Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Olive Flatbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Olive Flatbread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2013

      The spices on this make it amazingly yummy and it is very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half and headed the warning of another reviewer and made sure my olives were not too big and started watching it at 15 minutes. At 17-18 minutes the edges were starting to look like they were trying to burn so pulled out and it looked perfectly well done and the edge I broke off was crisp and tasty. I made in the morning and let sit out till late afternoon / early evening at which point the edges were still crisp but the center had some tooth. I am thinking I need to prick the center with a fork to get the center crisper or make thicker so that it is chewier. Ok all that said we loved the flavor and thought it went well with Tunisian Mashed Carrot Salad. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I loved the spice combination and flavor. Unfortunately, it wasn't as as crisp as I was expecting. The end result was a little tough and chewy. This is probably my fault and not the recipe itself, as I may have over-mixed the dough. I will try this again; it was very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This is easy to make. Liked the seasoning on the flatbread. Made Black Olive Mayonnaise #190952 by Sharon123 to go with it. Made for ZWT6 the No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      It was OK. The taste is good, but the texture was way off. If I baked them til deep golden brown, they would be burnt and inedible. I was expecting something soft and chewy, this turned out tough and hard to bite. I just baked the last few until lightly browned around the edges and they were ok to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I can't give this one a good rating unfortunately. It's the only "bad" recipe I've ever encountered from the catering duo of Dan Smith and Steve McDonagh. The bread is WAY too salty and the texture is tough, not the crisp and "toothsome" treat that good flatbread offers. Yes, it is extremely easy to make, but in this case ease doesn't redeem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This was very easy to make and very good! I took some left over chicken and sautéed some onions and peepers and added then on top with some feta cheese with 10 minutes left in the baking time...it was like one of those flatbreads you get at a high-end restaurant. I am now trying a new twist on it by substituting the olives for sun-dried tomatoes and basil. Thank you for the recipe and muse!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Loved this! Only thing I will do differently next time is to either cut the salt in the topping way down or leave it out all together. Super easy to make and so good! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Very nice and very easy. This went together quickly and the texture and flavor was quite nice. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Loved this!! I had some problems rolling mine out nicely but I am not know to be a very tidy type of baker and all my things come out with a "rustic" quality that I pretend is intentional!!! The taste was amazing...I did not use quite all of the prepared spice mix...as I was sprinkling it suddenly seemed like I had put enough on - I did not find it at all too salty, it was just right (probably a matter of personal preference). I used the cup of all purpose flour but added whole wheat for the rest and had to add more than the 1 and 1/2 tablespoon (again, I did not really measure just eye balled it until the dough seemed to be right for forming.) Wonderful flavor...I love the olive touch and the suggested spices are fabulous together. Made for ZWT3 to go with some homemade hummus but it seems to be getting all ate up by itself!! ( the flavor is too good to "mask" with a dip of any sort!) Thanks so much for sharing...a winner!!! Now I have to learn how to get those perfect rectangular cut chips that AshK got!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      A-Maz-Ing!! This bread is excellent! A little spicy, salty, and just the perfect flat bread texture. This is the first bread I have ever made by hand and we all just loved it. I will be making this again and again. Reviewed for ZWT3

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Vicki...this bread is definitely a winner! My family and I couldn't get enough. I'm going to have to make this again right away. However, I will NOT put quite as much salt in the spice mixture. I LOVE the olives in it, but they DO need to be chopped small. I baked this on my baking stone, and ended up pulling it off the stone, and baking on the rack alone to get it crispy through and through. *Made for ZWT3 No. Africa Challenge ~ Moroccan Meal*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Easy to make, but do take the refridgeration time into consideration. I liked that this had a lot of flavor than most breads do. Delish! What I really enjoyed was the combination of the curry, olive, paprika and garlic seemed to "sing" in 4 part harmoney like a chamber choir. They worked so well together - it wasn't as if, in some recipes - when you have too many strong flavors- they seem to compete against each other. Wonderful! Thank you for sharing Sharon! **** MADE AND REVIEWED FOR ZAARTAG ****

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      This was a really interesting recipe that was fairly easy to put together. Unfortunately, my dough was really sticky, and I had to knead it in many handfuls of flour to get it to hold together. The original 1 cup of flour should probably just be increased. I refrigerated this for 2 hours, and then it was easy to work with. The texture of this is pretty interesting. The outer parts were very brittle and the inner parts were more pliable. I'm not sure which it should be, but I like the more pliable parts better. The salt could probably be reduced in the spice mixture, as the olives themselves were a little salty. Made by a Tasty Tester for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Olive Flatbread

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.6
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    20%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 437.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oil-cured olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites