Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Meatballs -- Tagine Kefta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Meatballs -- Tagine Kefta

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2011

      These were so good. I actually made them and put them in hoagie buns with some cheese and made meatball sandwiches, my family loved it. The sauce and meatballs have a completely different taste then the italian ones. Loved the cumin in this. Thank you for sharing this with us, a new family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Brilliant recipe! I was given a Tagine for my wedding and this came out perfectly. Instaed of beef mince (ground beef), I used sausage meat and added breadcrumbs to hold it together. The resulting meatballs were delicious. Couscous helped thicken the liquid and gave it a very Morroccan look and texture. The recipe made enough for three servings (my husband has claimed the extra for his dinner tomorrow night he liked it so much!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Made this for a Night at the Casbah dinner party. I did the appetizer. Made as instructed except augmented with canned crushed tomatoes and upped the seasonings to accommodate the extra sauce. Boy were these tender. Served warm with whole wheat pita, toasted, quartered then stuffed with a great fatoush made with preserved lemon. Easy to handle party fare and a big hit. Thanks so much for this terrific twist on kefta...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      These were just OK. It didn't have a ton of flavor for me. The sauce got really runny, so I simmered it uncovered for probably 10 extra minutes. I think this dried out the meatballs and made them hard. I don't think I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was alright, but it wasn't anything great. It tasted fine but just wasn't anything too exciting. Kind of on the bland side a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      DH and I found this to be good, but not great. Perhaps too simple for our tastes?? I can't quite pin it but I guess its safe to say I've had better meatballs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      This is a great recipe for those hesitant to try something different. Although it seems like a lot of spices, the seasoning actually tastes quite subtle, not very noticeable. I adjusted the cooking heat and time, starting the flame at medium-low and simmering sauce then kefta, covered, for nearly an hour. Served with pita and Arab-style salad, this made a pleasant meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I modified this recipe to use with Vegetarian "meatballs", Vegetarian "Meat"balls. The results have been very popular and I've been asked to make it again. I adjust the spices to taste, use canned tomatoes and simmer in a crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      this turn out extremly spicy , i dont like spicy food if i make it again i would put less cayenne pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This had a very nice flavor, both the sauce and the meatballs. Not too fond of hard meatballs and thought these were a tad too hard for our taste and plan to add some bread crumbs, milk, egg etc to lighten up a bit next time. Thank you Sackville for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This dish was cooked for me by the Chef herself while she & her husband spent a couple of nights with us on their New Zealand leg of their round the world trip on their bicycles. I will certainly be making these myself and will serve them to friends. Thanks so much for making them for us and each time I make them I will remember the happy days spent together :) Happy happy travels :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Yum! These meatballs were great! I'm addicted to cumin at the moment so I added a wee bit more to the sauce - along with extra chilli & some diced onion throughout. I used fresh coriander instead of parsley as well. It was fantastic! I made Rec.#35076 Easy Yeast Rolls with a garlic butter topping to soak up the sauce & both recipes seemed to blend perfectly time-wise. I'm already trying to work out how soon we can have it again without hubi noticing my repetitiveness! Great find - thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Awesome dish,Just to realy top this off i droped a few eggs onto the sauce and left to poach for about 7 mins,great with crusty bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Incredible! Can we give it 12 stars? (my boyfriend would like to, and asked LOL) Let me start with what I changed.. I don't own a Tagine (honestly I don't know what one is) so I used a deep 12" non-stick fry pan. We have TONS of sweet 100 cherry tomatoes, and yellow cherry tomatoes so I sliced those in half in a large amount (I don't know 2 cups?) in place of the "medium tomatoes". I never have parsley in the house so I used an equal amount of cilantro. We also have TONS of zucchini so I sliced up some of that into 1/2" pieces and put it in at the same time as the tomatoes. Mmm! GREAT SAUCE! I was concerned there was an error in the recipe when I noticed the items that went into each were the same except one has ground beef and one has tomatoes. It's definitely not a mistake YUM! I served it over angel hair pasta, but next time I think it would be great with a crusty pugliese bread. This is a top 10 recipe for us! Thank you so much for an excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Fantastic! I only had hot paprika so I forwent the cayenne and added just 1tblspoon hot paprika to both the sauce and meat. BOY, was it hot. In fact, the sides of my mouth are still burning! I also used ground turkey instead of beef and a couple dashes of dried parsley instead of fresh. I also used drained, canned, organic diced tomatoes and added a can of mushroom while it was simmering. It was delicious. We finished off the spaghetti I made with it, so my husband just ate it straight with bread for seconds. Thank you for the yummy recipe; it will definitely go in my Family Favorites cookbook and go into regular rotation on our monthly menus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Great Recipe! I used canned chopped tomatoes instead of fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      great recipe! I added some zucchini to the sauce to make it a bit more "complete". It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This was really good! I had to use canned tomatoes (28 oz.) - I broke the tomatoes up with my hands and added the juice too. I added about 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce because I had it opened already. I cut back, just a bit, on the cayenne. Served it with pasta as per my son's request, toasted pita bread and salad. I was surprised, and happy, that my kids enjoyed it. Oh, I would consider leaving out the oil next time. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      For the next time I will use a combination of ground lamb and ground beef and increase the cumin to 2 teaspoons. For the sauce I used smoked paprika and used half the amount. For the meatballs, I used smoked paprika and also used half the amount. Added about 1/3 cup of finely minced onion to the meatballs. The smoked paprika gave the dish a nice, earthy flavor. This was served over plain white basmati rice and a tossed salad. (French bread on the side.) Finally, garnished the dish with fresh cilantro. Delicious and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Meatballs -- Tagine Kefta

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 780.1
     
    Calories from Fat 536
    68%
    Total Fat 59.6 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 136.0 mg
    45%
    Sodium 166.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 42.5 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites