Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Mushroom Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Mushroom Couscous

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2004

      This dish is a nice change from plain old couscous! At first, I plated it as you suggested, Rita, but my platter was too small. So I decided to toss it all together in a bowl to combine the sauce and mushrooms throughout all the couscous. I did find that I liked the flavor of this dish better after it sat for a bit, and the flavors combined.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Meh. Although the overall concept and flavors were good, I thought there were a couple of flaws that made it less than it could have been. I didn't enjoy it as much as some other Moroccan couscous recipes. We did not use saffron, and I'm glad, because there were so many spices and the orange flavor was so strong, that even saffron would have been drowned out a bit, and that is one expensive spice to drown out. Other than that, we did everything according to the instructions. I feel that this recipe has a couple of things that are not clear- for example, do we chop the garlic or put the clove in like so? What kind of pepper should we use- black pepper or red? I also think it would have been good to saute the onions and garlic before adding mushrooms. I usually do that and was wondering why not here- next time I will. I also thought twice about adding the sauce to the dish for serving because it seemed like it would make the couscous too gooey. But I followed the recipe, and unfortunately, to my taste it was too wet. Finally, I think that orange zest added in without the orange juice would have been better. The orange juice was just so strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Very fun and different - I have never had the earthy flavor of mushrooms with sweet before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      My husband liked it but said he wanted chopped mushrooms instead, the kids cleaned their bowls. We will make this again and tweak it with the mushrooms and see how it turns out. It was a very easy dish and made our vegetarian night lots of fun b/c everyone got to add in their spice :) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I didn't change a thing, followed the directions carefully & really enjoyed the results. Sweet, different & delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Great couscous! I used baby portobellas and ground saffron. Great blend of spices in this recipe! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was quite good. we halved the mushrooms but left everything the same using baby bellas and glad we did cause there were still a ton of mushrooms. I liked this thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I loved the spices and the orange in this dish. Saffron makes it taste luxurious. I loved the additon of crushed coriander seeds instead of ground coriander. I decided to simmer the mushrooms in the orange juice before adding it to the couscous. I had this as a warm main dish in the evening and cold as a salad the next day. It is lovely cold too. I also liked that the onion was sliced and not chopped. I enjoyed this couscous, the flavours are complex and well balanced and the leftovers are lovely eaten cold. That makes it a 5 star recipe in my view.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      I didn't read the directions completely before starting...but it really turned out well!! I sauted the mushrooms, onions and spices together..gave the mushrooms quite a chance to absorb the flavors! I didn't have any saffron and I used lemon zest. Very tastey!! Served it with Moroccan grilled chicken but you are right I personally think the dish could stand on it's own! (DH has to have MEAT) lol Thank you Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      From reading this recipe, it should be a 5 star rating: somehow it just misses, hence the 4 stars. I've made it twice now, both times using the exact ingredients specified (which is unusual for me as I usually tinker!). The second time I followed Kozmic Blue's advice by allowing extra time for the flavours to combine and agree with her that the dish tastes better made that way. It still didn't quite hit that 5 though and I wonder if mushrooms are a bit too strong for the other ingredients. Next time (yes, its worth a next time) I'm thinking of trying aubergines (eggplant) instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Mushroom Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.7
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    33%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes