Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Lentil and Chickpea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Lentil and Chickpea Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2011

      Loved this soup! I didn't use the saffron or fresh herbs. I ate leftovers at work for two days and my coworker wanted the recipe because it smelled so good. She made it that night and agreed it was fantastic. We both thought the lemon juice really brought the flavors of the soup together. Will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This was good. Easily made vegan by replacing the butter with EVOO. I like a thick soup, so I left out the water, and mixed the flour with 1/2 cup of the hot broth. Used the orzo, otherwise followed to a T. Surprisingly we found the lemon juice rather overpowering. Confusing given the small amount! I would cut it back to half, taste it and then add to your liking. On the other hand I'm sure it will all meld over night and it won't be as strong as leftovers tomorrow. Nice fiber and protein punch here. very filling meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This is a relatively easy recipe to make. Very satisfying, healthy food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Just saw this, went in the kitchen and made it. Cut the amount of cinammon a bit. Fast, easy and inexpensive to make. I had some chicken breast that I chopped up and tossed in too because I didn't care if it was vegetarian or not. Will certainly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      this was good, I do plan on making this again but not often, my family didnt seem to enjoy it as well as i did. thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This is fantastic!! I didn't have to add any thickener at the end. . .I actually had to add extra crushed tomatoes and broth to thin it out a bit. I may have added too much pasta, but it was great. I did cut the recipe in half which was still quite a lot. I gave it an extra dash of cinnamon in the end, but I was SO happy with the results of this "soup". Made for ZWT6, Team SSaSSy. I would take a pic, but Tink's is just way too perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Just made this today and it is excellent! I followed the recipe except I added the 1/4 tsp cumin as suggested on earlier reviews and instead of using the flour/water mixture as a thickener I added 1/2 a roasted eggplant (leftover from dinner last night) which I think added depth and worked to thicken without a roux. Also for the pasta I used a whole wheat Acini di Pepe. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Delicious recipe! The flavorings set this soup apart from most lentil soup recipes. Also I liked the idea of adding in the small pasta. Thank you Kumquat. I tried to give this 5 stars
      but the stars keep clearing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This is the best thing I have made all year! Love the unique spiciness in this dish. Leftovers were also fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      Yum, yum, yum! Loved it. Didn't have the saffron but turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I made this soup and liked, but did not love it. It is easy to make, so do not be deterred by the long ingredient list. I did not make any modifications to the recipe. This makes quite a bit of soup so there will be plenty for leftovers. Thanks for a warming lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This was not as good as I had hoped. I gave it more stars than I would have, except that this was my first dish made with saffron, and that could very well have been the problem. Perhaps I simply do not like saffron, and I would not want to ruin a rating just for personal preference. I normally adore lentils and chickpeas, so I had high hopes. Perhaps I will try it again without the saffron, and re rate it then...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I LOVED this! DS, who's getting burned out on chickpeas lately, even had 3 helpings! It was very hearty and super easy to make too. I made it just as directed except I didn't have brown lentils on hand so I used green. For the small pasta I had Acini di Pepe. The flavor is terrific, it's healthy & my family particularly appreciated the stew-like consistency rather than soup. I'll be keeping this one handy & making it again. Thanks, Kumsie! Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      My husband loved this! Great flavor and tons of fiber- Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Love this!!! I like using thicker vermicelli. mmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This stew was very delicious. I added some bite-size pieces of beef to the soup & left out the celery. I just realized that I also left out the vermicelli but I am sure it would have been better with it. I will have to make it again just to make sure. ;) Thanks Kumquat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Mmm, so good. I also added the cumin and paprika. Didn't have any fresh cilantro or parsley either and I agree with Rose M- would have been better, but it was fine without. To save time I did all of the chopping and as much prep. stuff as I could the night before and it came together in about 45 min. The only thing was that there wasn't much pasta in comparison. I would add about twice as much next time- just my opinion. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This was a great soup. I only made a few small modifications. I didn't have fresh parsley or cilantro; I used dried parsley instead. Fresh would have been better but not crucial. I didn't have any pasta so I used rice, worked quite well. I omitted the saffron, not sure if it would have been better. I also added 1/2t of cumin. This was a great recipe and I think that it would have been great just as written too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Yummy stew! I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion to add paprika and cumin. I made half a recipe, and just used the full can of beans and tomatoes, since that was more convenient. To counter balance that, I increased the celery (to 2 ribs) and the pasta (to 3/4 cup). I also used olive oil and skipped the flour part. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Hearty stuff! I used crushed chili instead of pepper sauce and canned lentils to reduce the total cooking time. I tasted it & thought it was lacking something, then i read The other reviews & followed chefDYC's advice and added ground cumin aswell as a couple of dashes of paprika.... Beautiful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Lentil and Chickpea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.6
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    16%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 520.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 16.6 g
    66%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    vermicelli

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes