18 Reviews

As I sit eating this for lunch at work I had to add a review. This is outstanding. I made a pot and froze it and it held up great. I have made this recipe about 10 times (no almonds) and it is my favorite lunchtime soup. The mix of spices is just right and the soup has a beautiful golden yellow color. This last time I added tofu and it took on the flavors of the spices nicely. In my recipebook this is labeled "guestworthy".

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat from Ohio September 25, 2003

This is an easy and fairly quick dish to prepare. The flavor is excellent. I used a medley of red, green and yellow peppers and did not use the olives. I did have to add more liquid as it simmered. Pets, thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug September 04, 2003

I've made this stew three times and everyone has loved it. I just noticed that the last time, I added about four times the normal amount of sliced almonds. This makes it a thicker stew, but it was still delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Folk Dancer April 15, 2003

This was quite yummy! Tried this recipe tonight, because it reminded me of a recipe that I make quite often. I decided to post my recipe tonight since this reminded me of it! You should try it!!! (Vegetable Stew With a Kick). Thanks for the recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary March 01, 2003

What a flavorful stew this turned out to be! I loved the chickpeas and the olives, and the spices were excellent! Lemon squeezed over the top finishes it off nicely! Thanks for this recipe! I left out the almonds so my DH could eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 28, 2003

This was absolutely fantastic, one of my favorite recipes ever and the boyfriend raved about it (he's not the one watching his weight either!). Have to agree that cooked chickpeas are better than the ones in a tin. I don't think the almonds are necessary but that's just my opinion. This dish has the perfect amount of heat and the spices are perfect. Great texture. Thinking about making this again makes my mouth water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdventureLobster August 25, 2009

Delicious, colourful and well appreciated by all the members of my household! Cooked chickpeas are far superior to tinned - I would recommend using them every time. Thanks very much for posting - will definitely be making this again! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mooncake May 04, 2008

Thanks, Pets'R'us, for a very tasty dish. My sisters enjoyed this VERY much. Will go on my rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter April 08, 2008

OUTSTANDING! This is a COLORFUL, WONDERFUL, COMFORTING, FLAVORFUL, HEALTHY, VEGAN stew! I served this over brown rice and nothing else was needed. I mixed the leftover rice and stew together for the next day. I made it as directed but used less cayenne and added black pepper. THANKS FOR THIS KEEPER RECIPE! Made for the Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 24, 2008

I left out the lemon juice and added carrots, eggplant, zucchini and cauliflower. It was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doorpingdoorpang January 24, 2007
Moroccan Vegetable Stew