Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moussaka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moussaka

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-50 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2006

      This tasted incredible. Probably the best tasting moussaka I've made. Yet still easier than other recipes I've tried. We made the bechamel sauce with whole wheat flour and it still tasted great. We also happened to use very lean ground beef which I think provides an interesting texture contrast with the creamy bechamel sauce. I've had moussaka that was too moist throughout. We used spicy red pepper Classico tomato sauce, which seemed to work well. We didn't add any salt, which the butter, cheese and breadcrumbs should be able to supply. It tasted great without it. This is definitely not possible to do in anything like 45 minutes. That should be corrected. Its more like 1:45. Also, for shopping purposes, it would be great to put the perishables (meat and vegetables) first in the ingredients list ahead of seasonings and other ingredients that most people won't shop for (perhaps this is a RecipeZaar-wide comment though).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Mine didn't come out quite as pretty as some of the other pics, but the taste is magnificent, even better than what's served at our local Greek restaurants. Other commenters are right, don't skimp on the kalamatas for maximum flavor. On my second attempt making this recipe, I increased the bechamel ingredients again by half, and omitted the 1/4 cup olive oil, and it came out even better with more distinct layers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I and my daughter really enjoyed this recipe. My husband had his normal comment about my cooking that"it was okay". I mistakenly did not have any kalamata olives so substituted the small amount of green olives I had. I look forward to making it again when I have the correct olives as most everyone has said they were what made the recipe so good. It was really good without them also, so if you don't like olives, don't let that stop you from making this recipe. Thank you for another addition to my favorites list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Mine didn't turned out as beautiful as Thorsten's picture. I layered potato then eggplant, bread crumbs, cheese, meat sauce, bread crumbs, cheese, bechamel. Repeat with eggplant. Mixture was too many for my 8x12 baking pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      Wow what a great recipe. I have never made moussaka before and am so glad to have found this recipe. I had some precooked ground beef in the freezer, that I had previously boiled and rinsed(we are trying to cut down on our fat intake) and I used that so I did not use the first amount of olive oil listed, but just sprayed a little Pam on the pan. I did not have any kefalograviera cheese so I used mozzarella and it turned out well. My husband who loves moussaka told me this is the best he has ever had. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      This is great. It was the first time, that I have made Moussaka on my own and I was hesitant about the time to made it. But the outcome was so delicious, that I will do it again. I followed the instructions and it worked perfectly. I love the flavour of cinnamon in this recipe and the taste of the olives. The three different cheese varieties in this dish avoid that the cheese taste will be dominant. The three different ones add different flavours, great. Can be easily make in advance and for a large number of guests. Your guests will be pleased by this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Absolutely the best moussaka I've ever made! You should definitely drain the fat from the ground lamb. This recipe is a real crowd pleaser. Thank you Evelyn for making my dinner party a great success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      Truly amazing. I order Moussaka whenever I can find it on a menu. This is the best version that I've ever tried. I did make half of the recipe vegetarian by substituting grated eggplant and portabello mushrooms for the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Once again, we have a winner! I have to tell you that I absolutely HATE eggplant, but I loved this moussaka. I thought that every one of Evelyn's recipes has been "exspectacular" so far, so I'll give this a trY (my boyfriend wanted moussaka). I couldn't believe how good it was. The eggplant was not slippery and the cheddar cheese gave it alot of pizzaz! My niece helped me - she fried the potatoes. It is so worth the work - alot of steps, but your patience and time spent will be well rewarded. Once again, thank you Evelyn for another delicious recipe. Wendy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      This was SOOOO good, anyone that is hesitant to make it because of ingredients or prep time don't be!! The process actually went quite quickly, the only thing I did differently was to leave out the breadcrumbs as we try not to eat them(evelyn ok'ed). When I first looked over the recipe I though it looked looked like every other lasagna type dish I've seen, well it is not! The meat is so well flavored, much more so than anything I have had before and the bechamel sauce is heavenly! No more sprinkling plain cheese over the top of anything for me! This was my first time making eggplant and evelyn steered me to a winner, you made a convert out of me! Thanks for the terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moussaka

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    54%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 158.5 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1279.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kefalograviera cheese

    kasseri cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites