Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Spiced Chickpea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Spiced Chickpea Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2010

      Really tasty flavours. DH really liked this as a light dinner along with a fresh salad and for breakfast!! I used less cayenne though per our preference. I used a unrefined extra virgin olive oil, the least amount of garlic cloves, a bit less cinnamon, a good canned plum tomatoes which I chopped up myself, Emirati Style Yellow Chicken Stock, sea salt, chopped frozen spinach nuggets and the rest. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Wonderful soup! I used 1tbls of oil, 1/2 ts of cayenne, 1/2 ts of brown sugar, and chopped spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe. For once I didn't add more garlic than called for: the amount is juuust right! ;-) Fabulous flavours - much thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I too have this recipe via Dave Lieberman....I love it...a healthy, flavorful well rounded meal and you can use vegetable stock instead of chicken to make it totally vegetarian! Delicious...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Love this soup! Great combination of spices and so healthy & easy to make. This is immediately going into my favorites file. Dave's recipes are always good so, like you, I knew this would hit a home run...and it did!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Hey Susie, I made this soup to go with some BLT's my husband and I had for lunch today, and boy did this soup taste good. I loved the smell of the spices once added, plus while it was simmering on the stove. Also, I thought I'd mention, that when I saute'd the onions and garlic in some vegetable oil, I only used 1-1/2 tablespoons. I only had 2 cans of the chickpeas in my pantry to make this soup, and since I didn't have any spinach either, I now wish I could of added another can of chickpeas to it, cuz without the spinach, I do think the soup needs 3 cans of the beans. Other than that, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the soup. I don't know if my husband would like spinach in the soup, but next time I make it, I'll add a bit of it just to my bowl, to see if I like it in it. If not, I may just sprinkle a bit of parsley on top, for more added color. After viewing the pics of some of the soups made by others, the spinach does add some color, plus it makes for a pretty looking soup. Susie, I do want to thank you for posting this delicious tasting soup. It's definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I woke up this morning feeling pretty under the weather. I was looking for a soup recipe that did not require a lot of work and for which I had all the ingredients. If there is any good that can come from being sick, it is having stumbled upon this recipe. I loved it! The prep is very minimal and the flavor was outstanding. The spices in the mixture complimented one another very nicely. I used two cans of chickpeas (as that is what I had on hand) and I will probably use just the two cans in the future. I used a little less olive oil and fire roasted diced tomatoes as that is also what I had on hand (they were very good in this soup). Finally, I subbed chicken broth for veggie broth and used a little less spinach than required. I've already copied down this recipe for my keeper file and will definitely make it again (in fact, I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!). Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT6 Family PIcks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I made exactly as written, except I used a red onion, less oil and only 2 cans of chickpeas (don't ask me why). I forgot to put the spinach in for the picture :( Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This was a fantastic, amazingly flavorful soup!!! It was completely unlike anything I'd had before (I usually don't add cinnamon to my soups lol), but I loved it. Tasted very gourmet. I only used 2 Tbsp oil, but followed the recipe exactly other than that. Thanks! Made for ZWT6 - LOONEY SPOON PHOODIES!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Fabulous flavors! This soup is spiced just right. It has that sort of "exotic" taste yet it's made with common everyday ingredients. I liked how the spinach was added after removing the pot from the heat; that way, it wilted but didn't get slimy. I cut the oil down to 2 tbsp, but that's all I changed. Thanx for sharing !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Really great flavour for being so simple, and containing ingredients you're always likely to have on hand. I used dried chickpeas that had soaked overnight...I let them cook in the soup so just had to double the veggie broth. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Delicious. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and it turned out great. I also decreased the oil and used a bit of broth to saute the onions & garlic. I make soup every sunday and was looking for something different & tasty..this fit the bill perfectly!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Very nice! I liked the spinach a great deal. I thought it needed a bit more, so I added some ginger, ground coriander and a bit of curry powder and a couple tablespoons of tomato paste. In the last 5 mins of cooking I added fresh lemon juice and served it with cilantro. That did it for me!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Wonderful, wonderful soup! I cut the oil to 2 tablespoons, and only had about 4 ounces of spinach, which was plenty. The balance of flavours is perfect. I used all three cans of chickpeas, but a person could easily get by with two. Thanks for a dish that is true comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I adore this recipe. It's easy and healthy and the flavors are so unique but work perfectly together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I absolutely love this recipe. It is one of those foods that tastes better the next day ... and the next. I use a dash of tobasco sauce instead of the cayenne pepper and sometimes chicken broth instead of vegetable, but otherwise I don't change anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious served with fresh pitas. It is easy to prepare and the flavours blend wonderfully together. I have enough left over to take for lunch during the week. I can't wait to taste it reheated!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Awesome. Follow the recipe as it says then add all the same spices after you through in the spinach!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This is totally amazing! I make this all the time, it is delicious and super easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This is really great! Hearty, healthy, satisfying. Super simple for a weekday meal and makes a great lunch for the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Great soup, I loved the taste of cinnamon and garlic in it. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Spiced Chickpea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.1
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    28%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 660.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites