8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked that this was a very healthy dish, but unfortunately, the taste didn't work too well for me. It also seemed overcooked. However, my husband liked it a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha February 14, 2010

I loved this. I added in zucchini, sweet potato, ras al hanout spice mix, and chopped dried apricots, served over bulgur wheat and sprinkled with toasted pine nuts. A fantastic autumn/winter meal. Totally satisfying in every way: spices, textures and very filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moor Driver November 15, 2009

Eggplant was replaced with zucchini, yellow squash, cauliflower and broccoli. I cooked the mixture only 15 minutes total, just until the vegetables were fork tender (and to maintain their vivid colors.) The raisins were stirred into the stew the last minute of cooking so that they wouldn't plump up. Each serving was garnished with Delfino cilantro from our herb garden. All local, organic vegetables were used. This made the house smell heavenly. ~Tasty Dish~ approved, too~Thanks for posting. Reviewed for N*A*M*E Tag. cg ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 06, 2009

Lovely dish! Eggplant and chickpeas are my favorite vegetables and I was hoping that this would be as good as it was. The spices were so complementary and I loved the hint of sweetness the raisins gave! I served it over cous cous for a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki April 19, 2009

A great vegetable dish! I added a zucchini and left out the raisins. I had it plain with some bread for the lovely sauce. Very tasty but next time I'll add some green pepper and parsley. Thanks Lauralie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia October 01, 2006

I cooked this recipe exactly as specified, but I just didn't think it tasted very good. It was too bland, even with all those spices, and I got tired of eating it after about 3-4 bites. Sorry, I don't think I'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenSmith April 20, 2006

Excellent dish! I loved the spice combination and the raisins added a perfect touch of sweetness. Served over couscous, this was relly a perfect meal. Thanks, Lori!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 09, 2006

Low-fat and tasty, tasty, tasty! Slightly sweet, and slightly hot with a nice texture. Unusual combination of spices went very well with the addition of raisins. We omitted green peppers (BF was peppered out) but otherwise followed recipe pretty much as written. We served it over white rice, but couscous would also absorb this terrific sauce nicely. Wow, thanks very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend October 15, 2005
Moroccan Tagine