Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Most Simple Vegetarian White Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Most Simple Vegetarian White Gravy

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2012

      The BEST white gravy EVER-- seriously!! I tried to make vegetarian gravy for years, always used oil and never thought to use butter. I have used this recipe a few times now, and it always comes out perfectly. SO SO good. Thank you!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      This gravy was good, but a little bit salty for my taste. Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Thank you for this! I am the worst gravy maker and this turned out wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I've tried to make white gravy for years. First time it ever turned out. LOVE THIS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      loved it!! this is our "go to" white gravy, whether its for biscuits, chicken or rice. i'll never make another reciepe for white gravy again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was delicious! Thanks for a great base recipe. I made it to top mile high biscuits and everyone gobbled it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Very yummy! Even my skeptical carnivorous DH approved the gravy. I agree that it came out little bit salty, next time I will cut back to 1/2 tsp of regular salt (I may have been a bit heavy handed with the garlic salt)

      Also, I ended up using a Tbsp of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour since I was scraping the bottom of the All Purpose. Next time I may try all Whole Wheat... then I can pretend it's a bit healthier! Hehehe.

      Pair this with some baked chicken strips, baked french fries, and biscuits or Tx toast and you have a healthier alternative for that greasy fast food craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Wow, are you kidding me?! This was AWESOME!! It made my mashed potatoes divine tonite. Soon I'm going to fry up some Gimme Lean sausage, and make biscuits and gravy with it. It is WAY better than the white gravy I was using before. Best ever, thank you so much! Oh yeah, and I was pretty much out of milk, so 3/4 of the milk called for had to actually be almond milk. Wouldn't have known. So happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I use this gravy recipe to make biscuits and gravy. We probably put in a bit more pepper because we like peppery gravy :) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      this was so simple and easy and turned out fabulous. i used johnny's garlic spread & seasoning instead of the garlic salt. i served it over a vegetarian meatloaf (Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)) and some yorkshire puddings. i will definitely be making this again. thanks ammi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      what a fantastic recipe!! i have tried the store bought gravies but it doesn't even come close to this one. once again a great recipe. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Very quick, easy, and delicious! I do have one question: is it really one TABLESPOON of pepper? I used half of that and it still seemed very peppery. Sadly I didn't have any garlic salt available, but the recipe was good even with that omitted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Good recipe, but calls for WAY too much salt. Holy cow, when I tasted this thing after following the recipe my tastebuds were in shock!!! I would advise to add the garlic salt, and add salt to taste if needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Easy and very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Really tasty! And amazingly versatile...I made this for myself and it was tasty and easy. Then, I made this blandly (no salt/pepper) as a way to make a gravy to pour over my dog's food to trick him into eating his medicine. It doesn't hurt his tummy and it's a nice way to make the medicine go down!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This is an amazing recipe... I added cooked boca sausage and put it over biscuits and it was great and my kids LOVED it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      This was so simple, no browning butter and flour, etc. Just mix, whisk, and you have a nice white gravy! Thanks, I will use this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

    • on August 20, 2013

      Holy salt lick, Batman! I read previous reviews before making this recipe. Even though others had suggested not using so much salt, I decided to be true to the recipe. Maybe there is a mistake with the recipe posting? I simply cannot understand how someone thinks the salt content of this meal is acceptable. Next time I will use LESS than half the salt suggested, and I will give more weight to previous postings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      This was very simple to make. I loved that. The ingredients are always on hand. My only complaint is that I did not find it too salty like some reviewers, I found it a little bland. It needed a stronger country gravy flavor. But as vegetarians perhaps we cannot have this? However, overall, it was very good. My husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Most Simple Vegetarian White Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.0
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    60%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 692.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites