Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2011

      Great recipe! I am terrible with a rolling pin but this recipe patches well without adding more water. Also, it comes out of a pie pan clean as a whistle. Those of you having to add water, remember that the flour that you throw on the counter to roll the dough in comes out of the total flour needed, and not in addition to. Leave the last 1/4 cup of flour out of the mixer to roll the dough in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      I have been using this reciepe for years, got it from a business car chef on the railroad. I use butter instead which probably takes away a little of the flakyness but adds to flavour. Also add just a touch of sugar for dessert pies. I mix it in a food processor, cuts the mixing time to about two min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2002

      This is the same recipe my grandmother taught me many years ago, also you may make up the flour, shortening, and salt, double or tripple for holidays and have it in the fridge in a coffee can with a lid. Poof. Pies can be made in minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Excellent recipe!!! For several years, I have wanted to enter our local 4th of July Apple Pie contest. This year was the year...Or so I thought! First, I needed a recipe. :) I chose this for the pie crust and another recipe I found on another site for the filling. I spent the Sunday before the 4th making a trial pie at my parents' house. My dad kept stressing that an apple pie (or any pie, for that matter) is all about the crust. He wasn't that confident in my ability to produce a masterpiece, seeing as I hadn't ever made my own pie crust before.
      In hopes of decreasing the risk of a soggy bottom crust,I brushed the bottom layer of the pie crust with egg whites before I put in my apple filling. I also brushed egg whites on the top of my lattice crust before baking.
      When it came out of the oven, it looked perfect! After my dad had his FIRST slice, he proclaimed it the best pie he has had in 30 years!!! He said the crust was AMAZING!! My mom was raving about it as well! Fast forward to the next morning, the 4th...I decided I was too tired to wake up early...and thus, I still haven't entered a pie in a 4th of July contest...Next year!! :) My parents finished the pie in 3 days. Every time I speak to them on the phone, they ask when I will be making them another. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This is an excellent crust!! I did take the advice of others who posted, add 2 TBSP of water. I did not have any problem with cracking or ripping of the dough. I am sure it is because I used lard instead of the shortening. I use this crust for making chicken pot pie, it makes enough for an 8x8 square pan, top and bottom crust. It comes out golden and flakey. My husband does not like any kind of pie crust but he raved over this when I made a turkey pot pie using thanksgiving day leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Great recipe and REALLY easy to work with. I subbed half with cold butter. Wrapped in in Saran wrap for two days before I needed it. Let it sit out about 25 min before I needed it, and found it really easy to work with. Thanks so much! My recipe trials stop here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Great pie crust!! I do mine in a food processor to make it even easier... pulse the dry plus the shortening until it is crumbly, then add the wet and pulse until just mixed. Dump it out onto a board, form it into a ball and refrigerate. This crust NEVER fails! The less you handle it, the better it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      My goodness, Karen! I've always been in the "no egg" camp for pie crusts, but tried this on a whim. It was flaky and delicious. Really perfect for savory pies like quiche.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      A great crust! Super easy, and tasted great. I used whole wheat flour, which was a little more dry than bleached white flour so I added two more tablespoons of cold water. The end product was flaky--perfect! This is my new go-to recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Before trying this recipe I was sold on the one that I used during culinary school. The only problem was the recipe was scaled for 25 crusts. I did manage to get it down to 5 crusts, but I only needed one. So, I jumped onto food.com and spotted this one. With all the reviews I decided to give it a go for a Rustic Spiced Caramel Apple Tart that I was making. I used half butter and half lard instead of shortening (I only use shortening when I have no other choice), and it came out gorgeous. It was easy to work with and baked up flaky and tender. Now I have a new favorite crust recipe. I made sure that all the fats that I used were cold, straight from the fridge. Also, using a trick I learned in school, I made a glass of ice water and used that water(minus the ice) for this recipe. If your kitchen is very warm, you might consider putting even your flour in the fridge or freezer to cool it down. Above all, handle the dough as little as possible once you add the water. Working the dough too much will develop gluten and cause a tough crust. You want to mix it just until it comes together, and there may be dry spots in the dough. Simply wrap it in plastic and place in the fridge for 24 hours and the moisture level will even out. I highly recommend using half butter and either half lard or half shortening, the flavor and texture will be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Sadly my wife and I managed to fail on the no fail pie crust. Just came out too dry and we couldn't get it into the pan without having to try to suture it back together. Also the uncooked dough wasn't as tasty as other uncooked dough...will I be sick?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I can't give this any stars yet. I made the dough, it was fairly easy to make. However, when I rolled it out, it kept breaking. I can't blame the recipe, as it is super hot today and I honestly think that is why the dough is not holding up well. I will try to make again on a day when it is not so hot. I was/am super excited to make this dough. Will update my review later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Great crust easy to make and nice and flaky. The only change I made was that I used butter instead of shortening. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      I was very pleased with this recipe. It made two pie crusts that I used for my peach cream pie recipes found on food.com. I have never had success with making my own pie crusts and this recipe really worked and was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      this one is a winner! i have always feared making pie crusts due to them breaking and having to have just the right amount of water. so, i was nervous with the previous review just posted. i did everything as stated in the directions, and i didn't have any problems with it breaking. plus i was able to constantly lift and flip the crust so that i could roll it to just the right shape. i've never used egg in my crusts before- i think it really helped hold it together. this recipe will be going into my personal cookbook! (oh, i used this with "Delicious Chicken Pot Pie" recipe).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      This was my first time making a pie crust. Very easy recipe. I used it to make chicken pot pie. I did as others reviewed and added 2 extra tbsp of water. Overall i thought the crust was good. I may have made the crust too thick, so next time ill thin it out a lil more. There was no sweet taste in the crust. I'll try this recipe again with replacing some butter for the shortening or adding some sugar to the recipe. Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I never bake pies because I've never been able to make a pie crust I was proud of. I see myself gaining a bit of weight in the near future, because this pie crust is HEAVENLY! Thank you so very much for sharing an absolutely wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Good recipe, very simple and straightforward. Sometimes the dough is a little dry, I just add a bit more water. Also, it tastes very good when 1/2 of the plain flour is substituted with whole-wheat. If you have extra dough, use a cookie-cutter to make a shape to put on the top of the pie when the crust is brushed with a little beaten egg- very pretty! Excellent recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      My dough came out a little dry, so I added more water. It wasn't the easiest dough to work with, but I really liked the flaky results. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Made my special pecan pies with this recipe and the crusts were the very best. I did have to add more water to make the mixture all come together- it always varies when making pie crusts. This is not surprising for it all depends on the moisture in the air. Love the recipe and this will replace the one I have used for years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 406.2
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    59%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 155.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites