Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mother's Cabbage Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mother's Cabbage Relish

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2002

      I do not eat raw cabbage. BUT Hubby does. He had a taste before dinner. Then 3 hours later had it for dinner. After that I found at the refrig. with the bowl in his lap eat it with the refrig. door open for light. That means he loves it. Thank You very much for the recipe that my hubby loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Lee Lee - this is wonderful. We loved the tart flavor with barbeque - its better than cole slaw we thought because its lighter and more tangy tart. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      This is a wonderful recipe and is more like a vinegar based slaw! It does go wonderfully with barbeque and I should know because I grew up eating this exact recipe because Lee Lee is my Mom! This is a recipe that was passed to Lee Lee by her mom. The use of the food processor will make the preparation of the cabbage much simpler. I would recommend this recipe to anyone preparing barbeque as this is the perfect complement side dish! Thanks for sharing this recipe with the world, Mom!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is a superb slaw that has just the right balance of sweetness and tartness. It goes great with almost any dish and will especially liven up main dishes that are bland. I have eaten it all by itslef as a snack. It is refreshing, filling and healthful! Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      This is a wonderful relish, Lee Lee...it's very easy to put together, and, the ingredients are almost always on hand in my house. We love the tart/sweet taste, and it goes great with any entree. Thanks so much for sharing. LC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Just updating my review as I made it again the other night. It's as fabulous as the first time and I have filed it away for my regular cole slaw. I forgot all about it and realized I haven't made it in 5 years. That will change. We had it the other night and I'm amazed at how long it keeps in the fridge. It worked perfectly this time as the last. I didn't have tumeric, so I doubled the mustard powder. Tasted great! ============= You know something? It is VERY rare to find a recipe where it actually turns out perfectly with the exact measurements as specified in the recipe! This is one of those rare cases! I followed the recipe to a T and it was absolutely FANTASTIC! I used half a head EACH of green and purple cabbage to give it a nice color. The equal measurements of vinegar and sugar gave a perfect tart and tangy flavor. I did make a boo boo where I didn't shred the cabbage like you do for coleslaw, instead, I broke it into bite sized pieces (I sure miss my food processor, but that's ANOTHER story!) and let it sit in the fridge for several hours before serving. Even though the cabbage pieces were bite sized, the flavor from the dressing absorbed very well. Leftovers the next day were even better! Next time I make it, I might add some shredded carrots and some raisins to see how that turns out as well as shred the cabbage properly. I served this for Easter dinner with 1. Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes (#19259) 2. Roast Chicken (#24062) 3. Asparagus Salad (#88014) DH raved about the entire dinner and I'm pleased that I made yet another fantastic holiday dinner solely with recipes from Zaar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Extremely easy, good with just about anything and keeps well! And as a bonus, healthy, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Have to agree - this is a great recipe. Made half to give it a try - it is so good, will be using it for our next BBQ ... know I will need to make more the next time around! The sugar and vinegar balance well, along with the ingredients this makes for a wonderful addition to any meal. Added to my favorites to enjoy again - and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      Very pretty and quite tasty! This met with rave reviews from Mom's group! This is definitely a keeper. Very close to my favorite PA Dutch pepper cabbage but prettier and with a slightly different flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I have to agree with the other reviewers, this is a great recipe! I've never used turmeric, but had some from my MIL. I halved the recipe bc I only had half a head of cabbage, and used my food processor to "chop" all the ingredients. Very simple, very tasty. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mother's Cabbage Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.8
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    29%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 45.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 60.2 g
    241%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites