12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe.....added two cloves of garlic and 1/4 tspn ground cayenne pepper to punch it up. Also, used 1/2 smoked paprica and 1/2 paprica. Fennel (anise in our market) was deliciously crunchy. Kudos!!
Madd Maxx

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iriemaxx March 29, 2011

Oops - I thought I rated this after I first cooked it - it's really good! I did add some garlic and had more fennel than called for, otherwise kept everything about the same. Great mix of flavours in here! I am planning to try making a vegetarian version with chick-peas because I think that would be yummy too (and I'm trying to eat meat only very rarely nowadays.) Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lortle November 04, 2006

I love the spice combination on the chicken! I've never cooked with fennel before, but I bought one and had to find something to do with it and this recipe sounded good. It was very good as written. I think next time I will try adding some red bell pepper for a little color and so the fennel is not quite so dominate. If you are already a fennel lover, you shouldn't change a thing in this recipe. It really does have wonderful flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook November 25, 2013

Great mix of flavors, I used 2lbs of chicken an increased spice mixure and the rest of the other Ingredients to match. We had for the main course for the 2 of use, next time I will add some head to it unless we are having a real spicy side dish or company. Great basic recipe to mold to your own taste, or excellent as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMCGrandpa June 16, 2012

I made this last night and everyone really enjoyed it! This was the family's first time trying fennel. We liked it! I did add the garlic and red pepper flakes as other reviewers suggested. I will be making this again soon. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam March 23, 2012

We really enjoyed this dish, and it was even better the next day.i threw in some golden raisins which gave it a hint of sweetness.very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs November 12, 2011

Very tasty! I too added garlic and used 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp smoked paprika. I used chicken thighs and added yams for color and to thicken the sauce without using cornstarch. Cooked quinoa in stock instead of cous cous. I was out of oranges so I used lemon juice and honey. Still delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
genno May 09, 2011

Wonderful flavors. I did only 3 chicken breasts but made the entire sauce. The chicken was so tender and had great flavors with the spices on them. We will have this many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 21, 2010

A simple yet tasty preparation! I tweaked the recipe a lil bit by adding more coriander and cumin powder, more juice and broth and some crushed fennel seeds to suit our taste. It turned out really well. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalu January 30, 2010

Nice recipe. I found it a bit confusing because it didn't tell me if I should cut up the chicken (I did). I substituted chicken thighs for the breasts. I didn't have cumin, so will try it again when I have some. Overall result was a meal that we enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulminett September 23, 2009
Moroccan Spiced Chicken and Fennel