Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mousse au Chocolat (Chocolate mousse) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mousse au Chocolat (Chocolate mousse)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2008

      This is a great mousse. But I'm updating my review for other novices like me. I can never look at a recipe and see what should be done ahead of time. So I hope this helps someone else: 1. Whip the cream first and set aside. 2. Separate the eggs and whip the whites and set aside. 3. Start melting the chocolate (if you're like me and using a double boiler). 4. Start the sugar/water combo. Then follow from there. Doing it this way has saved my sanity. I use all the egg whites instead of tossing 2. And I omit the GM and the coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I dislike mousse that is heavy like pudding(If I wanted pudding I would make it) but this mousse is smooth and creamy(in my oppinion like mousse should be). I ommited the coffee and grand marnier and it was still soo good. This recipe makes a lot but I dont think any will go to waste;) just one note DONT add the egg yolk mixture to the hot chocolate it will seize. Thanks for posting the perfect mousse recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Perfect texture (I've used ll the eggs white), makes a huge batch (cut in half if you're a small family) of both mousse and dishes to wash. I'm lactose intolerant so I used margarine (Earth Balance) instead of butter and NutriWhip instead of heavy cream. Note: do not add the whole sugar syrup if using NutriWhip, it makes the preparation way too sweet! I found the coffee taste overwhelming as well, I will try without it next time. This mousse recipe is a keeper! It's a great base to vanilla / butterscotch as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Yum! We licked the bowl clean:) My friend Colleen doesn't even like chocolate mousse and she thought it was to die for!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This is a fabulous mousse recipe! I used all espresso (no coffee) and Three Olives Triple Shot Espresso vodka instead of Grand Marnier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I've never had chocolate mousse before, probably b/c I thought it would taste like pudding. Well, I was incredibly wrong. This is a light airy cream with a deep, rich dark chocolate flavor. I love love love this! Note: Dont cook the sugar syrup mixture too long or it becomes chunky and wont blend into the yolk mixture, I threw in the extra whites too and it made just a tad more volume-wise, also I let my chocolate cool a bit too long and it didnt mix in well, I had small chocolate pieces floating around but this didnt affect the wonderful chocolate flavor at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Truly a lovely creamy chocolate dessert that is bound to be a hit with all chocolate lovers (and who isn't other than my very own DH) I love coffee and chocolate together but even for us it was just a tad to much and think next time I'll cut it down and just use the expresso and leave of the strong coffee. That said it's one of the nicest mousse's I've made - but WOW, what a LOT of dishes. Think I'll make this for my next company dinner - it's bound to impress and thankfully (with all the dishes) can be made ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      This was so smooth and amazing! We added a bit more whipped cream with powdered sugar but everyone raved over it. It tasted as good as those layered boogie desserts you see at the gourmet bakeries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This is wonderful! I have now made this twice and found the review about the beginning order of preparing the ingredients to be very helpful. The recipe is not really difficult, just make for a lot of washing up ... but is worth if for company or special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Fabulous choice for anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Amazing!! My youngest son would love to Thank-you for this recipe, he almost ate the whole thing by himself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

    • on June 14, 2007

      Mmmm Heavenly really is the only word to describe this delicious mousse! I've made mousse before and always found it heavy and too filling but this was light and tasted like more!! Served it sprinkled with grated white chocolate and strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      Delicious! I made this for my daughters French class and it was a big hit. It required a sink full of dishes; but was well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      This is OHMYGAWD!! I found this recipe to be a lot easier than it looks, had to use a few bowls but WOW! The end result was fabulous. Everyone loved it. DH, a chocolate lover can't stay away from it. The only change I made was I used the "extra" egg whites with the other 2 as I didn't want to waste them and I used Kahlua instead of Grand Mariner. This one's a keeper. The best Chocolate Mousse I've ever had, and I'm an expert on chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      Hey there, Mean. Just as the other recipes, of yours, I'v tried, this wonderful. This was my first time to make mousse and your instructions were simple. The only thing I did differently was substitute Grand Marnier with Cape Velvet (a South AFrican cream liquor which goes great with coffee). This was smooth, light and very pleasing to the pallet. Very rich. I had quite a bit left over, so I put them in pop sickle molds to have for later. Thank you, Mean, for yet another delicious treat. LeeAnn PS....just an update. Made this again, yesterday. Went ahead and used the 2 egg yolks from the 2 extra whites (didn't want to waist them). I also put crushed Pecan Sandie cookies in the bottom of ramikens before dishing up. SCRUMPTIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Although this was good, I did not care for the coffee flavor. I believe next time I'm going to omit the coffee and see how it tastes. However the texture was wonderful and if I think it tastes better when I omit the coffee, I'll give you more stars. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This is really easy to make in spite of what appears to be a complicated recipe. It is REALLY rich and we can't eat much at a time. I made it once with the grand marnier and once without. It was just delicious either way. I think next time I make it, though, I will half the recipe. It's almost too much of a good thing unless company is coming over or something!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This is very tasty and easy to make. I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mousse au Chocolat (Chocolate mousse)

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.5
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    82%
    Total Fat 43.8 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 26.5 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 256.5 mg
    85%
    Sodium 60.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes