Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Street Potato Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Street Potato Cakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2009

      These were good. There could be a couple of reasons why some people are having trouble frying them. First, many people may be using western style mashed potatoes made with milk/cream and butter. You will probably fry the patties more easily if no liquid is added to the potatoes. You should boil the potatoes whole, unpeeled, until fork tender. When cool enough to handle, peel and mash the potatoes and add the remaining ingredients, then form into patties. You really don't even need the flour as the mixture is very easy to work with. I then heat a nonstick frying pan over medium-high heat. When hot, I add just 2-3 Table. oil and add some of the potato patties. Fry until golden on both sides. Drizzle more oil, a teaspoon at a time, if needed. Using too much oil causes potato patties to start falling apart. Thanks for sharing this inexpensive recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Every time I make these they are better and better! Great recipe, and listen to others about the oil, they are to be shallow fried, not soaked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      These taste delicious, but are quite difficult to fry. I even took a commenter's suggestion and didn't add anything to the potatoes and they still crumbled apart a bit when I tried to flip them in the frying pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      I have not made these yet, but they look and sound delicious. Just a tip for those having difficulty with the frying. Ihave found that rather than using oil for things without much binder, just use a non stick pan well coated with cooking spray. Also lightly spray the cakes themselves. It may not be completely authentic but you lessen all the fat from oil and they don't break apart as easily since there is not much liquid hot or otherwise to seep through the cracks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Really yum, but a bit difficult to fry. Worth the effort though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Great taste, but difficult to fry. I was wondering if some binder like egg would have helped hold the potato cake together better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      I normaly only eat fried stuff during ramadaan except for french fries that is. I had a super craving for some thing fried and I had some parsley mashed potatoes left over from dinner My Mom’s Amazing Parsley Potatoes so I gave your recipe a bash dear Hajar and i was not disapointed. We make potato cakes as well over here with the only diffrence we flour then dip them in fluffy beaten eggs. I can do with out the extra cholesterol thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      No wonder these are so popular and are a staple. I only made one out of left over mashed potatoes and went a bit heavy on the parsley & scallions but this was delicious. I will watch for mor recipes from you Hajar- Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Street Potato Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 46.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    39%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 305.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites