffee and chocolate together but even for us it was just a tad to much and think next time I'll cut it down and just use the expresso and leave of the strong coffee. That said it's one of the nicest mousse's I've made - but WOW, what a LOT of dishes. Think I'll make this for my next company dinner - it's bound to impress and thankfully (with all the dishes) can be made ahead of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 10, 2011

This was so smooth and amazing! We added a bit more whipped cream with powdered sugar but everyone raved over it. It tasted as good as those layered boogie desserts you see at the gourmet bakeries!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF RENEE' April 19, 2011

Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethie Crocker February 15, 2010

This is wonderful! I have now made this twice and found the review about the beginning order of preparing the ingredients to be very helpful. The recipe is not really difficult, just make for a lot of washing up ... but is worth if for company or special occasions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews February 04, 2010
Mousse au Chocolat (Chocolate mousse)