11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you are craving some lamb, but want to go easy on your budget, try these great meatballs. They have a wonderful flavor highlighted by the interesting spices. I made a creamy curry sauce with onions, and apples to drizzle on the baked meatballs, and served it with some more couscous and roasted broccoli with lemon and garlic. Derf, this is a very repeatable recipe...thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema February 03, 2004

Very good recipe thank you, and an economical way to eat lamb as Geema pointed out. They were simple to make with fantastic flavours. I made a yoghurt, mint garlic and lemon sauce to serve with them. Left-overs were good in a sanwich the next day too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 09, 2004

Great recipe - just enough spice to make them interesting. I cut the recipe in half with no problem - I did add 1 tbsp over the 1/4 cup Cous Cous to get the right binding texture.Because I used only a 1/2 egg I probably put in the generous half in the mixture. I put these meatballs on a burger bun and they were wonderful served with small green salad and sauted mushrooms. I think ground chicken would also be great for this recipe . Thanks Dorothy for yet another keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 15, 2004

I made a spicy Moroccan tomato sauce to simmer these in and served the kefta with coucous, spinach, warmed pita and a cucumber yogurt sauce. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in MA December 17, 2014

Wonderful mellow, pleasantly spiced meat. I used beef instead of lamb, rice instead of cous cous and dried parsley rather than fresh. I skipped the first step and instead combined everything together, placed formed meatballs onto a foil-lined broiler pan and cooked at 425 degrees until done. My 4-year old and I enjoyed them with a yogurt sauce (plain yogurt, mint and lemon) and cucumbers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brianna Storer February 28, 2011

So glad to have found this recipe!! It was great! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macera44 April 12, 2010

I love lamb. This is an easy and inexpensive recipe. Very easy to make, but the mix was bland to me. . I don't use salt per se, but used it in this. The mix was very sticky to work with. It needs something else IMHO. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco June 24, 2009

This was delicious although I made the mistake of using ground chicken instead of my usual ground lamb or beef/pork to make the meatballs. I have to remind myself again that I don't like meatballs made with ground chicken or turkey. (It's too dry.) I want to make this again soon using ground lamb, which I have a good supply of in the freezer. The combination of flavors was very delicious. I skipped Step #3 but finely ground the onion. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 23, 2009

I had made these as appetizers. Made about 40 meatballs. Only cooked it for about 20 minutes in oven and kept them warm in my crockpot mixed with some mango chutney. I am not crazy about lamb so I used hamburger. It was delicious. They all went pretty quick. So easy to make. Will make again another time. It was Moroccan food night this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 04, 2008

oh wow. These are really flavorful. I am having them with some lingonberry sauce on the side, but i love the suggestions by other reviewers of yogurt sauce etc. I can imagine with tzatziki too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba September 02, 2007
Moroccan Meatballs