11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! One of our family favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Pierce December 09, 2010

we really liked these! pretty much meatloaf in ball form

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama October 17, 2009

Rated 5 stars by all the family - high praise indeed . The only change I made was to halve the sugar. I served the meatballs with corn bread. Fabulous recipe !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew April 07, 2009

These meatballs were absolutely delicious! I made them for dinner tonight and they were a hit. I used teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce because that was all I had available, and I used 3 slices of bread. Also, I browned the meatballs in the oven and they didn't get dried out at all. Thank you so much for this recipe! I will definitely be making it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michal Hassan February 25, 2009

Wow it's delicious. I just ate one meatball. They're so tender. I omitted the onion cause of my fussy BF LOL but used 1 tsp of flaked onion. I used 3 small slices of bread. I browned them 10 minutes in the oven. For the sauce I used almost 1/4 cup ketchup (cause that's all I got) and 3/4 cup chili sauce : 1 cup total (enough liquid). I used Soy Sauce Substitute instead of soy sauce. I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3 teaspoon dijon mustard. Thanks Pattikay :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 01, 2008

These meatballs were enjoyed at our table tonight. I made large meatballs and browned them in the oven for about 15 minutes. I think next time I would use a little more onion in the beef or perhaps add some to the sauce. I only had about 1/2 enough ketchup (I was making a double recipe) so subbed with tomato sauce. It seemed fine to me and wasn't too sweet. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV January 20, 2008

These were pretty good. I used ground turkey and Sucanat (for the brown sugar). I would probably use brown sugar next time (I didn't have any and Sucanat is a sub.) as the sauce seemed a little too runny. Used 3 slices homamade whole wheat. The meatballs were really soft and wet, so I decided to try the oven method for browning. Aside from them coming out a bit flat on the bottom, it turned out well. I might cut back a bit on the soy sauce next time too. Planning to have these (just tried them) with noodles. I got about 32 meatballs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 19, 2008

These were really good!!! I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 egg, and the meat was not too wet...perfect!!! Browned them on the stovetop. I added less brown sugar and extra mustard...yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 05, 2007

This meatball dish was wonderful pattikay, we loved them. The meatballs were very moist which made them a little tricky to work with, but oh, so worth the extra effort :yummy:. I did add 1 extra slice of bread, I also used sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. These big, tender and flavourful meatballs were nestled in a delicious sweet sauce. Thanks so much to you and your MIL for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 23, 2007

The meatball were extremely moist. I think I will maybe chill the meat mixture next time before browning it to make it a little more solid. The kids and the "man" really liked it, but it was a little too sweet for me, I'll probably reduce the sugar next time (maybe by 1/2 a cup). I used 1 tsp of salt and 1/8 tsp pepper in the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjerusha January 20, 2007
Mother-In-Law's Barbecued Meatballs