Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Vegetable Stew With Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Vegetable Stew With Couscous

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      Yummy, but DH didn't like the cinnamon. I made it without the extra water and served as a side dish. Also didn't have prunes so used raisins. Made for February Sun and Spice 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I really like this one. I will make it again. Only changes: used chicken broth with vegetables instead of water and couldn't resist adding some minced garlic. Also, I subbed dried fig for the prunes. I served over a package of Near East Mediterranean Couscous. It took longer than 30 minutes to cook, so I ended up covering it to speed it up. Thanks for a great, healthy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This was delicious, quick, simple and inexpensive -- a total win!
      I didn't have butternut squash to hand so I used half a large cauliflower. I also did not have fresh cilantro and forgot to use dried -- still tasted wonderful. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Delicious. Also good with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I had some butternut squash that I needed to use up so I decided to give this a try. I REALLY enjoyed it. It was a little sweet but not too much. Even my 3 and 4 year olds ate it willingly. I used a tomato basil couscous that had on hand. At the end I forgot the cilantro but thought it was really good without it. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and will be making this FOR SURE again. It was a great vegetarian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Great! Nice amount of vegetables -- not complicated. Wonderful on a winter night. I put broth into the stew as I was using couscous from a box with spices. I didn't have prunes so used dried nectarines and that was fine. I also followed some ideas from another couscous vegetable recipe and turned some of the onions into carmelized onions and put them and sliced almonds on the side to be added. Spices included 1/2 tsp+ of cardamon, sweet red curry powder and tumeric.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Delicious and very easy! I made this on one of the first cold fall evenings, and it was perfect for the occasion. The prunes added a lot of depth and complexity, and the cilantro was a nice touch. It wouldn't have been the same without those; if you make this don't skip them, especially the prunes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Very, very good! Loved the sweetness derived from the prunes, but it surprisingly wasn't "pruney." A perfect vegetarian "hearty" meal that will be a staple in my diet from now on (bring on the beano!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I made this as written but omitted the salt. Instead, I served this over spinach, topped with feta cheese. It was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      So good even my picky 5yo and hubby liked it. Felt the need for more spice so I added the suggested cumin, ginger and red pepper. I also used fresh chopped tomatoes and some chicken stock instead of the canned tomatoes. I'll use the prunes next time because I didn't have any. The cilantro gave it a nice fresh taste. Served it over steamed rice. Will be making often, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Excellent! I did as others suggested and added freshly ground cumin seed (almost 1 tsp.), extra red pepper, and a pinch of ground ginger. I also added a can of Rotel in addition to the stewed tomatoes and simmered it longer to cook it down. Accidently got roasted garlic flavored couscous but it was really good. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This recipe is fantastic! The flavors compliment each other well. I added about 1/2 tsp. of cumin and 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger as suggested by another reviewer and I'm glad I did! Also, I added more crushed red pepper for a little kick. I think eggplant would taste really good in this dish. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Another delightful combination of Moroccan flavors simplified for my American kitchen. I just love the way the onions and prunes melted into the tomato base of the sauce along with the spices creating the distinctive but harmonious brew. In addition to the cinnamon and pepper flakes, I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger and a pinch of cumin to offer a little smokiness. By accident, I added a 28 ounce can of tomatoes (meant to only add a half can) but that appealed to my general preference for lots of liquid in my stews. Updated to add that I have enjoyed this stew with both bulgur and creamy polenta in place of couscous; all the variations worked well. Made for *Zaar Stars* tag game. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I made this recipe as recommended and added a little more cinnamon and red pepper flakes (for my tastebuds). It is very good. Even my husband, who is a 'meat-eater' loved it. I would definitely make it again. Note: Do not be afraid to use prunes. The combination of flavors is simply delectable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was very good. I did add a sprinkle of additional red pepper flakes. I gave 4 stars because my store doesn't carry squash already cut into cubes. I HATE peeling squash!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

    • on January 14, 2008

      Very tasty. My family enjoyed this dish. I made it exactly as the recipe reads. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Very good, made a ton. Very filling and Healthy. Substituted golden raisins for prunes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      For a vegetarian dish, this is very tasty. I used a combo of turnip, sweet potato and butternut squash instead of just squash. I also omitted the prunes (not a big fan) and used whole wheat couscous (more fiber). I hope it freezes well because I'm planning to keep some for work lunches.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This was easy to make, delicious and filling. The kids liked it too. Be sure that the stew cools a little and that the squash is bite sized, it stays rocket hot for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Vegetable Stew With Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (511 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    78%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 879.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.6 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 14.2 g
    56%
    Sugars 19.1 g
    76%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites