Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mother Goose Popcorn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mother Goose Popcorn

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2012

      I used less than half of the sauce and salted it. I think this sauce recipe would work for 3 or 4 times as much popcorn!!!! I was skeptical about this recipe. It is quick and easy way to make some sweet popcorn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      A little too sugary not my favorite but it did look festive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Love This Recipe! My mom always made mother goose popcorn when I was a kid. Her recipe calls for twice the milk and boiling the syrup till 230 degrees. I don't like waiting for syrup to cook so I was thrilled to find this recipe. It worked perfectly for me. I did STIR it until it boiled and continued boiling for a minute or two. It wasn't sticky at all. I have an air popper that pops 1/2 cup of kernels (about7 cups popped) and I thought it was the perfect amount. I like it heavily coated though. I simply stirred until it started to cool and it set up and had the perfect mother goose popcorn texture I've always loved. I made it for Halloween and flavored the orange colored batch with orange and the purple batch with vanilla. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      yummy vanilla popcorn. i took "kissthecookagain's suggestion and halved the milk and sugar mixture. i think that worked out perfectly. it did take quite a while for it to dry, but it DID dry. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Yummy sweet popcorn! Made for a Valentines day treat for my daughter's class. Tinted pink and it was perfect. I needed to package in individual baggies, and it was quite sticky. So I baked it at 250 for ab out 15 minutes and it hardened the coating. Perfect snack! My daughter wants me to make multiple batches and tint different colors for rainbow popcorn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This is very festive and pretty much tastes like sugary popcorn. I don't think it holds a candle to caramel popcorn, but it is much better for you. So if you want a sweet, pretty popcorn, this is for you. I made it green for St. Patty's Day. I did half the milk mixture and one batch of popcorn for me was 12 cups. I thought I would have to make more of the sugar mixture but it turned out ok. I would suggest halve all the ingredients but do about 10 cups of popcorn. Or 12 if you want it more lightly coated. This would be pretty at Christmas, but I always make white chocolate peppermint popcorn for our neighbors. Thanks for a fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I halved the milk/sugar mixture and still had too much liquid for the popcorn. We still poured it all on and just dumped the popcorn onto wax paper to cool. It seemed so sticky, we decided to form it into popcorn balls! So much fun! The kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I had to pop more popcorn to use all the syrup-it may have been a lighter coating than the recipe intended, but I coated 32 cups with some syrup still puddled in the bottom of the bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful. For a twist try adding unsweetened punch powder to recipe for a very flavorful treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I halved the recipe but could easily have done the 8 cups of popcorn with what I ended up with. I did 6 and it was fairly heavily coated. Still, it turned out very nice and dried fairly quickly. I used paste food colouring and ended up with a vibrant pink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This was really tasty! I decided against the colouring as I was making it for grown ups (maybe another time I'll colour it). There was a bit too much liquid so I just popped extra corn and stirred it in. Lovely thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I liked the basic idea but had problems with the recipe. Even with about 3 cups more popcorn, there was just too much liquid and the popcorn shriveled up. I had to pop it in the oven just to get it dry enough to eat. The flavor was good and the color was quite attractive, though, so I'll try it again. Maybe it was too humid (I live in Houston), maybe I didn't cook the syrup long enough, maybe it just needed a whole lot more popcorn. I'm open to suggestions! In any event, thanks, Narshmellow, for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      This was really good. A lowfat alternative to caramel corn (you could probably use brown sugar if you wanted more of that taste). My daughter thought it smelled like marshmallows. It was crunchy and sweet, but not over-coated like some caramel corn I have tried. I will definitely make this again since it was tasty and easy to make.Thanks Narshmellow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      Yippee!!! Yummy!!! I think I'm in love. I added about 3-4 times more vanilla since I do adore it so.I played with my colors and did mine a pinky lilac color.And I'm drying mine on wax paper instead. I can see it now,Christmas time..perfect feature in my homemade gift baskets red and green popcorn shining through clear bags with silver and gold bows! Thakn you so much Narshmellow for posting this simple but wonderfully creative and versitle recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mother Goose Popcorn

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.4
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    51%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 17.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.0 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 100.0 g
    400%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites