Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moussaka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moussaka

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      Worth every moment of prep time! I have to admit that I've never been able to broil the eggplant without setting off the fire alarm, so I'll be grilling in the future. The only change I've made is to leave out the olives since my cooking partner hasn't learn to appreciate them yet! Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This is wonderful!! I did make 1.5 times the bechamel sauce and may make double next time, and I added a sprinkle of nutmeg to it. I layered everything but the bechamel earlier in the day and kept the bechamel in another container until ready to bake... it was fine. I used ground beef because I was making lamb gyros as well, but I bet it would be great with lamb. I did skip the bread crumbs because one guest has a gluten problem... it was just fine without it. (I thickened the bechamel with corn starch... you use half the amount mixed in a little cold water or milk and add after the milk.) AND try grilling the eggplant... it makes wonderful, dry, brown slices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      This is just fabulous! I am embarrassed to admit how many times I have made this without reviewing it - my serious bad! We have always layered the eggplant & the taters - at this point, it is good to reduce them to that single wonderful parboiled layer. Clever as they are still there to be savored having soaked up deliciousness & giving stability for slicing & lifting. We grill our eggplant in 1/2 inch slices lightly brushed with olive oil & use them in this recipe. I admit I have never once used the cheddar cheese but have not altered otherwise. The bechamel sauce comes together fast & is out of this world. We do add a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg but that is the only alteration. Freezes great! I bring frozen pieces when I am on contract to reheat - makes some days worth doing. Thank you for another great recipe Evelyn. It is in our go-to file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      We loved this moussaka recipe, Evelyn! It is well worth the effort and the length of time that it takes to cook. Don't be deterred by the long list of ingredients--the recipe is not difficult to make at all. I used ground lamb and since I had tomato sauce that was unseasoned, I just added a little extra basil, oregano and salt to the recipe. I like that this recipe is different from some of the other moussaka recipes on Zaar in that it includes kalamata olives and potatoes, both of which lent themselves well to the dish. I definitely think lamb is the way to go with this dish as well. I am putting this in my keeper file. DH and I feasted on it last night for dinner and enjoyed a hearty lunch of leftovers today. I think I will have to take your word on the freezing part, because I don't think after lunch tomorrow, I will have any left to freeze! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Really enjoyed this one, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This really is superb and the balance of flavors excellent. I did halve the recipe with great success, using an 8x8 square pan. Thank you Evelyn/Athens for shring the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Loved it. I made it with ground turkey for a leaner meat my husband will eat. Still tasted great and worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

    • on July 28, 2008

      I read 45 minutes on the cook time and though "no problem" sadly... this took BOTH me and the handsome man using 3 burners, the broiler, and the oven around 2 1/2 - 3 hours to make I was upset.. but WOW this is amazing! We took one bite and both smiled. He told me never to make it again and that it was easier to drive the hour to the Greek place we eat at than it was to cook this. Then he tasted it LOL he said he can help but we need to make it again and soon. We both LOVED IT. It is rather time consuming but WOW! I used 1lb of ground beef and 1lb of ground lamb. I thought I had seasoned breadcrumbs but I was out so I used Panko then added italian seasonings to taste. Another excellent recipe Evelyn thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This was heavenly, I used beef as we cant get ground lamb locally, also added some red wine, and used homemade tomato sauce and fresh herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Wow, Having tried so many recipes, and believe me it's a lot. I have found my keeper, I loved the inclusion of the olives which I have never seen in any other recipes. This was amazing and not that hard to make. Thanks Ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Excellent recipe and I enjoyed the finished product immensely. I made half quantity and it worked out fine. I also used tinned diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Next time I think I will add some red wine to the meat sauce as per some of the other Moussaka recipes (and then reduce it so it's not too runny) to make it a little richer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

    • on October 29, 2007

      I have always wanted a 'real' recipe for Moussaka and this is it! I've been to Greece (Athens) and to a couple of Greek islands and Moussaka has always had potato at the bottom. So many recipes don't even mention potato! This was so like the REAL thing! Thank you again Evelyn for yet another yummy recipe! The only thing I added was a pinch of dried mint. I will post a photo later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      We were recently visiting our Greek friends in Dallas and they took us to a Greek restaurant. DH had this dish and thought it was wonderful. I knew that I could count on you to provide me with a fantastic duplicate recipe. According to DH your recipe was perfect. This was made in 3 disposal loaf pans of which 2 were frozen for a later time. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I added 1/2-3/4 cup of red wine to the recipe, and I only used a little bit of cheddar cheese and Parmesan in the moussaka. I also grilled the eggplant. It came out wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      This was fantastic! Would you believe that I had kefalograviera cheese in my fridge... so I was happy to use it up and it was amazing! Really great idea adding eggs to the bechamel sauce. I also used butternut pumpkin instead of potato which was outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Easy instructions & fantatic flavours. The only thing I did differently is to obmit the olives until putting togther, then put them in only half of the dish and marked the top with olives as an indicator of which half had olives in. My childen don't like olives. It was a hit!! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Thank you Evelyn for this outstanding recipe. My husband has been going on about finding the right Moussaka recipe for ages. This hit the spot with raves from everyone. I only had ordinary black olives and parmesan and I used a mix of beef and lamb which seemed to work perfectly. What a great family dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I have drooled over Evelyns recipes, and I finally tried one! This is amazing, and I followed it exactly! I cannot wait to try more of your recipes! Thanks so much for sharing, will be on regular rotation in my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moussaka

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    54%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 158.5 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1279.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kefalograviera cheese

    kasseri cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes