13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The spices on this make it amazingly yummy and it is very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half and headed the warning of another reviewer and made sure my olives were not too big and started watching it at 15 minutes. At 17-18 minutes the edges were starting to look like they were trying to burn so pulled out and it looked perfectly well done and the edge I broke off was crisp and tasty. I made in the morning and let sit out till late afternoon / early evening at which point the edges were still crisp but the center had some tooth. I am thinking I need to prick the center with a fork to get the center crisper or make thicker so that it is chewier. Ok all that said we loved the flavor and thought it went well with Tunisian Mashed Carrot Salad. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 18, 2013

I loved the spice combination and flavor. Unfortunately, it wasn't as as crisp as I was expecting. The end result was a little tough and chewy. This is probably my fault and not the recipe itself, as I may have over-mixed the dough. I will try this again; it was very yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird June 14, 2010

This is easy to make. Liked the seasoning on the flatbread. Made Black Olive Mayonnaise #190952 by Sharon123 to go with it. Made for ZWT6 the No-Nonsense Nibblers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 12, 2010

It was OK. The taste is good, but the texture was way off. If I baked them til deep golden brown, they would be burnt and inedible. I was expecting something soft and chewy, this turned out tough and hard to bite. I just baked the last few until lightly browned around the edges and they were ok to eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glorybees7 December 17, 2009

I can't give this one a good rating unfortunately. It's the only "bad" recipe I've ever encountered from the catering duo of Dan Smith and Steve McDonagh. The bread is WAY too salty and the texture is tough, not the crisp and "toothsome" treat that good flatbread offers. Yes, it is extremely easy to make, but in this case ease doesn't redeem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheSource September 03, 2008

This was very easy to make and very good! I took some left over chicken and sautéed some onions and peepers and added then on top with some feta cheese with 10 minutes left in the baking time...it was like one of those flatbreads you get at a high-end restaurant. I am now trying a new twist on it by substituting the olives for sun-dried tomatoes and basil. Thank you for the recipe and muse!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashly1021 March 25, 2008

Loved this! Only thing I will do differently next time is to either cut the salt in the topping way down or leave it out all together. Super easy to make and so good! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM November 06, 2007

Very nice and very easy. This went together quickly and the texture and flavor was quite nice. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. June 16, 2007

Loved this!! I had some problems rolling mine out nicely but I am not know to be a very tidy type of baker and all my things come out with a "rustic" quality that I pretend is intentional!!! The taste was amazing...I did not use quite all of the prepared spice mix...as I was sprinkling it suddenly seemed like I had put enough on - I did not find it at all too salty, it was just right (probably a matter of personal preference). I used the cup of all purpose flour but added whole wheat for the rest and had to add more than the 1 and 1/2 tablespoon (again, I did not really measure just eye balled it until the dough seemed to be right for forming.) Wonderful flavor...I love the olive touch and the suggested spices are fabulous together. Made for ZWT3 to go with some homemade hummus but it seems to be getting all ate up by itself!! ( the flavor is too good to "mask" with a dip of any sort!) Thanks so much for sharing...a winner!!! Now I have to learn how to get those perfect rectangular cut chips that AshK got!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 16, 2007

A-Maz-Ing!! This bread is excellent! A little spicy, salty, and just the perfect flat bread texture. This is the first bread I have ever made by hand and we all just loved it. I will be making this again and again. Reviewed for ZWT3

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK June 13, 2007
Moroccan Olive Flatbread