28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW! Sooo awesome. I made the full recipe, but switched out one of the quarts of heavy whipping cream with Half & Half. I also didn't have any tomatos, so I threw in a jar of Barilla. This recipe is foodgasm worthy and will become a regular in our home.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnanh November 06, 2009

The flavor on this dish is out of this world! Although I read the reviews for substitues I followed the recipe pretty closely except added quite a bit of basil and some shredded mozzarella. The one downside about this is it did take a lot of pans a quite a bit of cooking time before going in the oven. I think next time I make it'll do some shortcuts to minimize the time in the kitchen. I cut the recipe in half and it still had leftovers after 8 servings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitty145 October 02, 2011

This wasn't that great for us. It had way too much cream in my opnion. That was all we could taste. DD liked it, but DH and I decided to eat something else for supper. Maybe I did something wrong, because most reviewers loved this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbrynsaas December 19, 2008

This was a GOOD one. I cut the recipe in half as the whole recipe would feed an army. I still had a few leftovers. I used ground venison (that I spiced up) The sauce was awesome. I would have chopped the peppers instead of strips. Added some chopped onions. This again was a keeper. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WokRokr May 10, 2012

I doubled this recipe for a large work luncheon. Substituted whole milk for heavy whipping cream, otherwise I followed the recipe. Cooked it in a large roaster. Everyone raved about it. Absolutely delicious. Next time I might add some spinach for color and flavor. A little pricey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjlupo68@gmail.com December 22, 2011

This was absolutely yummy! I used a combination of 1/2 and 1/2 and heavy cream because it is what I had on hand and cut the recipe in half...and still had 1/2 a pan left after my family of 6 ate! I also used a 29 oz can of slightly drained petite diced tomatos and didn't puree them. While at my Scavo family reunion I was told my Great-Grandpa Frank made the best baked mostacciolis ever using home-made sausage...until I find his recipe this one will definitely do! Most excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 27, 2011

I forgot to add the star rating. 5 all the way!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skidivorgn May 11, 2011

Absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe though. Sauce came out perfect! I cut up a large tomato and a half, skipped the processor / basil part, and threw it in as-is into the sauce. yum yum. Definitely a keeper in our house. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WuhanNoodle June 21, 2010

I admit - I only used this recipe as inspiration. I had fresh tomatoes, left over italian sausage, leftover carmelized onions, leftover roasted red peppers (all from a pizza party) and then used this recipe as inspiration. I added additional fennel seed and italian sausage seasoning, cream, parm, garlic and pasta. It was really great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 October 30, 2009

This was great! I made it exactly as is well except on top I used parm reggiano and I also halved it. I loved the freshness of the tomatoes and basil. I never used red bell pepper when I make Italian dishes, but I will now, what a difference! Some mozzarella on top would be good too! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodiecowgirl June 08, 2009
Mostaccioli (Baked Pasta With Creamy Sauce & Italian Sausag