22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this soup! I didn't use the saffron or fresh herbs. I ate leftovers at work for two days and my coworker wanted the recipe because it smelled so good. She made it that night and agreed it was fantastic. We both thought the lemon juice really brought the flavors of the soup together. Will definitely be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalalucy February 04, 2011

This was good. Easily made vegan by replacing the butter with EVOO. I like a thick soup, so I left out the water, and mixed the flour with 1/2 cup of the hot broth. Used the orzo, otherwise followed to a T. Surprisingly we found the lemon juice rather overpowering. Confusing given the small amount! I would cut it back to half, taste it and then add to your liking. On the other hand I'm sure it will all meld over night and it won't be as strong as leftovers tomorrow. Nice fiber and protein punch here. very filling meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 16, 2011

This is a relatively easy recipe to make. Very satisfying, healthy food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psychologist Perth January 18, 2011

Just saw this, went in the kitchen and made it. Cut the amount of cinammon a bit. Fast, easy and inexpensive to make. I had some chicken breast that I chopped up and tossed in too because I didn't care if it was vegetarian or not. Will certainly make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha January 18, 2011

this was good, I do plan on making this again but not often, my family didnt seem to enjoy it as well as i did. thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Genevieve July 17, 2010

This is fantastic!! I didn't have to add any thickener at the end. . .I actually had to add extra crushed tomatoes and broth to thin it out a bit. I may have added too much pasta, but it was great. I did cut the recipe in half which was still quite a lot. I gave it an extra dash of cinnamon in the end, but I was SO happy with the results of this "soup". Made for ZWT6, Team SSaSSy. I would take a pic, but Tink's is just way too perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 14, 2010

Just made this today and it is excellent! I followed the recipe except I added the 1/4 tsp cumin as suggested on earlier reviews and instead of using the flour/water mixture as a thickener I added 1/2 a roasted eggplant (leftover from dinner last night) which I think added depth and worked to thicken without a roux. Also for the pasta I used a whole wheat Acini di Pepe. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsv828 February 26, 2013

Delicious recipe! The flavorings set this soup apart from most lentil soup recipes. Also I liked the idea of adding in the small pasta. Thank you Kumquat. I tried to give this 5 stars
but the stars keep clearing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnski / LA February 04, 2013

This is the best thing I have made all year! Love the unique spiciness in this dish. Leftovers were also fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 06, 2011

Yum, yum, yum! Loved it. Didn't have the saffron but turned out wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Definitely Not Martha March 04, 2011
Moroccan Lentil and Chickpea Soup